or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: American Hospital Association

2005-2006 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 100%
John Kuhl, Jr. 100%
Blanche Lincoln 100%
John Schwarz 100%
Olympia Snowe 100%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 89%
PA U.S. House 15 Charlie Dent Republican 89%
PA U.S. House 8 Mike Fitzpatrick Republican 89%
PA U.S. House 6 Jim Gerlach Republican 89%
John Sweeney 89%
Heather Wilson 89%
Jeff Bingaman 83%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 83%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 83%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry Democratic 83%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 83%
AR U.S. Senate Sr Mark Pryor Democratic 83%
Rick Santorum 83%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 83%
Gordon Smith 83%
MI U.S. Senate Jr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 83%
Sherwood Boehlert 78%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 78%
Vern Ehlers 78%
Philip English 78%
Tim Johnson 78%
Sue Kelly 78%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 78%
Ray LaHood 78%
John McHugh 78%
PA U.S. House 18 Tim Murphy Republican 78%
Jim Saxton 78%
Donald Sherwood 78%
Robert Ruhl Simmons 78%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 78%
W. Curtis Weldon 78%
Edward Case 71%
Conrad Burns 67%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 67%
Hillary Clinton 67%
Norm Coleman 67%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 67%
Jo Ann Davis 67%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 67%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 67%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 67%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 67%
James Merrill Jeffords 67%
LA U.S. Senate Sr Mary Landrieu Democratic 67%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Carl Levin Democratic 67%
NJ U.S. House 2 Frank LoBiondo Republican 67%
Don Manzullo 67%
KS U.S. Senate Jr Jerry Moran Republican 67%
Ron Paul 67%
John Peterson 67%
Todd Platts 67%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 67%
Christopher Shays 67%
PA U.S. House 9 Bill Shuster Republican 67%
Arlen Specter 67%
James Walsh 67%
Rob Andrews 57%
Marion Berry 57%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 57%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 57%
Russ Carnahan 57%
Bill Delahunt 57%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 57%
NY U.S. House 26 Brian Higgins Democratic 57%
Maurice Hinchey 57%
Dale Kildee 57%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 57%
Jim Marshall 57%
NC U.S. House 7 Mike McIntyre Democratic 57%
Michael McNulty 57%
Dennis Moore 57%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 57%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 57%
NJ U.S. House 9 Bill Pascrell, Jr. Democratic 57%
Donald Payne 57%
NC U.S. House 4 David Price Democratic 57%
Mike Ross 57%
Steve Rothman 57%
PA U.S. House 13 Allyson Schwartz Democratic 57%
Vic Snyder 57%
Judy Biggert 56%
NH State Senate 3 Jeb Bradley Republican 56%
Jo Ann Emerson 56%
James Leach 56%
PA U.S. House 16 Joe Pitts Republican 56%
Jon Porter, Sr. 56%
GA U.S. House 6 Tom Price Republican 56%
Mark Souder 56%
Gerald Weller 56%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 50%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 50%
Jim Bunning 50%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 50%
Kent Conrad 50%
Jon Corzine 50%
Byron Dorgan 50%
Daniel Inouye 50%
GA U.S. Senate Jr Johnny Isakson Republican 50%
SD U.S. Senate Sr Timothy Johnson Democratic 50%
Edward Kennedy, Sr. 50%
Herb Kohl 50%
Jon Kyl 50%
Ben Nelson 50%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 50%
WV U.S. Senate Sr Jay Rockefeller IV Democratic 50%
Ken Salazar 50%
Rodney Alexander 44%
Ginny Brown-Waite 44%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 44%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 44%
Melissa Hart 44%
Joel Hefley 44%
NC U.S. House 3 Walter Jones, Jr. Republican 44%
IA U.S. House 3 Tom Latham Republican 44%
TX U.S. House 24 Kenny Marchant Republican 44%
Thaddeus McCotter 44%
CA U.S. House 22 Devin Nunes Republican 44%
ID Governor Butch Otter Republican 44%
James Ramstad 44%
AL U.S. House 3 Mike Rogers Republican 44%
ID U.S. House 2 Mike Simpson Republican 44%
SC U.S. House 2 Joe Wilson, Sr. Republican 44%
Thomas Allen 43%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 43%
NY U.S. House 1 Tim Bishop Democratic 43%
Dan Boren 43%
NC U.S. House 1 G.K. Butterfield, Jr. Democratic 43%
MO U.S. House 5 Emanuel Cleaver II Democratic 43%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 43%
TX U.S. House 28 Henry Cuellar Democratic 43%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 43%
Norm Dicks 43%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 43%
IL Mayor At-Large Rahm Emanuel Democratic 43%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 43%
Bob Etheridge 43%
AZ U.S. House 3 Raúl Grijalva Democratic 43%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 43%
Jane Harman 43%
Stephanie Herseth Sandlin 43%
Thomas Holden 43%
NJ U.S. House 12 Rush Holt, Jr. Democratic 43%
Paul Kanjorski 43%
Patrick Kennedy 43%
CT U.S. House 1 John Larson Democratic 43%
IL U.S. House 3 Daniel Lipinski Democratic 43%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 43%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 43%
NY U.S. House 4 Carolyn McCarthy Democratic 43%
MN U.S. House 4 Betty McCollum Democratic/Farmer/Labor 43%
Martin Meehan 43%
NY U.S. House 5 Gregory Meeks Democratic 43%
Brad Miller 43%
WI U.S. House 4 Gwen Moore Democratic 43%
Jack Murtha 43%
Jim Oberstar 43%
John Olver 43%
Major Owens 43%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic/Farmer/Labor 43%
Earl Pomeroy 43%
NY U.S. House 13 Charlie Rangel Democratic 43%
Silvestre Reyes 43%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 43%
GA U.S. House 13 David Scott Democratic 43%
NY U.S. House 25 Louise Slaughter Democratic 43%
Ted Strickland 43%
Anthony Weiner 43%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 33%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 33%
George Allen 33%
Charlie Bass 33%
Max Baucus 33%
Evan Bayh 33%
Bob Beauprez 33%
Bob Bennett 33%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 33%
Larry Craig 33%
Geoff Davis 33%
Thomas Davis III 33%
Chris Dodd 33%
Russ Feingold 33%
Michael Ferguson 33%
NC U.S. House 5 Virginia Foxx Republican 33%
NJ U.S. House 5 Scott Garrett Republican 33%
TX U.S. House 1 Louie Gohmert Republican 33%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 33%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 33%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 33%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 33%
Katherine Harris 33%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 33%
Robert Hayes 33%
Ernest Istook, Jr. 33%
Mark Kennedy 33%
Steve LaTourette 33%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top