or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Journal

2003 Liberal on Economic Policy Score

Issues: Liberal
State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 70%
Gary Ackerman 91%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 0%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 68%
Todd Akin 31%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 18%
Rodney Alexander 55%
Wayne Allard 18%
George Allen 0%
Thomas Allen 79%
Rob Andrews 75%
Joe Baca, Sr. 61%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 0%
Brian Baird 71%
Richard Hugh Baker 17%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 87%
Frank Ballance, Jr. 83%
Cass Ballenger 9%
J. Gresham Barrett 29%
Roscoe Bartlett 39%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 21%
Charlie Bass 39%
Max Baucus 54%
Evan Bayh 59%
Bob Beauprez 0%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 92%
Chris Bell 57%
Bob Bennett 0%
Douglas Bereuter 46%
Shelley Berkley 69%
Howard Berman 92%
Marion Berry 59%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 82%
Judy Biggert 27%
Michael Bilirakis 41%
Jeff Bingaman 70%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 0%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 59%
NY U.S. House 1 Tim Bishop Democratic 77%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 9%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 79%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 0%
Sherwood Boehlert 52%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 0%
Kit Bond 24%
Henry Bonilla 29%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 9%
Mary Bono Mack 36%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 9%
Leonard Boswell 61%
Rick Boucher 58%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 82%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 57%
NH State Senate 3 Jeb Bradley Republican 39%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 0%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 69%
John Breaux 53%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 79%
Henry Brown, Jr. 21%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 87%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 18%
Ginny Brown-Waite 17%
Jim Bunning 0%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 31%
Conrad Burns 0%
Max Burns 27%
Dan Burton 45%
Steve Buyer 39%
Robert Byrd 74%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 9%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 26%
Ben Campbell 45%
Chris Cannon 0%
VA U.S. House 7 Eric Cantor Republican 0%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 82%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 41%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 87%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 85%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 87%
Dennis Cardoza 60%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 56%
Brad Carson 55%
Julia Carson 75%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 21%
Edward Case 64%
Mike Castle 52%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 27%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 52%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 0%
Chris Chocola 9%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 83%
Hillary Clinton 90%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 76%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 41%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 0%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 0%
Norm Coleman 40%
Michael Collins 33%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 48%
Kent Conrad 61%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 84%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 63%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 0%
Jon Corzine 70%
Jerry Costello 63%
Christopher Cox 17%
Larry Craig 0%
Robert Cramer 51%
Philip Crane 0%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 0%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 9%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 66%
Barbara Cubin 0%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 41%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 77%
Randall Cunningham 27%
Thomas Daschle 82%
Artur Davis 60%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 83%
James Davis 76%
Jo Ann Davis 33%
Lincoln Davis 56%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 87%
Thomas Davis III 36%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 75%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 0%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 92%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 85%
Bill Delahunt 92%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 87%
Thomas DeLay 0%
Peter Deutsch 71%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 38%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 33%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 0%
Norm Dicks 66%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 79%
Chris Dodd 68%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 86%
Elizabeth Dole 29%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 27%
Calvin Dooley 54%
John Doolittle 36%
Byron Dorgan 63%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 61%
David Dreier 21%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 41%
Jennifer Dunn 0%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 93%
John Edwards 93%
Chet Edwards 56%
Vern Ehlers 41%
IL Mayor At-Large Rahm Emanuel Democratic 77%
Jo Ann Emerson 37%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 92%
Philip English 44%
John Ensign 29%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 18%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 92%
Bob Etheridge 74%
Lane Evans 81%
Terry Everett 19%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 83%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 91%
Tom Feeney 27%
Russ Feingold 90%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 60%
Michael Ferguson 41%
Bob Filner 92%
Peter Fitzgerald 42%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 51%
Mark Foley 27%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 9%
Harold Ford, Jr. 68%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 30%
Barney Frank 92%
AZ U.S. House 8 Trent Franks Republican 9%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 44%
William Frist 0%
Jonas Frost III 62%
Elton Gallegly 19%
NJ U.S. House 5 Scott Garrett Republican 33%
PA U.S. House 6 Jim Gerlach Republican 44%
Jim Gibbons 17%
Wayne Gilchrest 46%
Paul Gillmor 29%
GA U.S. House 11 Phil Gingrey Republican 9%
Charlie Gonzalez 62%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 31%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 20%
Bart Gordon 57%
Porter Goss 17%
Daniel Graham 93%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 33%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 27%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 0%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 17%
Mark Green 41%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 61%
James Greenwood 31%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top