Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Planned Parenthood Affiliates of California

2008 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
Samuel Aanestad 27%
Anthony Adams 18%
Elaine Alquist 100%
CA State Senate 36 Joel Anderson Republican 9%
Juan Arambula 91%
Roy Ashburn 18%
CA U.S. House 37 Karen Bass Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 15 James Beall, Jr. Democratic 100%
CA Supervisor 4 John Benoit 18%
CA State Senate 14 Tom Berryhill Republican 20%
Sam Blakeslee 27%
CA U.S. House 26 Julia Brownley Democratic 100%
Anna Caballero 100%
Charles Calderon 89%
CA State Senate 30 Ron Calderon Democratic 100%
Amina Carter 91%
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo Democratic 100%
CA Council Member 6 David Cogdill Republican 18%
CA U.S. House 8 Paul Cook Republican 27%
CA State Senate 10 Ellen Corbett Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 34 Lou Correa Democratic 73%
Joe Coto 100%
Dave Cox 18%
Mike Davis 100%
Hector De La Torre 100%
CA State Senate 22 Kevin de Leon Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 7 Mark DeSaulnier Democratic 100%
Charles DeVore 18%
Robert Dutton 18%
Michael Duvall 18%
Bill Emmerson 18%
Mike Eng 100%
CA State Senate 2 Noreen Evans Democratic 100%
Mike Feuer 100%
Dean Florez 80%
CA Council Member 7 Felipe Fuentes Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 18 Jean Fuller Republican 18%
Warren Furutani 100%
CA State Senate 1 Ted Gaines Republican 18%
CA State Senate 5 Cathleen Galgiani Democratic 91%
Martin Garrick 18%
CA State Senate 9 Loni Hancock Democratic 100%
Tom Harman 18%
Mary Hayashi 100%
CA State Senate 24 Edward Hernandez Democratic 100%
Dennis Hollingsworth 18%
CA State Senate 29 Robert Huff Republican 18%
CA U.S. House 2 Jared Huffman Democratic 100%
CA Supervisor 1 Kevin Jeffries Republican 18%
CA Insurance Commissioner Dave Jones Democratic 100%
Christine Kehoe 100%
CA Council Member 2 Paul Krekorian Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 11 Mark Leno Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 28 Ted Lieu Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 100%
Fiona Ma 100%
Abel Maldonado 45%
Tony Mendoza 91%
Pedro Nava 100%
CA U.S. House 35 Gloria Negrete McLeod Democratic 82%
Roger Niello 18%
Jenny Oropeza 100%
CA State Senate 20 Alex Padilla Democratic 100%
Anthony Portantino, Jr. 100%
CA Council Member 9 Curren Price, Jr. Democratic 100%
Gloria Romero 100%
George Runner, Jr. 20%
Ira Ruskin 100%
Mary Salas 100%
Lori Saldaña 100%
Jim Silva 18%
CA Supervisor 5 Saren Simitian Democratic 100%
Cameron Smyth 27%
Jose Solorio 91%
CA State Senate 6 Darrell Steinberg Democratic 100%
Audra Strickland 18%
Sandré Swanson 100%
Alberto Torrico 100%
Van Tran 27%
Mike Villines 9%
CA State Senate 37 Mimi Walters Republican 18%
Patricia Wiggins 100%
CA State Senate 3 Lois Wolk Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 38 Mark Wyland Republican 18%
Leland Yee 100%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top