or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Journal

2004 Liberal on Foreign Policy Score

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 91%
Gary Ackerman 71%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 4%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 99%
Todd Akin 4%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 40%
Rodney Alexander 51%
Wayne Allard 0%
George Allen 0%
Thomas Allen 81%
Rob Andrews 62%
Joe Baca, Sr. 78%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 25%
Brian Baird 67%
Richard Hugh Baker 17%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 89%
J. Gresham Barrett 10%
Roscoe Bartlett 39%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 15%
Charlie Bass 47%
Max Baucus 60%
Evan Bayh 53%
Bob Beauprez 25%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 88%
Bob Bennett 0%
Shelley Berkley 68%
Howard Berman 75%
Marion Berry 68%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 69%
Judy Biggert 55%
Michael Bilirakis 10%
Jeff Bingaman 84%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 22%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 57%
NY U.S. House 1 Tim Bishop Democratic 62%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 10%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 93%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 14%
Sherwood Boehlert 47%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 0%
Kit Bond 0%
Henry Bonilla 10%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 0%
Mary Bono Mack 50%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 34%
Leonard Boswell 53%
Rick Boucher 59%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 82%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 44%
NH State Senate 3 Jeb Bradley Republican 39%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 10%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 77%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 72%
Henry Brown, Jr. 10%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 81%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 0%
Ginny Brown-Waite 17%
Jim Bunning 0%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 23%
Conrad Burns 0%
Dan Burton 34%
Steve Buyer 9%
Robert Byrd 61%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 25%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 39%
Chris Cannon 0%
Eric Cantor 0%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 71%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 25%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 89%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 83%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 62%
Dennis Cardoza 71%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 64%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 10%
Edward Case 58%
Mike Castle 45%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 17%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 43%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 0%
Ben Chandler III 52%
Chris Chocola 4%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 84%
Hillary Clinton 58%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 74%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 41%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 0%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 25%
Norm Coleman 33%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 43%
Kent Conrad 71%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 97%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 70%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 33%
Jon Corzine 93%
Jerry Costello 67%
Christopher Cox 7%
Larry Craig 0%
Robert Cramer 54%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 0%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 10%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 73%
Barbara Cubin 41%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 0%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 90%
Randall Cunningham 33%
Artur Davis 66%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 89%
James Davis 62%
Jo Ann Davis 22%
Lincoln Davis 53%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 72%
Thomas Davis III 37%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 86%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 16%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 65%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 89%
Bill Delahunt 96%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 87%
Thomas DeLay 0%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 47%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 38%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 17%
Norm Dicks 78%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 71%
Chris Dodd 74%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 80%
Elizabeth Dole 0%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 0%
John Doolittle 4%
Byron Dorgan 75%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 74%
David Dreier 45%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 39%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 95%
Chet Edwards 57%
Vern Ehlers 53%
IL Mayor At-Large Rahm Emanuel Democratic 85%
Jo Ann Emerson 51%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 64%
Philip English 39%
John Ensign 33%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 0%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 79%
Bob Etheridge 53%
Lane Evans 87%
Terry Everett 25%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 90%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 86%
Tom Feeney 4%
Russ Feingold 86%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 61%
Michael Ferguson 34%
Bob Filner 96%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 47%
Mark Foley 25%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 17%
Harold Ford, Jr. 70%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 8%
Barney Frank 91%
AZ U.S. House 8 Trent Franks Republican 7%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 34%
William Frist 0%
Elton Gallegly 39%
NJ U.S. House 5 Scott Garrett Republican 4%
PA U.S. House 6 Jim Gerlach Republican 25%
Jim Gibbons 10%
Wayne Gilchrest 45%
Paul Gillmor 25%
GA U.S. House 11 Phil Gingrey Republican 10%
Charlie Gonzalez 70%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 34%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 17%
Bart Gordon 64%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 43%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 32%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 33%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 47%
Mark Green 34%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 59%
Judd Gregg 33%
AZ U.S. House 3 Raúl Grijalva Democratic 98%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 88%
Gilbert Gutknecht 34%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 47%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 39%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 86%
Jane Harman 73%
Katherine Harris 25%
Melissa Hart 0%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 74%
WA U.S. House 4 Doc Hastings Republican 0%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 0%
Robert Hayes 34%
J.D. Hayworth, Jr. 23%
Joel Hefley 32%
TX U.S. House 5 Jeb Hensarling Republican 0%
Wally Herger, Jr. 25%
Stephanie Herseth Sandlin 60%
Maurice Hinchey 93%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top