or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: American Hospital Association

2005-2006 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 29%
Gary Ackerman 29%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 33%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 50%
Todd Akin 11%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 33%
Rodney Alexander 44%
Wayne Allard 0%
George Allen 33%
Thomas Allen 43%
Rob Andrews 57%
Joe Baca, Sr. 14%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 22%
Brian Baird 14%
Richard Hugh Baker 11%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 29%
J. Gresham Barrett 22%
GA U.S. House 12 John Barrow Democratic 29%
Roscoe Bartlett 0%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 0%
Charlie Bass 33%
Max Baucus 33%
Evan Bayh 33%
Melissa Bean 14%
Bob Beauprez 33%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 14%
Bob Bennett 33%
Shelley Berkley 29%
Howard Berman 14%
Marion Berry 57%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 17%
Judy Biggert 56%
Brian Bilbray 11%
Michael Bilirakis 11%
Jeff Bingaman 83%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 0%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 43%
NY U.S. House 1 Tim Bishop Democratic 43%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 11%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 14%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 0%
Sherwood Boehlert 78%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 11%
Kit Bond 17%
Henry Bonilla 0%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 33%
Mary Bono Mack 11%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 78%
GU U.S. House Delegate Madeleine Bordallo Democratic 14%
Dan Boren 43%
Leonard Boswell 29%
Rick Boucher 29%
LA U.S. House 3 Charles Boustany, Jr. Republican 22%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 50%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 29%
NH State Senate 3 Jeb Bradley Republican 56%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 0%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 57%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 29%
Henry Brown, Jr. 22%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 14%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 17%
Ginny Brown-Waite 44%
Jim Bunning 50%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 0%
Conrad Burns 67%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 0%
Dan Burton 0%
NC U.S. House 1 G.K. Butterfield, Jr. Democratic 43%
Steve Buyer 22%
Robert Byrd 0%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 22%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 22%
CA U.S. House 45 John Campbell III Republican 0%
Chris Cannon 11%
VA U.S. House 7 Eric Cantor Republican 0%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 83%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 89%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 29%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 57%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 0%
Dennis Cardoza 14%
Russ Carnahan 57%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 0%
Julia Carson 14%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 44%
Edward Case 71%
Mike Castle 22%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 11%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 67%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 50%
Ben Chandler III 29%
Chris Chocola 11%
VI U.S. House Delegate Donna Christensen Democratic 14%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 29%
MO U.S. House 5 Emanuel Cleaver II Democratic 43%
Hillary Clinton 67%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 14%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 11%
OK U.S. Senate Jr Thomas Coburn Republican 17%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 0%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 0%
Norm Coleman 67%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 67%
TX U.S. House 11 Mike Conaway Republican 11%
Kent Conrad 50%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 14%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 29%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 0%
Jon Corzine 50%
CA U.S. House 16 Jim Costa Democratic 0%
Jerry Costello 14%
Larry Craig 33%
Robert Cramer 29%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 17%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 11%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 43%
Barbara Cubin 22%
TX U.S. House 28 Henry Cuellar Democratic 43%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 11%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 29%
Artur Davis 29%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 29%
Geoff Davis 33%
James Davis 14%
Jo Ann Davis 67%
Lincoln Davis 14%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 29%
Thomas Davis III 33%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 83%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 0%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 14%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 0%
Bill Delahunt 57%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 43%
Thomas DeLay 0%
James DeMint 0%
PA U.S. House 15 Charlie Dent Republican 89%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 67%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 22%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 22%
Norm Dicks 43%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 14%
Chris Dodd 33%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 14%
Elizabeth Dole 17%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 17%
John Doolittle 0%
Byron Dorgan 50%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 43%
Thelma Drake 11%
David Dreier 0%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 0%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 100%
Chet Edwards 14%
Vern Ehlers 78%
IL Mayor At-Large Rahm Emanuel Democratic 43%
Jo Ann Emerson 56%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 43%
Philip English 78%
John Ensign 0%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 0%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 14%
Bob Etheridge 43%
Lane Evans 0%
Terry Everett 22%
AS U.S. House Delegate Eni Faleomavaega Democratic 14%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 29%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 57%
Tom Feeney 0%
Russ Feingold 33%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 17%
Michael Ferguson 33%
Bob Filner 29%
PA U.S. House 8 Mike Fitzpatrick Republican 89%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 0%
Mark Foley 11%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 22%
Harold Ford, Jr. 29%
NE U.S. House 1 Jeff Fortenberry Republican 0%
Luis Fortuño 22%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 67%
NC U.S. House 5 Virginia Foxx Republican 33%
Barney Frank 29%
AZ U.S. House 8 Trent Franks Republican 11%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 22%
William Frist 0%
Elton Gallegly 11%
NJ U.S. House 5 Scott Garrett Republican 33%
PA U.S. House 6 Jim Gerlach Republican 89%
Jim Gibbons 11%
Wayne Gilchrest 22%
Paul Gillmor 22%
GA U.S. House 11 Phil Gingrey Republican 22%
TX U.S. House 1 Louie Gohmert Republican 33%
Charlie Gonzalez 29%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 44%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 11%
Bart Gordon 29%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 33%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top