Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Journal

2012 Senate Conservative (Foreign)

State Office District Name Party Rating
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 19%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 74%
NH U.S. Senate Jr Kelly Ayotte Republican 62%
WY U.S. Senate Jr John Barrasso Republican 68%
Max Baucus 52%
AK U.S. Senate Jr Mark Begich Democratic 19%
CO U.S. Senate Jr Michael Bennet Democratic 39%
Jeff Bingaman 19%
CT U.S. Senate Sr Richard Blumenthal Democratic 0%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 60%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 76%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 0%
Scott Brown 51%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 0%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 84%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 0%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 0%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 19%
PA U.S. Senate Sr Bob Casey, Jr. Democratic 19%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 77%
IN U.S. Senate Sr Daniel Coats Republican 71%
OK U.S. Senate Jr Thomas Coburn Republican 77%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 68%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 54%
Kent Conrad 19%
DE U.S. Senate Jr Chris Coons Democratic 0%
TN U.S. Senate Jr Robert Corker Republican 75%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 94%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 94%
James DeMint 97%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 0%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 85%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 32%
MN U.S. Senate Jr Al Franken Democratic/Farmer/Labor 0%
NY U.S. Senate Jr Kirsten Gillibrand Democratic 19%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 61%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 85%
NC U.S. Senate Jr Kay Hagan Democratic 43%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 0%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 72%
NV U.S. Senate Jr Dean Heller Republican 59%
ND U.S. Senate Sr John Hoeven Republican 62%
Kay Hutchison 77%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 91%
Daniel Inouye 38%
GA U.S. Senate Jr Johnny Isakson Republican 77%
NE U.S. Senate Sr Mike Johanns Republican 67%
WI U.S. Senate Sr Ron Johnson Republican 92%
SD U.S. Senate Sr Timothy Johnson Democratic 32%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry Democratic 32%
MN U.S. Senate Sr Amy Klobuchar Democratic/Farmer/Labor 19%
Herb Kohl 37%
Jon Kyl 94%
LA U.S. Senate Sr Mary Landrieu Democratic 40%
Frank Lautenberg 0%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 19%
UT U.S. Senate Jr Mike Lee Republican 85%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Carl Levin Democratic 19%
Joe Lieberman 52%
Dick Lugar 55%
WV U.S. Senate Jr Joe Manchin III Democratic 49%
AZ U.S. Senate Sr John McCain III Republican 66%
MO U.S. Senate Sr Claire McCaskill Democratic 0%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 92%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 0%
OR U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Merkley Democratic 43%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Barbara Mikulski Democratic 15%
KS U.S. Senate Jr Jerry Moran Republican 70%
AK U.S. Senate Sr Lisa Murkowski Republican 58%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 0%
Ben Nelson 43%
FL U.S. Senate Sr Bill Nelson, Sr. Democratic 15%
KY U.S. Senate Jr Rand Paul Republican 85%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 62%
AR U.S. Senate Sr Mark Pryor Democratic 55%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 19%
NV U.S. Senate Sr Harry Reid Democratic 0%
ID U.S. Senate Jr James Risch Republican 98%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 65%
WV U.S. Senate Sr Jay Rockefeller IV Democratic 18%
FL U.S. Senate Jr Marco Rubio Republican 90%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 47%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 15%
AL U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Sessions III Republican 77%
NH U.S. Senate Sr Jeanne Shaheen Democratic 19%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 85%
Olympia Snowe 57%
MI U.S. Senate Jr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 32%
MT U.S. Senate Sr Jon Tester Democratic 43%
SD U.S. Senate Jr John Thune Republican 72%
PA U.S. Senate Jr Pat Toomey Republican 77%
CO U.S. Senate Sr Mark Udall Democratic 19%
NM U.S. Senate Sr Tom Udall Democratic 0%
LA U.S. Senate Jr David Vitter Republican 99%
VA U.S. Senate Sr Mark Warner Democratic 32%
Jim Webb, Jr. 40%
RI U.S. Senate Jr Sheldon Whitehouse Democratic 40%
MS U.S. Senate Jr Roger Wicker Republican 77%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 48%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top