or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Journal

2004 Conservative on Economic Policy Score

Issues: Conservative
State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 25%
Gary Ackerman 16%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 72%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 7%
Todd Akin 95%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 91%
Rodney Alexander 50%
Wayne Allard 96%
George Allen 65%
Thomas Allen 31%
Rob Andrews 14%
Joe Baca, Sr. 22%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 80%
Brian Baird 31%
Richard Hugh Baker 72%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 13%
J. Gresham Barrett 95%
Roscoe Bartlett 70%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 84%
Charlie Bass 53%
Max Baucus 45%
Evan Bayh 39%
Bob Beauprez 88%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 2%
Bob Bennett 76%
Shelley Berkley 32%
Howard Berman 12%
Marion Berry 42%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 0%
Judy Biggert 65%
Michael Bilirakis 62%
Jeff Bingaman 13%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 75%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 46%
NY U.S. House 1 Tim Bishop Democratic 27%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 75%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 21%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 92%
Sherwood Boehlert 49%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 92%
Kit Bond 65%
Henry Bonilla 70%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 87%
Mary Bono Mack 65%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 80%
Leonard Boswell 42%
Rick Boucher 42%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 24%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 47%
NH State Senate 3 Jeb Bradley Republican 55%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 95%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 0%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 21%
Henry Brown, Jr. 80%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 8%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 91%
Ginny Brown-Waite 67%
Jim Bunning 84%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 80%
Conrad Burns 91%
Dan Burton 85%
Steve Buyer 75%
Robert Byrd 0%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 78%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 59%
Chris Cannon 95%
VA U.S. House 7 Eric Cantor Republican 93%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 39%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 50%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 8%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 8%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 18%
Dennis Cardoza 41%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 10%
Julia Carson 8%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 93%
Edward Case 38%
Mike Castle 49%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 65%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 47%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 89%
Ben Chandler III 30%
Chris Chocola 88%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 20%
Hillary Clinton 36%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 29%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 65%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 78%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 88%
Norm Coleman 55%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 52%
Kent Conrad 38%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 5%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 40%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 91%
Jon Corzine 13%
Jerry Costello 38%
Christopher Cox 95%
Larry Craig 84%
Robert Cramer 49%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 84%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 80%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 30%
Barbara Cubin 93%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 91%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 7%
Randall Cunningham 73%
Artur Davis 40%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 19%
James Davis 31%
Jo Ann Davis 56%
Lincoln Davis 45%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 24%
Thomas Davis III 75%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 28%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 95%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 24%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 16%
Bill Delahunt 6%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 8%
Thomas DeLay 93%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 53%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 62%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 88%
Norm Dicks 35%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 17%
Chris Dodd 13%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 20%
Elizabeth Dole 58%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 83%
John Doolittle 80%
Byron Dorgan 21%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 22%
David Dreier 80%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 56%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 7%
Chet Edwards 44%
Vern Ehlers 56%
IL Mayor At-Large Rahm Emanuel Democratic 8%
Jo Ann Emerson 52%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 20%
Philip English 52%
John Ensign 69%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 95%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 13%
Bob Etheridge 36%
Lane Evans 24%
Terry Everett 74%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 8%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 0%
Tom Feeney 95%
Russ Feingold 7%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 31%
Michael Ferguson 53%
Bob Filner 26%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 67%
Mark Foley 65%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 84%
Harold Ford, Jr. 38%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 55%
Barney Frank 11%
AZ U.S. House 8 Trent Franks Republican 95%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 62%
William Frist 78%
Elton Gallegly 78%
NJ U.S. House 5 Scott Garrett Republican 75%
PA U.S. House 6 Jim Gerlach Republican 55%
Jim Gibbons 69%
Wayne Gilchrest 52%
Paul Gillmor 64%
GA U.S. House 11 Phil Gingrey Republican 84%
Charlie Gonzalez 38%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 56%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 85%
Bart Gordon 43%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 58%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 71%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 70%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 75%
Mark Green 61%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 33%
Judd Gregg 77%
AZ U.S. House 3 Raúl Grijalva Democratic 3%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 0%
Gilbert Gutknecht 70%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 62%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 61%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 13%
Jane Harman 33%
Katherine Harris 93%
Melissa Hart 70%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 8%
WA U.S. House 4 Doc Hastings Republican 91%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 78%
Robert Hayes 62%
J.D. Hayworth, Jr. 88%
Joel Hefley 60%
TX U.S. House 5 Jeb Hensarling Republican 95%
Wally Herger, Jr. 95%
Stephanie Herseth Sandlin 40%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top