or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: American Hospital Association

2007-2008 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 25%
WY U.S. Senate Jr John Barrasso Republican 25%
Bob Bennett 25%
Kit Bond 25%
Jim Bunning 25%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 25%
Robert Byrd 25%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 25%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 25%
Kent Conrad 25%
TN U.S. Senate Jr Robert Corker Republican 25%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 25%
Larry Craig 25%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 25%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 25%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 25%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 25%
SD U.S. Senate Sr Timothy Johnson Democratic 25%
Dick Lugar 25%
MO U.S. Senate Sr Claire McCaskill Democratic 25%
AL U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Sessions III Republican 25%
John Sununu 25%
MT U.S. Senate Sr Jon Tester Democratic 25%
SD U.S. Senate Jr John Thune Republican 25%
George Voinovich 25%
RI U.S. Senate Jr Sheldon Whitehouse Democratic 25%
J. Gresham Barrett 14%
Roscoe Bartlett 14%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 14%
GA U.S. House 10 Paul Broun Republican 14%
Dan Burton 14%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 14%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 14%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 14%
Barbara Cubin 14%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 14%
Thelma Drake 14%
Brad Ellsworth 14%
IL Mayor At-Large Rahm Emanuel Democratic 14%
Luis Fortuño 14%
NC U.S. House 5 Virginia Foxx Republican 14%
Elton Gallegly 14%
David Lee Hobson 14%
Pete Hoekstra 14%
Kenny Hulshof 14%
Bob Inglis, Sr. 14%
Joseph Knollenberg 14%
CO U.S. House 5 Doug Lamborn Republican 14%
Jerry Lewis 14%
John Linder 14%
Dan Lungren 14%
TX U.S. House 24 Kenny Marchant Republican 14%
WA U.S. House 7 Jim McDermott Democratic 14%
CA U.S. House 25 Buck McKeon Republican 14%
Marilyn Musgrave 14%
Dave Obey 14%
WI U.S. House 6 Tom Petri Republican 14%
FL Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer Services Adam Putnam Republican 14%
NY U.S. House 13 Charlie Rangel Democratic 14%
Ralph Regula 14%
Laura Richardson 14%
CA U.S. House 48 Dana Rohrabacher Republican 14%
MD U.S. House 3 John Sarbanes Democratic 14%
Jean Schmidt 14%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 14%
John Sullivan 14%
Tom Tancredo 14%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 14%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 14%
GA U.S. House 3 Lynn Westmoreland Republican 14%
VA U.S. House 10 Frank Wolf Republican 14%
AK U.S. House At-Large Don Young Republican 14%
Wayne Allard 0%
MN U.S. House 6 Michele Bachmann Republican 0%
Brian Baird 0%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 0%
Max Baucus 0%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 0%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 0%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 0%
CA U.S. House 45 John Campbell III Republican 0%
Chris Cannon 0%
VA U.S. House 7 Eric Cantor Republican 0%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 0%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 0%
OK U.S. Senate Jr Thomas Coburn Republican 0%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 0%
James DeMint 0%
John Doolittle 0%
David Dreier 0%
MD U.S. House 4 Donna Edwards Democratic 0%
John Ensign 0%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 0%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 0%
AZ U.S. House 8 Trent Franks Republican 0%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 0%
Judd Gregg 0%
TX U.S. House 5 Jeb Hensarling Republican 0%
Wally Herger, Jr. 0%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 0%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 0%
OH U.S. House 4 Jim Jordan Republican 0%
IA U.S. House 4 Steve King Republican 0%
Jon Kyl 0%
OH U.S. House 5 Bob Latta Republican 0%
Melquiades Martinez 0%
AZ U.S. Senate Sr John McCain III Republican 0%
CA U.S. House 23 Kevin McCarthy Republican 0%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 0%
James McCrery III 0%
CA U.S. House 31 Gary Miller Republican 0%
AK U.S. Senate Sr Lisa Murkowski Republican 0%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 0%
IN Governor Mike Pence Republican 0%
Earl Pomeroy 0%
MI U.S. House 8 Mike Rogers Republican 0%
CA U.S. House 39 Ed Royce Republican 0%
WI U.S. House 1 Paul Ryan Republican 0%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 0%
John Shadegg 0%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 0%
Pete Stark 0%
Ted Stevens 0%
OH U.S. House 12 Pat Tiberi Republican 0%
LA U.S. Senate Jr David Vitter Republican 0%
OR U.S. House 2 Greg Walden Republican 0%
Jim Webb, Jr. 0%
MS U.S. Senate Jr Roger Wicker Republican 0%
VA U.S. House 1 Rob Wittman Republican 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top