Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Capitol Weekly

2009 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
Samuel Aanestad 3%
Anthony Adams 14%
Elaine Alquist 89%
Tom Ammiano 100%
CA State Senate 38 Joel Anderson Republican 6%
Juan Arambula 78%
Roy Ashburn 17%
CA U.S. House 37 Karen Bass Democratic 91%
CA State Senate 15 Jim Beall, Jr. Democratic 94%
CA Supervisor 4 John Benoit 14%
Bill Berryhill 11%
CA State Senate 8 Tom Berryhill Republican 11%
Sam Blakeslee 19%
CA State Senate 39 Martin Block Democratic 91%
CA Council Member 3 Bob Blumenfield 94%
CA U.S. House 26 Julia Brownley Democratic 100%
Joan Buchanan 94%
Anna Caballero 83%
Charles Calderon 69%
Ron Calderon 64%
Amina Carter 83%
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo 83%
Wesley Chesbro 94%
CA Council Member 6 David Cogdill 6%
Connie Conway 6%
CA U.S. House 8 Paul Cook Republican 9%
Ellen Corbett 100%
Lou Correa 40%
Joe Coto 89%
Dave Cox 17%
Mike Davis 79%
Hector De La Torre 91%
CA State Senate 24 Kevin de Leon Democratic 94%
CA U.S. House 10 Jeff Denham Republican 17%
CA U.S. House 11 Mark DeSaulnier Democratic 91%
Charles DeVore 12%
Denise Ducheny 89%
Robert Dutton 6%
Bill Emmerson 17%
Mike Eng 94%
Noreen Evans 94%
Mike Feuer 100%
Nathan Fletcher 25%
Dean Florez 85%
Paul Fong 94%
CA Council Member 7 Felipe Fuentes 77%
CA State Senate 16 Jean Fuller Republican 11%
Warren Furutani 94%
CA State Senate 1 Ted Gaines Republican 6%
CA State Senate 5 Cathleen Galgiani Democratic 54%
Martin Garrick 20%
Danny Gilmore 17%
CA Supervisor 4 Curt Hagman 9%
CA State Senate 35 Isadore Hall III Democratic 69%
CA State Senate 9 Loni Hancock Democratic 100%
CA State Board of Equalization Diane Harkey Republican 3%
Tom Harman 12%
Mary Hayashi 89%
CA State Senate 22 Ed Hernandez Democratic 78%
CA State Senate 13 Gerald Hill Democratic 94%
Dennis Hollingsworth 6%
Alyson Huber 42%
CA State Senate 29 Robert Huff Republican 9%
CA U.S. House 2 Jared Huffman Democratic 100%
CA Supervisor 1 Kevin Jeffries 9%
CA Insurance Commissioner Dave Jones Democratic 94%
Christine Kehoe 100%
CA U.S. House 25 Steve Knight Republican 3%
CA Council Member 2 Paul Krekorian 97%
CA State Senate 11 Mark Leno Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 33 Ted Lieu Democratic 89%
CA State Senate 25 Carol Liu Democratic 91%
Dan Logue 6%
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 100%
Bonnie Lowenthal 100%
CA State Board of Equalization Fiona Ma Democratic 89%
Abel Maldonado 55%
CA State Senate 32 Tony Mendoza Democratic 80%
Jeff Miller 9%
CA State Senate 17 Bill Monning Democratic 100%
Pedro Nava 100%
Gloria Negrete McLeod 49%
Brian Nestande 14%
Roger Niello 11%
CA State Senate 4 Jim Nielsen Republican 17%
Jenny Oropeza 71%
CA Secretary of State Alex Padilla Democratic 83%
CA State Senate 27 Fran Pavley Democratic 100%
John Pérez 94%
Manuel Pérez 69%
Anthony Portantino, Jr. 94%
CA Council Member 9 Curren Price, Jr. 89%
Gloria Romero 89%
CA State Board of Equalization George Runner, Jr. Republican 3%
Ira Ruskin 94%
CA Mayor At-Large Mary Salas 100%
Lori Saldaña 97%
Jim Silva 3%
CA Supervisor 5 Joe Simitian No Party Affiliation 100%
Nancy Skinner 100%
Cameron Smyth 14%
Jose Solorio 72%
Darrell Steinberg 74%
Tony Strickland 20%
Audra Strickland 11%
Sandré Swanson 89%
CA State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Non-partisan 89%
CA U.S. House 35 Norma Torres Democratic 85%
Alberto Torrico 94%
Van Tran 20%
Mike Villines 0%
CA U.S. House 45 Mimi Walters Republican 6%
Patricia Wiggins 100%
CA State Senate 3 Lois Wolk Democratic 94%
Roderick Wright 53%
Mark Wyland 17%
Mariko Yamada 97%
Leland Yee 94%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top