or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Journal

1998 Liberal on Social Policy Score

Issues: Liberal , Social
State Office District Name Party Rating
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 93%
Julia Carson 93%
William Clay, Sr. 93%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 93%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 93%
Bill Delahunt 93%
Julian Dixon 93%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 93%
Jesse Jackson, Jr. 93%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 93%
Carolyn Kilpatrick 93%
CA U.S. House 13 Barbara Lee Democratic 93%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 93%
Martin Meehan 93%
NY U.S. House 5 Gregory Meeks Democratic 93%
Juanita Millender-McDonald 93%
CA U.S. House 11 George Miller Democratic 93%
John Olver 93%
Major Owens 93%
Donald Payne 93%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 93%
NY U.S. House 13 Charlie Rangel Democratic 93%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 93%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 93%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 93%
Pete Stark 93%
MA U.S. House 6 John Tierney Democratic 93%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 93%
Mel Watt 93%
Gary Ackerman 90%
Thomas Allen 90%
George Brown, Jr. 90%
William Coyne 90%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 90%
Barney Frank 90%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 90%
WA U.S. House 7 Jim McDermott Democratic 90%
MA U.S. House 2 Jim McGovern Democratic 90%
Cynthia Ann McKinney 90%
Patsy Takemoto Mink 90%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 89%
Howard Berman 89%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 89%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 89%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 88%
Bob Filner 88%
Sam Gejdenson 88%
Maurice Hinchey 88%
CA U.S. House 33 Henry Waxman Democratic 88%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 87%
Eva Clayton 87%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 87%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 87%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 85%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 85%
Lane Evans 85%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 85%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 85%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 85%
Lynn Woolsey 85%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 84%
Ed Towns 84%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 84%
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 81%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 81%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 81%
Earl Hilliard, Jr. 81%
Darlene Hooley 81%
Patrick Kennedy 81%
MI U.S. House 9 Sandy Levin Democratic 81%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 81%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 81%
Carrie Meek 81%
Lynn Nancy Rivers 81%
OH State Senate 28 Thomas Sawyer Democratic 81%
Robert Wexler 81%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 80%
Tom Lantos 80%
NY U.S. House 25 Louise Slaughter Democratic 80%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 79%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 79%
Albert Wynn 79%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 78%
Martin Olav Sabo 78%
Bruce Vento 78%
William Luther 77%
Matthew Martinez 77%
Karen McCarthy 77%
Bob Wise, Jr. 77%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett Democratic 76%
Peter Deutsch 76%
Calvin Dooley 76%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 76%
Steve Rothman 76%
CA U.S. House 30 Brad Sherman Democratic 76%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 75%
MI U.S. Senate Jr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 75%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 74%
Jeff Bingaman 74%
Joseph Maxwell Cleland 74%
Chris Dodd 74%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 74%
Russ Feingold 74%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 74%
Daniel Graham 74%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 74%
Edward Kennedy, Sr. 74%
Bob Kerrey 74%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry Democratic 74%
Herb Kohl 74%
Frank Lautenberg 74%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Carl Levin Democratic 74%
Joe Lieberman 74%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Barbara Mikulski Democratic 74%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 74%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 74%
WV U.S. Senate Sr Jay Rockefeller IV Democratic 74%
Paul Sarbanes 74%
Robert Torricelli 74%
Paul Wellstone 74%
ME Councilor At-Large John Baldacci Democratic 73%
Rick Boucher 73%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 73%
NY U.S. House 4 Carolyn McCarthy Democratic 73%
VA U.S. House 8 Jim Moran, Jr. Democratic 73%
Constance Morella 73%
AZ U.S. House 7 Ed Pastor Democratic 73%
Ciro Rodriguez 73%
CA U.S. House 46 Loretta Sanchez Democratic 73%
Ellen Tauscher 73%
Karen Thurman 73%
Norm Dicks 72%
Robert Matsui 72%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 72%
Rob Andrews 70%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 70%
Rod Blagojevich 70%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 70%
TX U.S. House 15 Rubén Hinojosa, Sr. Democratic 70%
Nancy Johnson 70%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 70%
NC U.S. House 4 David Price Democratic 70%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 70%
Sherwood Boehlert 69%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 69%
Jonas Frost III 69%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 69%
James Maloney 69%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 69%
David Edward Bonior 68%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 68%
Dave Obey 68%
Chet Edwards 67%
James Greenwood 67%
William Jefferson 67%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 67%
Harold Ford, Jr. 66%
Benjamin Gilman 66%
John Moakley 66%
Nicholas Lampson 65%
Jim Oberstar 65%
NJ U.S. House 9 Bill Pascrell, Jr. Democratic 65%
Christopher Shays 65%
Vic Snyder 65%
Amory Houghton, Jr. 64%
David Minge 64%
Ted Strickland 64%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 63%
Leonard Boswell 63%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 63%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 63%
Richard Bryan 63%
John Chafee 63%
Thomas Daschle 63%
Daniel Inouye 63%
SD U.S. Senate Sr Timothy Johnson Democratic 63%
LA U.S. Senate Sr Mary Landrieu Democratic 63%
Patrick Moynihan 63%
Silvestre Reyes 63%
Charles Robb 63%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 63%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 63%
Max Baucus 62%
Thomas Campbell 62%
Stephen Horn 62%
Sue Kelly 62%
Bob Weygand 62%
Robert Borski, Jr. 60%
James Davis 60%
Bob Etheridge 60%
James Merrill Jeffords 60%
Gerald Kleczka 60%
James Leach 60%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 60%
Earl Pomeroy 60%
John Spratt, Jr. 60%
Mike Castle 59%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 59%
Wayne Gilchrest 59%
Dennis Kucinich 59%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top