Rating Group: Voices for Creative Nonviolence

2008 Iraq-Afghanistan Supplemental Spending Score

State Office Name Party Rating
AK U.S. Senate-Sr Lisa Murkowski R 33%
AL U.S. Senate-Sr Richard Shelby R 33%
AL U.S. Senate-Jr Jeff Sessions III R 33%
AR U.S. Senate-Sr Mark Pryor D 67%
AZ U.S. Senate-Sr John McCain III R 50%
CA U.S. Senate-Sr Dianne Feinstein D 100%
CA U.S. Senate-Jr Barbara Boxer D 67%
DE U.S. Senate-Sr Tom Carper D 67%
FL U.S. Senate-Sr Bill Nelson, Sr. D 67%
GA U.S. Senate-Sr Saxby Chambliss R 33%
GA U.S. Senate-Jr Johnny Isakson R 33%
IA U.S. Senate-Sr Chuck Grassley R 33%
IA U.S. Senate-Jr Tom Harkin D 100%
ID U.S. Senate-Sr Mike Crapo R 33%
IL U.S. Senate-Sr Dick Durbin D 100%
KS U.S. Senate-Sr Pat Roberts R 33%
KS Governor Sam Brownback R 0%
KY U.S. Senate-Sr Mitch McConnell R 33%
LA U.S. Senate-Sr Mary Landrieu D 67%
LA U.S. Senate-Jr David Vitter R 33%
MD U.S. Senate-Sr Barbara Mikulski D 100%
MD U.S. Senate-Jr Ben Cardin D 100%
ME U.S. Senate-Sr Susan Collins R 33%
MI U.S. Senate-Sr Carl Levin D 67%
MI U.S. Senate-Jr Debbie Stabenow D 100%
MN U.S. Senate-Sr Amy Klobuchar DFL 100%
MO U.S. Senate-Sr Claire McCaskill D 67%
MS U.S. Senate-Sr Thad Cochran R 33%
MT U.S. Senate-Sr Jon Tester D 67%
NA President Barack Obama II D 67%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. D 100%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel R 67%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry D 67%
NC U.S. Senate-Sr Richard Burr R 0%
NJ U.S. Senate-Sr Bob Menendez D 100%
NV U.S. Senate-Sr Harry Reid D 100%
NY U.S. Senate-Sr Chuck Schumer D 100%
OH U.S. Senate-Sr Sherrod Brown D 100%
OK U.S. Senate-Sr Jim Inhofe R 33%
OK U.S. Senate-Jr Thomas Coburn R 0%
OR U.S. Senate-Sr Ron Wyden D 67%
PA U.S. Senate-Sr Bob Casey, Jr. D 67%
RI U.S. Senate-Sr Jack Reed D 67%
RI U.S. Senate-Jr Sheldon Whitehouse D 67%
SC U.S. Senate-Sr Lindsey Graham R 33%
SD U.S. Senate-Sr Timothy Johnson D %
SD U.S. Senate-Jr John Thune R 33%
TN U.S. Senate-Sr Lamar Alexander R 33%
TN U.S. Senate-Jr Robert Corker R 33%
TX U.S. Senate-Sr John Cornyn R 33%
UT U.S. Senate-Sr Orrin Hatch R 0%
VT U.S. Senate-Sr Patrick Leahy D 67%
VT U.S. Senate-Jr Bernie Sanders I 67%
WA U.S. Senate-Sr Patty Murray D 100%
WA U.S. Senate-Jr Maria Cantwell D 100%
WV U.S. Senate-Sr Jay Rockefeller IV D 67%
WY U.S. Senate-Sr Mike Enzi R 0%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 100%
Wayne Allard 33%
Max Baucus 67%
Evan Bayh 67%
Bob Bennett 33%
Jeff Bingaman 67%
Kit Bond 33%
Jim Bunning 33%
Robert Byrd 100%
Hillary Clinton 67%
Norm Coleman 0%
Kent Conrad 67%
Larry Craig 33%
James DeMint 33%
Chris Dodd 67%
Elizabeth Dole 50%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 33%
Byron Dorgan 67%
John Ensign 33%
Russ Feingold 67%
Judd Gregg 33%
Kay Hutchison 33%
Daniel Inouye 100%
Edward Kennedy, Sr. 67%
Herb Kohl 100%
Jon Kyl 33%
Frank Lautenberg 100%
Joe Lieberman 33%
Blanche Lincoln 67%
Trent Lott, Sr. 33%
Dick Lugar 33%
Melquiades Martinez 33%
Ben Nelson 67%
Ken Salazar 67%
Gordon Smith 67%
Olympia Snowe 33%
Arlen Specter 33%
Ted Stevens 33%
John Sununu 33%
George Voinovich 33%
John Warner 33%
Jim Webb, Jr. 67%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.