or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Journal

2005 Conservative on Foreign Policy Score

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 20%
Gary Ackerman 28%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 73%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 15%
Todd Akin 89%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 74%
Rodney Alexander 73%
Wayne Allard 74%
George Allen 74%
Thomas Allen 20%
Rob Andrews 31%
Joe Baca, Sr. 22%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 66%
Brian Baird 25%
Richard Hugh Baker 89%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 0%
J. Gresham Barrett 84%
GA U.S. House 12 John Barrow Democratic 47%
Roscoe Bartlett 53%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 89%
Charlie Bass 54%
Max Baucus 36%
Evan Bayh 40%
Melissa Bean 42%
Bob Beauprez 61%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 7%
Bob Bennett 74%
Shelley Berkley 41%
Howard Berman 32%
Marion Berry 41%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 15%
Judy Biggert 48%
Michael Bilirakis 89%
Jeff Bingaman 29%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 86%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 43%
NY U.S. House 1 Tim Bishop Democratic 33%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 86%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 7%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 85%
Sherwood Boehlert 49%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 83%
Kit Bond 65%
Henry Bonilla 89%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 79%
Mary Bono Mack 55%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 52%
Dan Boren 42%
Leonard Boswell 32%
Rick Boucher 32%
LA U.S. House 3 Charles Boustany, Jr. Republican 61%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 0%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 41%
NH State Senate 3 Jeb Bradley Republican 73%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 83%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 23%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 31%
Henry Brown, Jr. 77%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 9%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 74%
Ginny Brown-Waite 78%
Jim Bunning 74%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 89%
Conrad Burns 60%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 65%
Dan Burton 89%
NC U.S. House 1 G.K. Butterfield, Jr. Democratic 40%
Steve Buyer 73%
Robert Byrd 15%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 89%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 61%
Chris Cannon 89%
Eric Cantor 86%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 29%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 55%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 9%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 7%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 32%
Dennis Cardoza 45%
Russ Carnahan 33%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 15%
Julia Carson 17%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 89%
Edward Case 45%
Mike Castle 51%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 89%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 40%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 74%
Ben Chandler III 43%
Chris Chocola 61%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 10%
MO U.S. House 5 Emanuel Cleaver II Democratic 18%
Hillary Clinton 29%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 27%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 55%
OK U.S. Senate Jr Thomas Coburn Republican 74%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 74%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 86%
Norm Coleman 74%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 46%
TX U.S. House 11 Mike Conaway Republican 71%
Kent Conrad 42%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 0%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 42%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 74%
CA U.S. House 16 Jim Costa Democratic 39%
Jerry Costello 32%
Larry Craig 58%
Robert Cramer 49%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 55%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 84%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 24%
Barbara Cubin 55%
TX U.S. House 28 Henry Cuellar Democratic 45%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 86%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 13%
Artur Davis 43%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 4%
Geoff Davis 78%
James Davis 37%
Jo Ann Davis 70%
Lincoln Davis 42%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 33%
Thomas Davis III 60%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 25%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 89%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 26%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 18%
Bill Delahunt 7%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 21%
Thomas DeLay 86%
James DeMint 65%
PA U.S. House 15 Charlie Dent Republican 61%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 65%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 70%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 89%
Norm Dicks 40%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 18%
Chris Dodd 15%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 14%
Elizabeth Dole 74%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 74%
John Doolittle 84%
Byron Dorgan 10%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 25%
Thelma Drake 89%
David Dreier 61%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 48%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 13%
Chet Edwards 36%
Vern Ehlers 47%
IL Mayor At-Large Rahm Emanuel Democratic 27%
Jo Ann Emerson 50%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 39%
Philip English 61%
John Ensign 74%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 50%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 23%
Bob Etheridge 44%
Lane Evans 12%
Terry Everett 70%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 7%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 18%
Tom Feeney 73%
Russ Feingold 5%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 15%
Michael Ferguson 61%
Bob Filner 0%
PA U.S. House 8 Mike Fitzpatrick Republican 61%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 46%
Mark Foley 79%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 79%
Harold Ford, Jr. 44%
NE U.S. House 1 Jeff Fortenberry Republican 73%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 79%
NC U.S. House 5 Virginia Foxx Republican 79%
Barney Frank 18%
AZ U.S. House 8 Trent Franks Republican 89%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 86%
William Frist 74%
Elton Gallegly 85%
NJ U.S. House 5 Scott Garrett Republican 61%
PA U.S. House 6 Jim Gerlach Republican 61%
Jim Gibbons 79%
Wayne Gilchrest 52%
Paul Gillmor 58%
GA U.S. House 11 Phil Gingrey Republican 83%
TX U.S. House 1 Louie Gohmert Republican 89%
Charlie Gonzalez 31%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 58%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 79%
Bart Gordon 36%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 61%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 83%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 74%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 60%
TX U.S. House 9 Al Green Democratic 11%
Mark Green 79%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 35%
Judd Gregg 57%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top