or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Journal

2004 Conservative on Social Policy Score

Issues: Conservative , Social
State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 0%
Gary Ackerman 14%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 91%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 0%
Todd Akin 91%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 71%
Rodney Alexander 55%
Wayne Allard 84%
George Allen 71%
Thomas Allen 25%
Rob Andrews 22%
Joe Baca, Sr. 31%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 77%
Brian Baird 30%
Richard Hugh Baker 80%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 0%
J. Gresham Barrett 91%
Roscoe Bartlett 60%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 67%
Charlie Bass 47%
Max Baucus 42%
Evan Bayh 26%
Bob Beauprez 67%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 15%
Bob Bennett 63%
Shelley Berkley 19%
Howard Berman 16%
Marion Berry 48%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 30%
Judy Biggert 43%
Michael Bilirakis 85%
Jeff Bingaman 34%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 81%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 39%
NY U.S. House 1 Tim Bishop Democratic 29%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 91%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 0%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 61%
Sherwood Boehlert 45%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 66%
Kit Bond 66%
Henry Bonilla 73%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 76%
Mary Bono Mack 44%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 91%
Leonard Boswell 37%
Rick Boucher 43%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 0%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 48%
NH State Senate 3 Jeb Bradley Republican 59%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 83%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 12%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 28%
Henry Brown, Jr. 81%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 15%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 71%
Ginny Brown-Waite 84%
Jim Bunning 84%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 85%
Conrad Burns 84%
Dan Burton 91%
Steve Buyer 83%
Robert Byrd 31%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 67%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 85%
Chris Cannon 65%
Eric Cantor 77%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 19%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 59%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 12%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 0%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 27%
Dennis Cardoza 41%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 26%
Julia Carson 19%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 85%
Edward Case 35%
Mike Castle 42%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 85%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 39%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 84%
Ben Chandler III 49%
Chris Chocola 77%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 0%
Hillary Clinton 0%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 33%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 91%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 71%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 70%
Norm Coleman 63%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 49%
Kent Conrad 35%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 0%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 39%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 84%
Jon Corzine 0%
Jerry Costello 46%
Christopher Cox 67%
Larry Craig 84%
Robert Cramer 51%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 84%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 81%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 24%
Barbara Cubin 84%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 91%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 19%
Randall Cunningham 85%
Artur Davis 35%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 0%
James Davis 25%
Jo Ann Davis 85%
Lincoln Davis 53%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 19%
Thomas Davis III 48%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 26%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 91%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 38%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 0%
Bill Delahunt 17%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 12%
Thomas DeLay 85%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 49%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 53%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 53%
Norm Dicks 27%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 30%
Chris Dodd 19%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 23%
Elizabeth Dole 81%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 69%
John Doolittle 91%
Byron Dorgan 40%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 36%
David Dreier 57%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 67%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 0%
Chet Edwards 46%
Vern Ehlers 50%
IL Mayor At-Large Rahm Emanuel Democratic 22%
Jo Ann Emerson 73%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 22%
Philip English 52%
John Ensign 71%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 84%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 12%
Bob Etheridge 37%
Lane Evans 19%
Terry Everett 91%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 0%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 0%
Tom Feeney 91%
Russ Feingold 31%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 0%
Michael Ferguson 55%
Bob Filner 0%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 61%
Mark Foley 47%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 76%
Harold Ford, Jr. 38%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 57%
Barney Frank 0%
AZ U.S. House 8 Trent Franks Republican 91%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 48%
William Frist 66%
Elton Gallegly 85%
NJ U.S. House 5 Scott Garrett Republican 81%
PA U.S. House 6 Jim Gerlach Republican 50%
Jim Gibbons 72%
Wayne Gilchrest 44%
Paul Gillmor 73%
GA U.S. House 11 Phil Gingrey Republican 85%
Charlie Gonzalez 19%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 91%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 91%
Bart Gordon 46%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 84%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 65%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 71%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 76%
Mark Green 77%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 35%
Judd Gregg 58%
AZ U.S. House 3 Raúl Grijalva Democratic 0%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 0%
Gilbert Gutknecht 91%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 60%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 70%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 18%
Jane Harman 29%
Katherine Harris 70%
Melissa Hart 61%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 0%
WA U.S. House 4 Doc Hastings Republican 67%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 84%
Robert Hayes 91%
J.D. Hayworth, Jr. 84%
Joel Hefley 91%
TX U.S. House 5 Jeb Hensarling Republican 70%
Wally Herger, Jr. 91%
Stephanie Herseth Sandlin 45%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top