Rating Group: Voices for Creative Nonviolence

2007 Positions on Iraq War Amendments

State Office Name Party Rating
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 75%
TN U.S. Senate-Sr Lamar Alexander R 50%
Wayne Allard 50%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 50%
WY U.S. Senate-Jr John Barrasso R 50%
Max Baucus 75%
Evan Bayh 75%
Bob Bennett 50%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. D 75%
Jeff Bingaman 75%
Kit Bond 50%
CA U.S. Senate-Jr Barbara Boxer D 75%
OH U.S. Senate-Sr Sherrod Brown D 75%
Jim Bunning 50%
NC U.S. Senate-Sr Richard Burr R 50%
Robert Byrd 75%
WA U.S. Senate-Jr Maria Cantwell D 75%
MD U.S. Senate-Jr Ben Cardin D 100%
DE U.S. Senate-Sr Tom Carper D 75%
PA U.S. Senate-Sr Bob Casey, Jr. D 75%
Saxby Chambliss 50%
Hillary Clinton 75%
Thomas Coburn 50%
MS U.S. Senate-Sr Thad Cochran R 50%
Norm Coleman 75%
ME U.S. Senate-Sr Susan Collins R 50%
Kent Conrad 75%
TN U.S. Senate-Jr Robert Corker R 50%
TX U.S. Senate-Sr John Cornyn R 50%
Larry Craig 50%
ID U.S. Senate-Sr Mike Crapo R 50%
James DeMint 50%
Chris Dodd 75%
Elizabeth Dole 50%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 50%
Byron Dorgan 75%
IL U.S. Senate-Sr Dick Durbin D 75%
John Ensign 50%
WY U.S. Senate-Sr Mike Enzi R 50%
Russ Feingold 75%
CA U.S. Senate-Sr Dianne Feinstein D 75%
SC U.S. Senate-Sr Lindsey Graham R 50%
IA U.S. Senate-Sr Chuck Grassley R 50%
Judd Gregg 50%
Charles Hagel 75%
Tom Harkin 75%
UT U.S. Senate-Sr Orrin Hatch R 50%
OK U.S. Senate-Sr Jim Inhofe R 50%
Daniel Inouye 75%
GA U.S. Senate-Sr Johnny Isakson R 50%
Edward Kennedy, Sr. 75%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry D 75%
MN U.S. Senate-Sr Amy Klobuchar D 75%
Herb Kohl 75%
Jon Kyl 50%
Mary Landrieu 75%
Frank Lautenberg 75%
VT U.S. Senate-Sr Patrick Leahy D 75%
Carl Levin 75%
Joe Lieberman 50%
Blanche Lincoln 75%
Trent Lott, Sr. 50%
Dick Lugar 50%
Melquiades Martinez 50%
AZ U.S. Senate-Sr John McCain III R 50%
MO U.S. Senate-Sr Claire McCaskill D 75%
KY U.S. Senate-Sr Mitch McConnell R 50%
NJ U.S. Senate-Sr Bob Menendez D 75%
MD U.S. Senate-Sr Barbara Mikulski D 75%
AK U.S. Senate-Sr Lisa Murkowski R 50%
WA U.S. Senate-Sr Patty Murray D 75%
Ben Nelson 75%
FL U.S. Senate-Sr Bill Nelson, Sr. D 75%
NA President Barack Obama II D 75%
Mark Pryor 75%
RI U.S. Senate-Sr Jack Reed D 75%
NV U.S. Senate-Sr Harry Reid D 75%
KS U.S. Senate-Sr Pat Roberts R 50%
Jay Rockefeller IV 75%
Ken Salazar 75%
VT U.S. Senate-Jr Bernie Sanders I 75%
NY U.S. Senate-Sr Chuck Schumer D 75%
AL U.S. Senate-Jr Jeff Sessions III R 25%
AL U.S. Senate-Sr Richard Shelby R 50%
Gordon Smith 75%
Olympia Snowe 75%
Arlen Specter 50%
MI U.S. Senate-Sr Debbie Stabenow D 75%
Ted Stevens 50%
John Sununu 50%
MT U.S. Senate-Sr Jon Tester D 75%
SD U.S. Senate-Sr John Thune R 50%
George Voinovich 25%
John Warner 75%
Jim Webb, Jr. 75%
RI U.S. Senate-Jr Sheldon Whitehouse D 75%
OR U.S. Senate-Sr Ron Wyden D 75%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.