or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Journal

2004 Liberal on Social Policy Score

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 88%
Gary Ackerman 85%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 0%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 82%
Todd Akin 0%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 19%
Rodney Alexander 44%
Wayne Allard 0%
George Allen 19%
Thomas Allen 73%
Rob Andrews 78%
Joe Baca, Sr. 68%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 20%
Brian Baird 70%
Richard Hugh Baker 20%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 88%
J. Gresham Barrett 0%
Roscoe Bartlett 39%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 31%
Charlie Bass 53%
Max Baucus 56%
Evan Bayh 70%
Bob Beauprez 31%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 84%
Bob Bennett 34%
Shelley Berkley 78%
Howard Berman 83%
Marion Berry 52%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 69%
Judy Biggert 57%
Michael Bilirakis 9%
Jeff Bingaman 65%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 17%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 61%
NY U.S. House 1 Tim Bishop Democratic 70%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 0%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 88%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 36%
Sherwood Boehlert 55%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 33%
Kit Bond 31%
Henry Bonilla 25%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 24%
Mary Bono Mack 56%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 0%
Leonard Boswell 62%
Rick Boucher 57%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 82%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 52%
NH State Senate 3 Jeb Bradley Republican 40%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 17%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 86%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 72%
Henry Brown, Jr. 17%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 85%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 19%
Ginny Brown-Waite 15%
Jim Bunning 0%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 9%
Conrad Burns 0%
Dan Burton 0%
Steve Buyer 17%
Robert Byrd 67%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 31%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 9%
Chris Cannon 34%
Eric Cantor 20%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 77%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 40%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 86%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 88%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 73%
Dennis Cardoza 59%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 70%
Julia Carson 81%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 9%
Edward Case 64%
Mike Castle 57%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 9%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 60%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 0%
Ben Chandler III 51%
Chris Chocola 20%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 88%
Hillary Clinton 82%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 66%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 0%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 19%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 30%
Norm Coleman 34%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 49%
Kent Conrad 64%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 88%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 60%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 0%
Jon Corzine 82%
Jerry Costello 53%
Christopher Cox 31%
Larry Craig 0%
Robert Cramer 48%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 0%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 17%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 76%
Barbara Cubin 15%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 0%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 78%
Randall Cunningham 9%
Artur Davis 64%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 88%
James Davis 73%
Jo Ann Davis 9%
Lincoln Davis 46%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 78%
Thomas Davis III 51%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 70%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 0%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 62%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 88%
Bill Delahunt 82%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 86%
Thomas DeLay 9%
James DeMint 0%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 49%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 47%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 47%
Norm Dicks 72%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 69%
Chris Dodd 77%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 77%
Elizabeth Dole 16%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 30%
John Doolittle 0%
Byron Dorgan 59%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 63%
David Dreier 42%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 31%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 82%
Chet Edwards 53%
Vern Ehlers 49%
IL Mayor At-Large Rahm Emanuel Democratic 78%
Jo Ann Emerson 25%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 77%
Philip English 47%
John Ensign 19%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 0%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 86%
Bob Etheridge 62%
Lane Evans 78%
Terry Everett 0%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 88%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 88%
Tom Feeney 0%
Russ Feingold 67%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 82%
Michael Ferguson 44%
Bob Filner 88%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 36%
Mark Foley 52%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 24%
Harold Ford, Jr. 62%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 43%
Barney Frank 88%
AZ U.S. House 8 Trent Franks Republican 0%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 52%
William Frist 31%
Elton Gallegly 9%
NJ U.S. House 5 Scott Garrett Republican 17%
PA U.S. House 6 Jim Gerlach Republican 50%
Jim Gibbons 27%
Wayne Gilchrest 56%
Paul Gillmor 25%
GA U.S. House 11 Phil Gingrey Republican 9%
Charlie Gonzalez 78%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 0%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 0%
Bart Gordon 54%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 0%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 34%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 19%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 24%
Mark Green 20%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 65%
Judd Gregg 41%
AZ U.S. House 3 Raúl Grijalva Democratic 88%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 88%
Gilbert Gutknecht 0%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 38%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 30%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 81%
Jane Harman 71%
Katherine Harris 28%
Melissa Hart 36%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 88%
WA U.S. House 4 Doc Hastings Republican 31%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 0%
Robert Hayes 0%
J.D. Hayworth, Jr. 15%
Joel Hefley 0%
TX U.S. House 5 Jeb Hensarling Republican 28%
Wally Herger, Jr. 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top