or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Journal

2004 Conservative on Social Policy Score

State Office District Name Party Rating
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 91%
Todd Akin 91%
J. Gresham Barrett 91%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 91%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 91%
Dan Burton 91%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 91%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 91%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 91%
John Doolittle 91%
Terry Everett 91%
Tom Feeney 91%
AZ U.S. House 8 Trent Franks Republican 91%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 91%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 91%
Gilbert Gutknecht 91%
Robert Hayes 91%
Joel Hefley 91%
Wally Herger, Jr. 91%
Duncan Hunter 91%
Ernest Istook, Jr. 91%
NC U.S. House 3 Walter Jones, Jr. Republican 91%
IA U.S. House 4 Steve King Republican 91%
GA U.S. House 1 Jack Kingston Republican 91%
Don Manzullo 91%
Thaddeus McCotter 91%
CA U.S. House 31 Gary Miller Republican 91%
FL U.S. House 1 Jefferson Miller Republican 91%
Marilyn Musgrave 91%
Sue Myrick 91%
Charles Norwood, Jr. 91%
IN Governor Mike Pence Republican 91%
PA U.S. House 16 Joe Pitts Republican 91%
CA U.S. House 39 Ed Royce Republican 91%
PA U.S. House 9 Bill Shuster Republican 91%
Cliff Stearns 91%
Michael Bilirakis 85%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 85%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 85%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 85%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 85%
Randall Cunningham 85%
Jo Ann Davis 85%
Thomas DeLay 85%
Elton Gallegly 85%
GA U.S. House 11 Phil Gingrey Republican 85%
Pete Hoekstra 85%
Ric Keller 85%
MN U.S. House 2 John Kline Republican 85%
MI U.S. House 10 Candice Miller Republican 85%
TX U.S. House 19 Randy Neugebauer Republican 85%
Richard Pombo 85%
Denny Rehberg 85%
Jim Ryun 85%
TX U.S. House 32 Pete Sessions Republican 85%
John Shadegg 85%
TX U.S. House 21 Lamar Smith Republican 85%
Charles Taylor 85%
Zach Wamp 85%
MS U.S. Senate Jr Roger Wicker Republican 85%
Wayne Allard 84%
Ginny Brown-Waite 84%
Jim Bunning 84%
Conrad Burns 84%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 84%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 84%
Larry Craig 84%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 84%
Barbara Cubin 84%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 84%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 84%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 84%
J.D. Hayworth, Jr. 84%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 84%
TX U.S. House 3 Sam Johnson Republican 84%
Jon Kyl 84%
Trent Lott, Sr. 84%
James Talent 84%
Craig Thomas 84%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 83%
Steve Buyer 83%
John Linder 83%
David Weldon 83%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 81%
Henry Brown, Jr. 81%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 81%
Elizabeth Dole 81%
NJ U.S. House 5 Scott Garrett Republican 81%
Ron Lewis 81%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 81%
AL U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Sessions III Republican 81%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 81%
Tom Tancredo 81%
KY U.S. House 1 Ed Whitfield Republican 81%
Richard Hugh Baker 80%
FL Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer Services Adam Putnam Republican 80%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 80%
John Sullivan 80%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 77%
Eric Cantor 77%
Chris Chocola 77%
Mark Green 77%
John Nathan Hostettler 77%
William Lewis Jenkins 77%
James McCrery III 77%
George Radanovich 77%
MI U.S. House 8 Mike Rogers Republican 77%
WI U.S. House 1 Paul Ryan Republican 77%
Gene Taylor 77%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 77%
Todd Tiahrt 77%
SC U.S. House 2 Joe Wilson, Sr. Republican 77%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 76%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 76%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 76%
OK U.S. House 3 Frank Lucas Republican 76%
Henry Bonilla 73%
Jo Ann Emerson 73%
Paul Gillmor 73%
CA U.S. House 49 Darrell Issa Republican 73%
FL U.S. House 7 John Mica Republican 73%
KS U.S. Senate Jr Jerry Moran Republican 73%
PA U.S. House 18 Tim Murphy Republican 73%
Charles Pickering, Jr. 73%
AL U.S. House 3 Mike Rogers Republican 73%
IL U.S. House 15 John Shimkus Republican 73%
Mark Souder 73%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 73%
Jim Gibbons 72%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 71%
George Allen 71%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 71%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 71%
John Ensign 71%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 71%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 71%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 71%
Rick Santorum 71%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 70%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 70%
Katherine Harris 70%
TX U.S. House 5 Jeb Hensarling Republican 70%
Kenny Hulshof 70%
Mark Kennedy 70%
CA U.S. House 25 Buck McKeon Republican 70%
John Peterson 70%
Richard Renzi 70%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 69%
AK U.S. House At-Large Don Young Republican 69%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 67%
Bob Beauprez 67%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 67%
Christopher Cox 67%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 67%
WA U.S. House 4 Doc Hastings Republican 67%
Jerry Lewis 67%
CA U.S. House 22 Devin Nunes Republican 67%
Ralph Regula 67%
Thomas Reynolds 67%
OH U.S. House 12 Pat Tiberi Republican 67%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 66%
Kit Bond 66%
William Frist 66%
Donald Sherwood 66%
John Sununu 66%
Chris Cannon 65%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 65%
Henry Hyde 65%
Todd Platts 65%
OH U.S. House 10 Mike Turner Republican 65%
Bill Young 65%
Anne Northup 64%
Bob Bennett 63%
Norm Coleman 63%
Ted Stevens 63%
AK U.S. Senate Sr Lisa Murkowski Republican 62%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 61%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 61%
Melissa Hart 61%
IA U.S. House 3 Tom Latham Republican 61%
John McHugh 61%
James Nussle 61%
Thomas William Osborne 61%
ID Governor Butch Otter Republican 61%
Michael Oxley 61%
NM U.S. House 2 Steve Pearce Republican 61%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 61%
CA U.S. House 48 Dana Rohrabacher Republican 61%
OR U.S. House 2 Greg Walden Republican 61%
Roscoe Bartlett 60%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 60%
Kay Hutchison 60%
Joseph Knollenberg 60%
Robert William Ney 60%
WI U.S. House 6 Tom Petri Republican 60%
James Ramstad 60%
NH State Senate 3 Jeb Bradley Republican 59%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 59%
E. Clay Shaw, Jr. 59%
William Thomas 59%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top