Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Journal

2007 Liberal on Foreign Policy Score

State Office District Name Party Rating
PA U.S. House 13 Allyson Schwartz Democratic 61%
Pete Stark 61%
Dennis Cardoza 60%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 60%
Patrick Murphy 60%
Joe Sestak, Jr. 60%
Max Baucus 59%
Evan Bayh 59%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 59%
Kent Conrad 59%
CA U.S. House 16 Jim Costa Democratic 59%
MO U.S. Senate Sr Claire McCaskill Democratic 59%
Alan Mollohan 59%
Dennis Moore 59%
Silvestre Reyes 59%
CO U.S. Senate Sr Mark Udall Democratic 59%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 58%
Michael McNulty 58%
Earl Pomeroy 58%
Nancy Boyda 57%
PA U.S. Senate Sr Bob Casey, Jr. Democratic 57%
Chet Edwards 57%
NY U.S. Senate Jr Kirsten Gillibrand Democratic 57%
Bart Gordon 57%
Ron Klein 57%
Ciro Rodriguez 57%
Jim Webb, Jr. 57%
Blanche Lincoln 56%
Harry Mitchell 56%
Solomon Ortiz, Sr. 56%
Mike Ross 56%
John Spratt, Jr. 56%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 55%
Dennis Kucinich 55%
MD U.S. House 2 Dutch Ruppersberger Democratic 55%
Charlie Wilson, Jr. 55%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 54%
Gabrielle Giffords 54%
Wayne Gilchrest 54%
LA U.S. Senate Sr Mary Landrieu Democratic 54%
CO Commissioner of Agriculture John Salazar No Party Affiliation 54%
Ken Salazar 54%
Artur Davis 53%
Ike Skelton 53%
Gordon Smith 53%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 52%
Stephanie Herseth Sandlin 52%
Baron Hill 52%
IL U.S. House 3 Daniel Lipinski Democratic 52%
FL U.S. Senate Sr Bill Nelson, Sr. Democratic 52%
Ron Paul 52%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic/Farmer/Labor 52%
GA U.S. House 13 David Scott Democratic 52%
Brian Baird 51%
Shelley Berkley 51%
Ben Chandler III 51%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 51%
Vic Snyder 51%
Melissa Bean 50%
Thomas Holden 50%
UT U.S. House 4 Jim Matheson Democratic 50%
NC U.S. House 7 Mike McIntyre Democratic 50%
Heath Shuler 50%
Christopher Carney 49%
SD U.S. Senate Sr Timothy Johnson Democratic 49%
Zack Space 49%
Jason Altmire 48%
Robert Cramer 48%
TX U.S. House 28 Henry Cuellar Democratic 48%
NC U.S. House 3 Walter Jones, Jr. Republican 48%
Tim Mahoney 48%
Ben Nelson 48%
John Tanner 48%
Lincoln Davis 47%
Brad Ellsworth 47%
Nicholas Lampson 47%
Charlie Melancon, Sr. 47%
AR U.S. Senate Sr Mark Pryor Democratic 47%
Gene Taylor 47%
Mike Castle 46%
IN U.S. Senate Jr Joe Donnelly, Sr. Democratic 46%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 46%
Christopher Shays 46%
Olympia Snowe 46%
GA U.S. House 12 John Barrow Democratic 45%
Dan Boren 45%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 45%
Tim Johnson 45%
James Walsh 45%
Norm Coleman 44%
David Lee Hobson 44%
IL U.S. Senate Jr Mark Kirk Republican 44%
WI U.S. House 6 Tom Petri Republican 44%
Roscoe Bartlett 43%
Judy Biggert 43%
Vern Ehlers 43%
Jo Ann Emerson 43%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 43%
John Sununu 43%
Thomas Davis III 42%
PA U.S. House 15 Charlie Dent Republican 42%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 42%
James Ramstad 42%
Arlen Specter 42%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 42%
Steve LaTourette 41%
Jim Marshall 41%
Deborah Pryce 41%
George Voinovich 41%
AK U.S. House At-Large Don Young Republican 41%
Philip English 40%
Bob Inglis, Sr. 40%
Ric Keller 40%
MI U.S. House 10 Candice Miller Republican 40%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 40%
John Warner 40%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 39%
Dick Lugar 39%
Don Manzullo 39%
KS U.S. Senate Jr Jerry Moran Republican 39%
PA U.S. House 18 Tim Murphy Republican 39%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 38%
Ray LaHood 38%
Joe Lieberman 38%
FL U.S. House 1 Jeff Miller Republican 38%
Elizabeth Dole 37%
ID U.S. House 2 Mike Simpson Republican 37%
Mary Bono Mack 36%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 36%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 36%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 36%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 36%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 36%
Jerry Lewis 36%
CA U.S. House 48 Dana Rohrabacher Republican 36%
TN U.S. Senate Jr Robert Corker Republican 34%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 34%
Ginny Brown-Waite 32%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 32%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 32%
PA U.S. House 6 Jim Gerlach Republican 32%
GA U.S. House 1 Jack Kingston Republican 32%
Joseph Knollenberg 32%
John Kuhl, Jr. 32%
IA U.S. House 3 Tom Latham Republican 32%
CA U.S. House 23 Kevin McCarthy Republican 32%
Todd Platts 32%
Ralph Regula 32%
Richard Renzi 32%
FL U.S. House 27 Ileana Ros-Lehtinen Republican 32%
OH U.S. House 10 Mike Turner Republican 32%
OR U.S. House 2 Greg Walden Republican 32%
KY U.S. House 1 Ed Whitfield Republican 32%
MS U.S. Senate Jr Roger Wicker Republican 32%
Bill Young 32%
Wally Herger, Jr. 31%
TX U.S. House 2 Ted Poe Republican 31%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 30%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 30%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 30%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 30%
Judd Gregg 30%
Melquiades Martinez 30%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 30%
WA U.S. House 5 Cathy McMorris Rodgers Republican 30%
Ted Stevens 30%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 29%
Robert Hayes 29%
NJ U.S. House 2 Frank LoBiondo Republican 29%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 28%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 28%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 28%
WA U.S. House 4 Doc Hastings Republican 28%
Pete Hoekstra 28%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 28%
John McHugh 28%
Bob Bennett 27%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 21%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 21%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 21%
John Ensign 21%
Jon Kyl 21%
AK U.S. Senate Sr Lisa Murkowski Republican 21%
WY U.S. Senate Jr John Barrasso Republican 16%
Kay Hutchison 16%
GA U.S. Senate Jr Johnny Isakson Republican 16%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 16%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 16%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 14%
LA U.S. Senate Jr David Vitter Republican 14%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 13%
OK U.S. Senate Jr Thomas Coburn Republican 9%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 9%
AL U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Sessions III Republican 9%
SD U.S. Senate Jr John Thune Republican 9%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 7%
Todd Akin 0%
Rodney Alexander 0%
Wayne Allard 0%
MN U.S. House 6 Michele Bachmann Republican 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top