or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Journal

2004 Conservative on Economic Policy Score

Issues: Conservative
State Office District Name Party Rating
Craig Thomas 98%
Wayne Allard 96%
Jon Kyl 96%
Todd Akin 95%
J. Gresham Barrett 95%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 95%
Chris Cannon 95%
Christopher Cox 95%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 95%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 95%
Tom Feeney 95%
AZ U.S. House 8 Trent Franks Republican 95%
TX U.S. House 5 Jeb Hensarling Republican 95%
Wally Herger, Jr. 95%
GA U.S. House 1 Jack Kingston Republican 95%
FL U.S. House 1 Jefferson Miller Republican 95%
Charles Norwood, Jr. 95%
IN Governor Mike Pence Republican 95%
John Shadegg 95%
John Sullivan 95%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 95%
SC U.S. House 2 Joe Wilson, Sr. Republican 95%
VA U.S. House 7 Eric Cantor Republican 93%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 93%
Barbara Cubin 93%
Thomas DeLay 93%
Katherine Harris 93%
Ric Keller 93%
CA U.S. House 25 Buck McKeon Republican 93%
Sue Myrick 93%
FL Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer Services Adam Putnam Republican 93%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 92%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 92%
CA U.S. House 31 Gary Miller Republican 92%
Richard Pombo 92%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 91%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 91%
Conrad Burns 91%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 91%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 91%
WA U.S. House 4 Doc Hastings Republican 91%
John Sununu 90%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 89%
Bob Beauprez 88%
Chris Chocola 88%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 88%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 88%
J.D. Hayworth, Jr. 88%
IA U.S. House 4 Steve King Republican 88%
Marilyn Musgrave 88%
CA U.S. House 22 Devin Nunes Republican 88%
Michael Oxley 88%
PA U.S. House 16 Joe Pitts Republican 88%
George Radanovich 88%
TX U.S. House 21 Lamar Smith Republican 88%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 87%
Tom Tancredo 87%
Dan Burton 85%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 85%
MN U.S. House 2 John Kline Republican 85%
FL U.S. House 7 John Mica Republican 85%
NM U.S. House 2 Steve Pearce Republican 85%
TX U.S. House 32 Pete Sessions Republican 85%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 84%
Jim Bunning 84%
Larry Craig 84%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 84%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 84%
GA U.S. House 11 Phil Gingrey Republican 84%
CA U.S. House 49 Darrell Issa Republican 84%
Ernest Istook, Jr. 84%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 84%
ID Governor Butch Otter Republican 84%
Jim Ryun 84%
AL U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Sessions III Republican 84%
David Weldon 84%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 83%
Pete Hoekstra 83%
John Linder 83%
Todd Tiahrt 83%
AK U.S. House At-Large Don Young Republican 83%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 82%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 80%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 80%
Henry Brown, Jr. 80%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 80%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 80%
John Doolittle 80%
David Dreier 80%
David Lee Hobson 80%
Ralph Regula 80%
Denny Rehberg 80%
E. Clay Shaw, Jr. 80%
Cliff Stearns 80%
Joseph Knollenberg 79%
Jerry Lewis 79%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 79%
William Thomas 79%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 78%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 78%
William Frist 78%
Elton Gallegly 78%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 78%
OK U.S. House 3 Frank Lucas Republican 78%
James McCrery III 78%
Donald Sherwood 78%
Ted Stevens 78%
Judd Gregg 77%
MS U.S. Senate Jr Roger Wicker Republican 77%
Bob Bennett 76%
Mark Kennedy 76%
James Kolbe 76%
TX U.S. House 19 Randy Neugebauer Republican 76%
ID U.S. House 2 Mike Simpson Republican 76%
Zach Wamp 76%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 75%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 75%
Steve Buyer 75%
Thomas Davis III 75%
NJ U.S. House 5 Scott Garrett Republican 75%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 75%
Rick Santorum 75%
PA U.S. House 9 Bill Shuster Republican 75%
Terry Everett 74%
Charles Pickering, Jr. 74%
AL U.S. House 3 Mike Rogers Republican 74%
WI U.S. House 1 Paul Ryan Republican 74%
Randall Cunningham 73%
Kay Hutchison 73%
Thomas Reynolds 73%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 72%
Richard Hugh Baker 72%
Kenny Hulshof 72%
TX U.S. House 3 Sam Johnson Republican 72%
Deborah Pryce 72%
OH U.S. House 12 Pat Tiberi Republican 72%
Gerald Weller 72%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 71%
Roscoe Bartlett 70%
Henry Bonilla 70%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 70%
Gilbert Gutknecht 70%
Melissa Hart 70%
Don Manzullo 70%
NE U.S. House 2 Lee Terry Republican 70%
OR U.S. House 2 Greg Walden Republican 70%
John Ensign 69%
Jim Gibbons 69%
Duncan Hunter 69%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 69%
Ron Lewis 68%
Jon Porter, Sr. 68%
Charles Taylor 68%
Ginny Brown-Waite 67%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 67%
Mark Souder 67%
George Allen 65%
Judy Biggert 65%
Kit Bond 65%
Mary Bono Mack 65%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 65%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 65%
Mark Foley 65%
Trent Lott, Sr. 65%
Thomas William Osborne 65%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 65%
FL U.S. House 27 Ileana Ros-Lehtinen Republican 65%
OH U.S. House 10 Mike Turner Republican 65%
Paul Gillmor 64%
John Nathan Hostettler 64%
Dick Lugar 64%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 64%
Bill Young 64%
Robert William Ney 63%
John Warner 63%
Michael Bilirakis 62%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 62%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 62%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 62%
Robert Hayes 62%
IA U.S. House 3 Tom Latham Republican 62%
Anne Northup 62%
James Nussle 62%
MI U.S. House 8 Mike Rogers Republican 62%
Mark Green 61%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 61%
KS U.S. Senate Jr Jerry Moran Republican 61%
John Peterson 61%
George Voinovich 61%
Joel Hefley 60%
William Lewis Jenkins 60%
KY U.S. House 1 Ed Whitfield Republican 60%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 59%
MI U.S. House 10 Candice Miller Republican 59%
PA U.S. House 18 Tim Murphy Republican 59%
Richard Renzi 59%
CA U.S. House 39 Ed Royce Republican 59%
Elizabeth Dole 58%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 58%
Henry Hyde 58%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top