or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Journal

2002 Composite Liberal Score

Issues: Liberal
State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 81%
Gary Ackerman 78%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 25%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 84%
Todd Akin 8%
Wayne Allard 15%
George Allen 27%
Thomas Allen 77%
Rob Andrews 67%
Joe Baca, Sr. 73%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 17%
Brian Baird 73%
Richard Hugh Baker 13%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 94%
Cass Ballenger 19%
Roscoe Bartlett 32%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 17%
Charlie Bass 42%
Max Baucus 58%
Evan Bayh 59%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 92%
Bob Bennett 17%
Douglas Bereuter 41%
Shelley Berkley 68%
Howard Berman 84%
Marion Berry 57%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 75%
Judy Biggert 35%
Michael Bilirakis 19%
Jeff Bingaman 77%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 58%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 85%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 8%
Sherwood Boehlert 48%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 27%
Kit Bond 23%
Henry Bonilla 14%
Mary Bono Mack 44%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 20%
Leonard Boswell 60%
Rick Boucher 67%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 93%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 53%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 14%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 83%
John Breaux 50%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 83%
Henry Brown, Jr. 21%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 85%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 18%
Jim Bunning 23%
Conrad Burns 24%
Dan Burton 30%
Steve Buyer 27%
Robert Byrd 63%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 16%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 14%
Ben Campbell 31%
Chris Cannon 25%
Eric Cantor 10%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 76%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 44%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 72%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 85%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 70%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 65%
Brad Carson 55%
Julia Carson 88%
Mike Castle 45%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 16%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 50%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 83%
Hillary Clinton 87%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 92%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 30%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 20%
Michael Collins 21%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 47%
Larry Combest 19%
Kent Conrad 76%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 98%
Jon Corzine 87%
Jerry Costello 56%
Christopher Cox 33%
Larry Craig 17%
Robert Cramer 51%
Philip Crane 14%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 24%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 8%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 70%
Barbara Cubin 11%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 8%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 78%
Randall Cunningham 22%
Thomas Daschle 69%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 89%
James Davis 61%
Jo Ann Davis 23%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 73%
Thomas Davis III 31%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 87%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 17%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 76%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 95%
Bill Delahunt 85%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 85%
Thomas DeLay 12%
Peter Deutsch 66%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 35%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 37%
Norm Dicks 71%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 78%
Chris Dodd 81%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 86%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 20%
Calvin Dooley 63%
John Doolittle 17%
Byron Dorgan 64%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 69%
David Dreier 40%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 27%
Jennifer Dunn 32%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 91%
John Edwards 63%
Chet Edwards 59%
Vern Ehlers 40%
Jo Ann Emerson 34%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 73%
Philip English 29%
John Ensign 26%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 17%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 79%
Bob Etheridge 62%
Lane Evans 90%
Terry Everett 18%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 89%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 91%
Russ Feingold 85%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 73%
Michael Ferguson 40%
Bob Filner 97%
Peter Fitzgerald 33%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 42%
Mark Foley 35%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 17%
Harold Ford, Jr. 64%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 30%
Barney Frank 86%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 44%
William Frist 13%
Jonas Frost III 75%
Elton Gallegly 29%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 76%
Jim Gibbons 24%
Wayne Gilchrest 49%
Paul Gillmor 28%
Charlie Gonzalez 82%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 31%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 15%
Bart Gordon 56%
Porter Goss 29%
Daniel Graham 62%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 15%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 21%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 20%
Mark Green 28%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 70%
James Greenwood 45%
Judd Gregg 29%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 82%
Gilbert Gutknecht 38%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 17%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 38%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 83%
Jane Harman 59%
Melissa Hart 18%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 89%
WA U.S. House 4 Doc Hastings Republican 12%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 24%
Robert Hayes 21%
J.D. Hayworth, Jr. 8%
Joel Hefley 17%
Wally Herger, Jr. 18%
Baron Hill 62%
Maurice Hinchey 91%
TX U.S. House 15 Rubén Hinojosa, Sr. Democratic 66%
David Lee Hobson 27%
PA Commissioner At-Large Joseph Hoeffel 76%
Pete Hoekstra 34%
Thomas Holden 52%
Ernest Hollings 62%
NJ U.S. House 12 Rush Holt, Jr. Democratic 75%
CA U.S. House 17 Mike Honda Democratic 96%
Darlene Hooley 70%
John Nathan Hostettler 43%
Amory Houghton, Jr. 53%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 75%
Kenny Hulshof 27%
Duncan Hunter 30%
Kay Hutchison 15%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top