or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: CNET News

2006 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 42%
Gary Ackerman 61%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 47%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 14%
Todd Akin 38%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 60%
Rodney Alexander 33%
Wayne Allard 53%
George Allen 78%
Thomas Allen 45%
Rob Andrews 50%
Joe Baca, Sr. 53%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 44%
Brian Baird 53%
Richard Hugh Baker 47%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 42%
J. Gresham Barrett 45%
GA U.S. House 12 John Barrow Democratic 25%
Roscoe Bartlett 42%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 47%
Charlie Bass 45%
Max Baucus 31%
Evan Bayh 55%
Melissa Bean 43%
Bob Beauprez 42%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 65%
Bob Bennett 43%
Shelley Berkley 53%
Howard Berman 63%
Marion Berry 32%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 38%
Judy Biggert 47%
Brian Bilbray 67%
Michael Bilirakis 45%
Jeff Bingaman 38%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 45%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 39%
NY U.S. House 1 Tim Bishop Democratic 42%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 42%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 53%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 47%
Sherwood Boehlert 50%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 50%
Kit Bond 44%
Henry Bonilla 45%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 36%
Mary Bono Mack 45%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 47%
Dan Boren 38%
Leonard Boswell 50%
Rick Boucher 50%
LA U.S. House 3 Charles Boustany, Jr. Republican 25%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 31%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 50%
NH State Senate 3 Jeb Bradley Republican 50%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 47%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 30%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 42%
Henry Brown, Jr. 43%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 32%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 53%
Ginny Brown-Waite 45%
Jim Bunning 60%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 42%
Conrad Burns 38%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 50%
Dan Burton 41%
NC U.S. House 1 G.K. Butterfield, Jr. Democratic 33%
Steve Buyer 50%
Robert Byrd 31%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 50%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 53%
CA U.S. House 45 John Campbell III Republican 33%
Chris Cannon 61%
VA U.S. House 7 Eric Cantor Republican 38%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 67%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 33%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 50%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 44%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 45%
Dennis Cardoza 42%
Russ Carnahan 50%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 56%
Julia Carson 39%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 45%
Edward Case 50%
Mike Castle 42%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 55%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 40%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 60%
Ben Chandler III 55%
Chris Chocola 42%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 38%
MO U.S. House 5 Emanuel Cleaver II Democratic 38%
Hillary Clinton 33%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 40%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 45%
OK U.S. Senate Jr Thomas Coburn Republican 50%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 38%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 14%
Norm Coleman 60%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 40%
TX U.S. House 11 Mike Conaway Republican 38%
Kent Conrad 38%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 58%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 36%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 60%
Jon Corzine 44%
CA U.S. House 16 Jim Costa Democratic 38%
Jerry Costello 32%
Larry Craig 56%
Robert Cramer 56%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 73%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 44%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 56%
Barbara Cubin 47%
TX U.S. House 28 Henry Cuellar Democratic 38%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 44%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 40%
Artur Davis 55%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 45%
Geoff Davis 13%
James Davis 50%
Jo Ann Davis 36%
Lincoln Davis 55%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 50%
Thomas Davis III 55%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 33%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 39%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 30%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 40%
Bill Delahunt 53%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 35%
James DeMint 50%
PA U.S. House 15 Charlie Dent Republican 25%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 25%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 50%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 55%
Norm Dicks 53%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 45%
Chris Dodd 33%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 50%
Elizabeth Dole 60%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 50%
John Doolittle 53%
Byron Dorgan 31%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 39%
Thelma Drake 25%
David Dreier 60%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 40%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 27%
Chet Edwards 50%
Vern Ehlers 55%
IL Mayor At-Large Rahm Emanuel Democratic 42%
Jo Ann Emerson 45%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 53%
Philip English 61%
John Ensign 67%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 40%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 61%
Bob Etheridge 55%
Lane Evans 39%
Terry Everett 42%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 58%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 38%
Tom Feeney 60%
Russ Feingold 38%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 38%
Michael Ferguson 46%
Bob Filner 58%
PA U.S. House 8 Mike Fitzpatrick Republican 38%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 63%
Mark Foley 60%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 47%
Harold Ford, Jr. 61%
NE U.S. House 1 Jeff Fortenberry Republican 25%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 61%
NC U.S. House 5 Virginia Foxx Republican 25%
Barney Frank 50%
AZ U.S. House 8 Trent Franks Republican 42%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 50%
William Frist 44%
Elton Gallegly 50%
NJ U.S. House 5 Scott Garrett Republican 36%
PA U.S. House 6 Jim Gerlach Republican 50%
Jim Gibbons 65%
Wayne Gilchrest 47%
Paul Gillmor 47%
GA U.S. House 11 Phil Gingrey Republican 36%
TX U.S. House 1 Louie Gohmert Republican 43%
Charlie Gonzalez 63%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 35%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 55%
Bart Gordon 45%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 60%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 56%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 38%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 40%
TX U.S. House 9 Al Green Democratic 38%
Mark Green 56%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top