or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Journal

2005 Conservative on Social Policy Score

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 18%
Gary Ackerman 7%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 86%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 10%
Todd Akin 89%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 64%
Rodney Alexander 86%
Wayne Allard 77%
George Allen 77%
Thomas Allen 7%
Rob Andrews 26%
Joe Baca, Sr. 34%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 89%
Brian Baird 31%
Richard Hugh Baker 89%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 12%
J. Gresham Barrett 89%
GA U.S. House 12 John Barrow Democratic 48%
Roscoe Bartlett 51%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 68%
Charlie Bass 52%
Max Baucus 35%
Evan Bayh 10%
Melissa Bean 39%
Bob Beauprez 78%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 9%
Bob Bennett 77%
Shelley Berkley 29%
Howard Berman 14%
Marion Berry 45%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 10%
Judy Biggert 48%
Michael Bilirakis 89%
Jeff Bingaman 35%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 64%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 38%
NY U.S. House 1 Tim Bishop Democratic 32%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 89%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 11%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 80%
Sherwood Boehlert 46%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 72%
Kit Bond 64%
Henry Bonilla 70%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 89%
Mary Bono Mack 57%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 74%
Dan Boren 52%
Leonard Boswell 41%
Rick Boucher 38%
LA U.S. House 3 Charles Boustany, Jr. Republican 70%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 0%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 41%
NH State Senate 3 Jeb Bradley Republican 56%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 89%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 15%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 26%
Henry Brown, Jr. 89%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 21%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 64%
Ginny Brown-Waite 63%
Jim Bunning 77%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 80%
Conrad Burns 77%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 77%
Dan Burton 89%
NC U.S. House 1 G.K. Butterfield, Jr. Democratic 32%
Steve Buyer 77%
Robert Byrd 44%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 86%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 83%
Chris Cannon 52%
Eric Cantor 86%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 0%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 55%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 14%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 12%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 27%
Dennis Cardoza 41%
Russ Carnahan 27%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 29%
Julia Carson 11%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 89%
Edward Case 39%
Mike Castle 42%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 89%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 38%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 77%
Ben Chandler III 47%
Chris Chocola 86%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 16%
MO U.S. House 5 Emanuel Cleaver II Democratic 18%
Hillary Clinton 10%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 26%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 74%
OK U.S. Senate Jr Thomas Coburn Republican 77%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 64%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 83%
Norm Coleman 58%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 45%
TX U.S. House 11 Mike Conaway Republican 70%
Kent Conrad 40%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 0%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 39%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 77%
CA U.S. House 16 Jim Costa Democratic 41%
Jerry Costello 43%
Larry Craig 61%
Robert Cramer 50%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 77%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 84%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 22%
Barbara Cubin 70%
TX U.S. House 28 Henry Cuellar Democratic 40%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 89%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 23%
Artur Davis 36%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 6%
Geoff Davis 89%
James Davis 31%
Jo Ann Davis 82%
Lincoln Davis 52%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 19%
Thomas Davis III 55%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 0%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 89%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 37%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 4%
Bill Delahunt 16%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 14%
Thomas DeLay 89%
James DeMint 77%
PA U.S. House 15 Charlie Dent Republican 50%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 49%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 46%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 49%
Norm Dicks 27%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 25%
Chris Dodd 23%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 21%
Elizabeth Dole 77%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 63%
John Doolittle 89%
Byron Dorgan 29%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 32%
Thelma Drake 89%
David Dreier 76%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 59%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 18%
Chet Edwards 43%
Vern Ehlers 45%
IL Mayor At-Large Rahm Emanuel Democratic 27%
Jo Ann Emerson 68%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 21%
Philip English 68%
John Ensign 77%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 77%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 0%
Bob Etheridge 37%
Lane Evans 19%
Terry Everett 83%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 2%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 17%
Tom Feeney 82%
Russ Feingold 10%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 24%
Michael Ferguson 58%
Bob Filner 12%
PA U.S. House 8 Mike Fitzpatrick Republican 53%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 52%
Mark Foley 54%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 80%
Harold Ford, Jr. 39%
NE U.S. House 1 Jeff Fortenberry Republican 72%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 66%
NC U.S. House 5 Virginia Foxx Republican 89%
Barney Frank 5%
AZ U.S. House 8 Trent Franks Republican 89%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 51%
William Frist 64%
Elton Gallegly 89%
NJ U.S. House 5 Scott Garrett Republican 82%
PA U.S. House 6 Jim Gerlach Republican 54%
Jim Gibbons 79%
Wayne Gilchrest 47%
Paul Gillmor 65%
GA U.S. House 11 Phil Gingrey Republican 89%
TX U.S. House 1 Louie Gohmert Republican 74%
Charlie Gonzalez 22%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 86%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 86%
Bart Gordon 47%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 64%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 63%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 64%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 89%
TX U.S. House 9 Al Green Democratic 12%
Mark Green 62%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 36%
Judd Gregg 58%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top