or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Journal

2002 Conservative on Foreign Policy Score

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 10%
Gary Ackerman 35%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 72%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 7%
Todd Akin 85%
Wayne Allard 76%
George Allen 67%
Thomas Allen 23%
Rob Andrews 36%
Joe Baca, Sr. 26%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 85%
Brian Baird 26%
Richard Hugh Baker 85%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 0%
Cass Ballenger 85%
Roscoe Bartlett 53%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 66%
Charlie Bass 72%
Max Baucus 47%
Evan Bayh 38%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 0%
Bob Bennett 76%
Douglas Bereuter 72%
Shelley Berkley 35%
Howard Berman 31%
Marion Berry 39%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 30%
Judy Biggert 56%
Michael Bilirakis 85%
Jeff Bingaman 24%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 45%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 13%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 85%
Sherwood Boehlert 67%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 77%
Kit Bond 76%
Henry Bonilla 78%
Mary Bono Mack 56%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 60%
Leonard Boswell 36%
Rick Boucher 32%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 8%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 50%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 72%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 26%
John Breaux 52%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 17%
Henry Brown, Jr. 72%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 10%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 76%
Jim Bunning 67%
Conrad Burns 60%
Dan Burton 56%
Steve Buyer 60%
Robert Byrd 22%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 78%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 72%
Ben Campbell 53%
Chris Cannon 59%
Eric Cantor 85%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 36%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 56%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 14%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 14%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 25%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 38%
Brad Carson 48%
Julia Carson 10%
Mike Castle 67%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 78%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 49%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 13%
Hillary Clinton 27%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 10%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 72%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 76%
Michael Collins 72%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 54%
Larry Combest 60%
Kent Conrad 12%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 0%
Jon Corzine 6%
Jerry Costello 43%
Christopher Cox 65%
Larry Craig 67%
Robert Cramer 49%
Philip Crane 85%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 67%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 85%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 28%
Barbara Cubin 85%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 85%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 14%
Randall Cunningham 78%
Thomas Daschle 38%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 13%
James Davis 45%
Jo Ann Davis 72%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 29%
Thomas Davis III 77%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 11%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 85%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 19%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 8%
Bill Delahunt 10%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 19%
Thomas DeLay 78%
Peter Deutsch 42%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 67%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 60%
Norm Dicks 38%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 18%
Chris Dodd 15%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 0%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 76%
Calvin Dooley 42%
John Doolittle 85%
Byron Dorgan 24%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 26%
David Dreier 60%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 48%
Jennifer Dunn 78%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 0%
John Edwards 36%
Chet Edwards 41%
Vern Ehlers 46%
Jo Ann Emerson 60%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 32%
Philip English 67%
John Ensign 67%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 67%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 13%
Bob Etheridge 40%
Lane Evans 14%
Terry Everett 72%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 10%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 0%
Russ Feingold 12%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 33%
Michael Ferguson 67%
Bob Filner 0%
Peter Fitzgerald 61%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 49%
Mark Foley 78%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 85%
Harold Ford, Jr. 35%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 78%
Barney Frank 23%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 67%
William Frist 76%
Jonas Frost III 30%
Elton Gallegly 72%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 30%
Jim Gibbons 78%
Wayne Gilchrest 54%
Paul Gillmor 78%
Charlie Gonzalez 19%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 53%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 85%
Bart Gordon 45%
Porter Goss 78%
Daniel Graham 41%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 85%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 76%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 60%
Mark Green 78%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 40%
James Greenwood 71%
Judd Gregg 67%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 24%
Gilbert Gutknecht 55%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 76%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 60%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 15%
Jane Harman 44%
Melissa Hart 78%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 19%
WA U.S. House 4 Doc Hastings Republican 78%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 67%
Robert Hayes 72%
J.D. Hayworth, Jr. 85%
Joel Hefley 85%
Wally Herger, Jr. 60%
Baron Hill 38%
Maurice Hinchey 0%
TX U.S. House 15 Rubén Hinojosa, Sr. Democratic 33%
David Lee Hobson 78%
PA Commissioner At-Large Joseph Hoeffel 26%
Pete Hoekstra 53%
Thomas Holden 46%
Ernest Hollings 33%
NJ U.S. House 12 Rush Holt, Jr. Democratic 8%
CA U.S. House 17 Mike Honda Democratic 0%
Darlene Hooley 19%
John Nathan Hostettler 49%
Amory Houghton, Jr. 49%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 26%
Kenny Hulshof 67%
Duncan Hunter 56%
Kay Hutchison 76%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top