Rating Group: United Property Owners of Montana

2009 Positions on Private Property Rights

State Office Name Party Rating
MT State House-1 Gerald Bennett R 100%
MT State Senate-1 Chas Vincent R 100%
MT State Senate-2 Dee Brown R 74%
MT State Senate-3 Bruce Tutvedt R 90%
MT State Senate-4 Jon Sonju R 100%
MT State Senate-5 Verdell Jackson R 100%
MT State House-5 Keith Regier R 100%
MT State Senate-6 Janna Taylor R 100%
MT State Senate-8 Shannon Augare D 100%
MT State House-9 Scott Reichner R 100%
MT State Senate-9 Rick Ripley R 100%
MT State House-10 Mark Blasdel R 100%
MT State Senate-10 Bradley Maxon Hamlett D 64%
MT State Senate-11 Anders Blewett D 69%
MT State Senate-12 Mitch Tropila D 34%
MT State House-13 Pat Ingraham R 100%
MT State Senate-14 Llewelyn Jones R 100%
MT State House-15 Forrestina Calf Boss Ribs D 54%
MT State Senate-15 Jim Peterson R 100+%
MT State Senate-16 Jonathan Windy Boy D 44%
MT State Senate-18 John Brenden R 100+%
MT State House-18 Jesse O'Hara R 100%
MT State Senate-21 Sharon Stewart-Peregoy D 28%
MT State Senate-22 Taylor Brown R 100%
MT State House-23 Carlie Boland D 44%
MT State House-24 Brian Hoven R 100%
MT State Senate-25 Kendall Van Dyk D 23%
MT State Senate-26 Robyn Driscoll D 53%
MT State House-26 Robert Mehlhoff D 74%
MT State Senate-27 Elsie Arntzen R 100%
MT State Senate-28 Jeffrey Essmann R 80%
MT State House-28 Roy Hollandsworth R 100%
MT State Senate-32 Larry Jent D 41%
MT State Senate-33 Mike Phillips D 48%
MT State Senate-34 Scott Sales R 100%
MT State House-34 Wendy Warburton R 100%
MT State Senate-36 Debby Barrett R 100+%
MT State Senate-37 Jon Sesso D 74%
MT State Senate-38 Jim Keane D 40%
MT State Senate-39 Terry Murphy R 100%
MT State House-39 Lee Randall R 89%
MT State Senate-40 Mary Caferro D 41%
MT State House-40 Bill McChesney D 81%
MT State Senate-41 Christine Kaufmann D 22%
MT State Senate-42 Dave Lewis R 100%
MT State House-42 Carolyn Pease-Lopez D 52%
MT State House-43 Duane Ankney R 100%
MT State House-45 Tom Berry R 100%
MT State Senate-46 Sue Malek D 70%
MT State Senate-47 Dick Barrett D 50%
MT State Senate-49 David Wanzenried D 22%
MT State Senate-50 Clifford Larsen D 34%
MT State House-54 Margie MacDonald D 74%
MT State House-55 Cary Smith R 100%
MT State House-58 Krayton Kerns R 100%
MT State House-60 David Howard R 100%
MT State House-63 Franke Wilmer D 59%
MT State House-66 Jennifer Pomnichowski D 33%
MT State House-67 Gordon Vance R 100%
MT State House-69 Ted Washburn R 90%
MT State House-72 Jeffrey Welborn R 100%
MT State House-73 Pat Noonan D 59%
MT State House-75 Edith McClafferty D 74%
MT State House-79 Chuck Hunter D 81%
MT State House-81 Galen Hollenbaugh D 48%
MT State House-84 Mike Miller R 100+%
MT State House-96 Carolyn Squires D 31%
MT Public Service Commission Vice Chair Bob Lake R 89%
MT Budget Director Dan Villa D 67%
Keith Bales 100+%
Joe Balyeat 94%
Gregory Barkus 100%
Russell Bean 100%
Paul Beck 56%
William Beck, Sr. 100%
Arlene Becker 63%
Tony Belcourt 93%
Bob Bergren 59%
Jerry Black 100%
Joel Boniek 94%
Gary Branae 36%
Roy Brown 100%
John Brueggeman 90%
Edward Butcher 100%
Margarett Campbell 81%
Jill Cohenour 42%
Mike Cooney 28%
Aubyn Curtiss 100%
Sue Dickenson 59%
Robert Ebinger, Jr. 69%
Ron Erickson 30%
John Esp 100%
John Fleming 74%
Julie French 74%
Tim Furey 81%
Steven Gallus 24%
Kelly Gebhardt 100%
Dennis Getz 81%
Kim Gillan 44%
William Glaser 100%
Wanda Grinde 69%
Robin Hamilton 69%
Betsy Hands 47%
Kenneth Hansen 62%
Ray Hawk 100%
Robert Hawks 34%
Gordon Hendrick 100%
Teresa Henry 74%
Dennis Himmelberger 85%
Cynthia Hiner 80%
Greg Hinkle 94%
Mike Jopek 70%
Carol Juneau 22%
Dave Kasten 100%
Harry Klock 89%
Deborah Kottel 81%
Richard Laible 100%
Jesse Laslovich 36%
Gary MacLaren 100%
Dave McAlpin 48%
Daniel McGee 100%
Tom McGillvray 100%
Walter McNutt 100%
Mike Menahan 59%
Scott Mendenhall 100%
Mike Milburn 100%
Michael More 100%
Penny Armstrong Morgan 100%
Lynda Moss 22%
Art Noonan 63%
Bill Nooney 100%
Gary Perry 100%
Kenneth Peterson 96%
Michele Reinhart 56%
Donald Roberts 100%
J. Roundstone 64%
Diane Sands 69%
Trudi Schmidt 20%
Jim Shockley 89%
Wayne Stahl 100%
Cheryl Steenson 80%
Donald Steinbeisser 100%
Ronald Stoker 100%
Robert Story, Jr. 100+%
Joseph Tropila 37%
Bob Wagner 100%
Carol Williams 22%
Bill Wilson 81%
Brady Wiseman 59%
Ryan Zinke 90%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.