or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Journal

2005 Liberal on Social Policy Score

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 82%
Gary Ackerman 92%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 12%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 83%
Todd Akin 0%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 23%
Rodney Alexander 12%
Wayne Allard 0%
George Allen 0%
Thomas Allen 92%
Rob Andrews 74%
Joe Baca, Sr. 65%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 0%
Brian Baird 69%
Richard Hugh Baker 0%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 88%
J. Gresham Barrett 0%
GA U.S. House 12 John Barrow Democratic 52%
Roscoe Bartlett 49%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 31%
Charlie Bass 47%
Max Baucus 63%
Evan Bayh 83%
Melissa Bean 60%
Bob Beauprez 21%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 90%
Bob Bennett 0%
Shelley Berkley 71%
Howard Berman 85%
Marion Berry 54%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 83%
Judy Biggert 52%
Michael Bilirakis 0%
Jeff Bingaman 63%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 36%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 62%
NY U.S. House 1 Tim Bishop Democratic 67%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 0%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 89%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 19%
Sherwood Boehlert 54%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 27%
Kit Bond 23%
Henry Bonilla 28%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 0%
Mary Bono Mack 42%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 24%
Dan Boren 48%
Leonard Boswell 59%
Rick Boucher 61%
LA U.S. House 3 Charles Boustany, Jr. Republican 30%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 90%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 58%
NH State Senate 3 Jeb Bradley Republican 43%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 0%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 85%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 74%
Henry Brown, Jr. 0%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 79%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 23%
Ginny Brown-Waite 36%
Jim Bunning 0%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 19%
Conrad Burns 0%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 0%
Dan Burton 0%
NC U.S. House 1 G.K. Butterfield, Jr. Democratic 68%
Steve Buyer 22%
Robert Byrd 55%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 12%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 17%
Chris Cannon 47%
Eric Cantor 12%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 90%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 45%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 85%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 87%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 72%
Dennis Cardoza 59%
Russ Carnahan 73%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 65%
Julia Carson 89%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 0%
Edward Case 61%
Mike Castle 58%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 0%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 60%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 0%
Ben Chandler III 52%
Chris Chocola 12%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 84%
MO U.S. House 5 Emanuel Cleaver II Democratic 82%
Hillary Clinton 83%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 73%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 24%
OK U.S. Senate Jr Thomas Coburn Republican 0%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 23%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 16%
Norm Coleman 39%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 53%
TX U.S. House 11 Mike Conaway Republican 30%
Kent Conrad 58%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 98%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 61%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 0%
CA U.S. House 16 Jim Costa Democratic 59%
Jerry Costello 57%
Larry Craig 38%
Robert Cramer 50%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 0%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 15%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 78%
Barbara Cubin 30%
TX U.S. House 28 Henry Cuellar Democratic 60%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 0%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 77%
Artur Davis 64%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 93%
Geoff Davis 0%
James Davis 68%
Jo Ann Davis 18%
Lincoln Davis 48%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 80%
Thomas Davis III 45%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 90%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 0%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 62%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 95%
Bill Delahunt 83%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 85%
Thomas DeLay 0%
James DeMint 0%
PA U.S. House 15 Charlie Dent Republican 49%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 50%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 53%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 51%
Norm Dicks 73%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 75%
Chris Dodd 76%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 78%
Elizabeth Dole 0%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 36%
John Doolittle 0%
Byron Dorgan 65%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 68%
Thelma Drake 0%
David Dreier 23%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 41%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 77%
Chet Edwards 56%
Vern Ehlers 55%
IL Mayor At-Large Rahm Emanuel Democratic 73%
Jo Ann Emerson 32%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 79%
Philip English 31%
John Ensign 0%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 0%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 98%
Bob Etheridge 63%
Lane Evans 80%
Terry Everett 17%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 97%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 82%
Tom Feeney 18%
Russ Feingold 83%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 75%
Michael Ferguson 42%
Bob Filner 87%
PA U.S. House 8 Mike Fitzpatrick Republican 47%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 48%
Mark Foley 46%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 19%
Harold Ford, Jr. 61%
NE U.S. House 1 Jeff Fortenberry Republican 27%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 32%
NC U.S. House 5 Virginia Foxx Republican 0%
Barney Frank 94%
AZ U.S. House 8 Trent Franks Republican 0%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 49%
William Frist 23%
Elton Gallegly 0%
NJ U.S. House 5 Scott Garrett Republican 17%
PA U.S. House 6 Jim Gerlach Republican 45%
Jim Gibbons 20%
Wayne Gilchrest 53%
Paul Gillmor 34%
GA U.S. House 11 Phil Gingrey Republican 0%
TX U.S. House 1 Louie Gohmert Republican 26%
Charlie Gonzalez 78%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 12%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 12%
Bart Gordon 53%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 23%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 36%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 23%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 0%
TX U.S. House 9 Al Green Democratic 87%
Mark Green 37%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 64%
Judd Gregg 39%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top