Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Heritage Action for America

2014 Positions (Jan. 9, 2014)

State Office District Name Party Rating
TX U.S. House 17 Bill Flores Republican 81%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 17%
TX U.S. House 19 Randy Neugebauer Republican 86%
TX U.S. House 20 Joaquin Castro Democratic 12%
TX U.S. House 21 Lamar Smith Republican 77%
TX U.S. House 22 Pete Olson Republican 83%
TX U.S. House 24 Kenny Marchant Republican 86%
TX U.S. House 25 Roger Williams Republican 78%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 88%
TX U.S. House 27 Blake Farenthold Republican 63%
TX U.S. House 28 Henry Cuellar Democratic 24%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 25%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 12%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 54%
TX U.S. House 32 Pete Sessions Republican 73%
TX U.S. House 33 Marc Veasey Democratic 16%
TX U.S. House 34 Filemon Vela, Jr. Democratic 24%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 21%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 60%
UT U.S. Senate Jr Mike Lee Republican 100%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 77%
UT U.S. House 2 Chris Stewart Republican 70%
UT U.S. House 3 Jason Chaffetz Republican 78%
VA U.S. Senate Sr Mark Warner Democratic 3%
VA U.S. Senate Jr Tim Kaine Democratic 6%
VA U.S. House 1 Rob Wittman Republican 62%
VA U.S. House 2 Scott Rigell Republican 69%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 20%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 58%
VA U.S. House 5 Robert Hurt Republican 70%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 74%
VA U.S. House 9 Morgan Griffith Republican 61%
VA U.S. House 11 Gerry Connolly Democratic 20%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 3%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 6%
VT U.S. House At-Large Peter Welch Democratic 8%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 0%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 0%
WA U.S. House 1 Suzan DelBene Democratic 12%
WA U.S. House 2 Rick Larsen Democratic 10%
WA U.S. House 3 Jaime Herrera Beutler Republican 45%
WA U.S. House 5 Cathy McMorris Rodgers Republican 48%
WA U.S. House 6 Derek Kilmer Democratic 20%
WA U.S. House 7 Jim McDermott Democratic 12%
WA U.S. House 8 Dave Reichert Republican 46%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 18%
WA U.S. House 10 Denny Heck Democratic 21%
WI U.S. Senate Sr Ron Johnson Republican 89%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 3%
WI U.S. House 1 Paul Ryan Republican 65%
WI U.S. House 2 Mark Pocan Democratic 20%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 16%
WI U.S. House 4 Gwen Moore Democratic 16%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 80%
WI U.S. House 7 Sean Duffy Republican 59%
WI U.S. House 8 Reid Ribble Republican 63%
WV U.S. Senate Sr Joe Manchin III Democratic 16%
WV U.S. Senate Jr Shelley Capito Republican 47%
WV U.S. House 1 David McKinley Republican 53%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 76%
WY U.S. Senate Jr John Barrasso Republican 76%
WY U.S. House At-Large Cynthia Lummis Republican 70%
Rodney Alexander 38%
Rob Andrews 20%
Michele Bachmann 82%
Spencer Bachus 47%
Ron Barber 12%
John Barrow 30%
Max Baucus 13%
Mark Begich 13%
Kerry Bentivolio 83%
Tim Bishop 16%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 45%
Bruce Braley 4%
Paul Broun 95%
Dave Camp 57%
John Campbell III 59%
Eric Cantor 61%
Saxby Chambliss 57%
Jeffrey Chiesa 32%
Howard Coble 50%
Thomas Coburn 81%
Mo Cowan 5%
John Dingell 17%
Jo Ann Emerson 0%
Bill Enyart 12%
Chaka Fattah, Sr. 18%
Pete Gallego 20%
Joe Garcia 8%
Jim Gerlach 38%
Phil Gingrey 90%
Michael Grimm 29%
Kay Hagan 6%
Ralph Hall 73%
Colleen Hanabusa 21%
Tom Harkin 0%
Doc Hastings 58%
Rush Holt, Jr. 22%
Steven Horsford 14%
Mike Johanns 56%
Timothy Johnson 0%
Jack Kingston 90%
Mary Landrieu 3%
Tom Latham 46%
Frank Lautenberg 0%
Carl Levin 3%
Dan Maffei 16%
Jim Matheson 36%
Vance McAllister, Sr. 0%
Carolyn McCarthy 0%
Mike McIntyre 36%
Buck McKeon 42%
Mike Michaud 17%
Gary Miller 53%
George Miller 17%
Jim Moran, Jr. 21%
Gloria Negrete McLeod 10%
Alan Nunnelee 63%
Bill Owens 20%
Ed Pastor 12%
Tom Petri 65%
Mark Pryor 16%
Trey Radel 91%
Nick Rahall II 15%
Jay Rockefeller IV 3%
Mike Rogers 60%
Jon Runyan 34%
Brad Schneider 19%
Aaron Schock 48%
Allyson Schwartz 22%
Carol Shea-Porter 17%
Steve Southerland 67%
Steve Stockman 90%
Lee Terry 69%
John Tierney 12%
Mark Udall 0%
Mel Watt 20%
Henry Waxman 17%
Frank Wolf 46%
Bill Young 59%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top