Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Journal

1996 Conservative on Economic Policy Score

State Office District Name Party Rating
AK U.S. House At-Large Donald Young Republican 64%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 78%
AZ U.S. House 5 Matt Salmon Republican 82%
AZ U.S. Senate Sr John McCain III Republican 84%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 30%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 33%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 18%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 39 Ed Royce Republican 64%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 82%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 48 Dana Rohrabacher Republican 76%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 31%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 19%
CO Commissioner 2 Scott McInnis 82%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 18%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 18%
FL U.S. House 7 John Mica Republican 82%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 0%
FL U.S. House 27 Ileana Ros-Lehtinen Republican 45%
FL Justice of the Supreme Court Charles Canady 56%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 36%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 0%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 76%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 69%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 82%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 0%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutiérrez Democratic 0%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 35%
IN U.S. Senate Sr Dan Coats Republican 74%
IN Council Member At-Large John Myers Republican 60%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 64%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 69%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 16%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 0%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 22%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 18%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Barbara Mikulski Democratic 0%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 32%
ME Councilor At-Large Joseph Baldacci Democratic 18%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 64%
MI U.S. House 9 Sandy Levin Democratic 11%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 0%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic 40%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 21%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 75%
MS U.S. Senate Jr Roger Wicker Republican 82%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 39%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry Democratic 19%
NC U.S. House 3 Walter Jones, Jr. Republican 82%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 82%
NJ U.S. House 2 Frank LoBiondo Republican 49%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 53%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 28%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 56%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 25%
NV U.S. Senate Sr Harry Reid Democratic 30%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 55%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 0%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 0%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 15%
NY U.S. House 13 Charlie Rangel Democratic 0%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 11%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 16%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 25%
NY U.S. House 25 Louise Slaughter Democratic 25%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 28%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 73%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 31%
OH State Senate 28 Thomas Sawyer Democratic 25%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 11%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 76%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 58%
OH Governor John Kasich Republican 76%
OK U.S. House 3 Frank Lucas Republican 82%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 94%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 18%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 26%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle Democratic 38%
SC U.S. House 1 Mark Sanford, Jr. Republican 68%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 22%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 82%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 67%
TX U.S. House 3 Sam Johnson Republican 76%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 73%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 82%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 18%
TX U.S. House 21 Lamar Smith Republican 73%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 28%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 11%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 25%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 69%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 22%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 64%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 14%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 11%
WA U.S. House 7 Jim McDermott Democratic 0%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 0%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 58%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett No Party Affiliation 11%
Neil Abercrombie 11%
Edmond Spencer Abraham 63%
Gary Ackerman 28%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 5%
Rob Andrews 33%
Bill Archer 76%
Richard Armey 82%
John Ashcroft 86%
Spencer Bachus 68%
Henry Scott Baesler 39%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 86%
Richard Hugh Baker 70%
William Baker 74%
Cass Ballenger 82%
James Barcia 41%
Bob Barr, Jr. 71%
Bill Barrett 82%
Roscoe Bartlett 82%
Charlie Bass 82%
Herbert Bateman, Sr. 61%
Max Baucus 46%
Anthony Beilenson 21%
Bob Bennett 82%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 33%
Douglas Bereuter 55%
Howard Berman 0%
Tom Bevill 40%
Brian Bilbray 53%
Michael Bilirakis 76%
Jeff Bingaman 5%
Thomas Bliley, Jr. 82%
Peter Blute 49%
Sherwood Boehlert 43%
John Boehner 82%
Kit Bond 56%
Henry Bonilla 68%
David Edward Bonior 11%
Sonny Bono 76%
Robert Borski, Jr. 0%
Rick Boucher 35%
Bill Bradley 6%
John Breaux 45%
Bill Brewster 46%
Glen Browder 40%
George Brown, Jr. 0%
Hank Brown 88%
Richard Bryan 34%
Ed Bryant 82%
John Bryant 26%
Dale Bumpers 11%
Jim Bunn 51%
Jim Bunning 82%
Conrad Burns 76%
Dan Burton 76%
Steve Buyer 68%
Robert Byrd 19%
Herbert Callahan 80%
Dave Camp 71%
Ben Campbell 53%
Thomas Campbell 58%
Mike Castle 49%
John Chafee 47%
Saxby Chambliss 82%
Jim Chapman 39%
Helen Chenoweth-Hage 82%
Jon Lynn Christensen 82%
Dick Chrysler 74%
William Clay, Sr. 0%
Eva Clayton 0%
Robert Clement 41%
William Clinger 64%
Howard Coble 71%
Thomas Coburn 61%
William Cohen 46%
Ronald Coleman 12%
Barbara-Rose Collins 00%
Cardiss Collins 0%
Michael Collins 82%
Larry Combest 82%
Gary Condit 47%
Kent Conrad 19%
Wes Cooley 74%
Jerry Costello 31%
Paul Coverdell 94%
Christopher Cox 82%
William Coyne 0%
Larry Craig 91%
Robert Cramer 47%
Philip Crane 82%
Frank Arnold Cremeans 64%
Barbara Cubin 82%
Randall Cunningham 82%
Alfonse D'Amato 54%
Patsy Ann Danner 39%
Thomas Daschle 27%
Thomas Davis III 52%
Eligio de la Garza II 38%
Thomas DeLay 82%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top