or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Journal

2003 Conservative on Foreign Policy Score

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 17%
Gary Ackerman 39%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 71%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 14%
Todd Akin 71%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 78%
Rodney Alexander 47%
Wayne Allard 54%
George Allen 78%
Thomas Allen 25%
Rob Andrews 32%
Joe Baca, Sr. 21%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 89%
Brian Baird 14%
Richard Hugh Baker 89%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 8%
Frank Ballance, Jr. 20%
Cass Ballenger 89%
J. Gresham Barrett 63%
Roscoe Bartlett 65%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 89%
Charlie Bass 52%
Max Baucus 26%
Evan Bayh 44%
Bob Beauprez 65%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 16%
Chris Bell 20%
Bob Bennett 68%
Douglas Bereuter 55%
Shelley Berkley 30%
Howard Berman 36%
Marion Berry 25%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 35%
Judy Biggert 52%
Michael Bilirakis 77%
Jeff Bingaman 32%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 89%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 27%
NY U.S. House 1 Tim Bishop Democratic 21%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 89%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 14%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 80%
Sherwood Boehlert 51%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 80%
Kit Bond 78%
Henry Bonilla 69%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 80%
Mary Bono Mack 57%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 71%
Leonard Boswell 32%
Rick Boucher 17%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 0%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 41%
NH State Senate 3 Jeb Bradley Republican 65%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 71%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 11%
John Breaux 42%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 11%
Henry Brown, Jr. 89%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 0%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 54%
Ginny Brown-Waite 64%
Jim Bunning 78%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 80%
Conrad Burns 78%
Max Burns 89%
Dan Burton 65%
Steve Buyer 64%
Robert Byrd 30%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 80%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 63%
Ben Campbell 49%
Chris Cannon 80%
Eric Cantor 80%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 32%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 58%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 19%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 17%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 32%
Dennis Cardoza 39%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 41%
Brad Carson 44%
Julia Carson 11%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 89%
Edward Case 43%
Mike Castle 52%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 58%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 44%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 52%
Chris Chocola 89%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 11%
Hillary Clinton 14%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 6%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 57%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 78%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 80%
Norm Coleman 78%
Michael Collins 89%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 48%
Kent Conrad 35%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 0%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 42%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 78%
Jon Corzine 10%
Jerry Costello 37%
Christopher Cox 89%
Larry Craig 54%
Robert Cramer 47%
Philip Crane 80%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 54%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 89%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 32%
Barbara Cubin 80%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 89%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 13%
Randall Cunningham 89%
Thomas Daschle 14%
Artur Davis 27%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 0%
James Davis 45%
Jo Ann Davis 60%
Lincoln Davis 44%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 37%
Thomas Davis III 56%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 0%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 71%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 8%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 35%
Bill Delahunt 0%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 17%
Thomas DeLay 89%
Peter Deutsch 27%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 68%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 80%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 89%
Norm Dicks 42%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 20%
Chris Dodd 22%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 8%
Elizabeth Dole 65%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 78%
Calvin Dooley 45%
John Doolittle 89%
Byron Dorgan 22%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 20%
David Dreier 62%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 46%
Jennifer Dunn 60%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 14%
Chet Edwards 37%
Vern Ehlers 49%
IL Mayor At-Large Rahm Emanuel Democratic 27%
Jo Ann Emerson 79%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 37%
Philip English 80%
John Ensign 62%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 68%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 25%
Bob Etheridge 37%
Lane Evans 17%
Terry Everett 71%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 0%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 8%
Tom Feeney 77%
Russ Feingold 0%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 22%
Michael Ferguson 64%
Bob Filner 0%
Peter Fitzgerald 54%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 55%
Mark Foley 55%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 77%
Harold Ford, Jr. 34%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 65%
Barney Frank 0%
AZ U.S. House 8 Trent Franks Republican 80%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 65%
William Frist 78%
Jonas Frost III 31%
Elton Gallegly 65%
NJ U.S. House 5 Scott Garrett Republican 80%
PA U.S. House 6 Jim Gerlach Republican 65%
Jim Gibbons 89%
Wayne Gilchrest 52%
Paul Gillmor 71%
GA U.S. House 11 Phil Gingrey Republican 89%
Charlie Gonzalez 27%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 57%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 71%
Bart Gordon 31%
Porter Goss 80%
Daniel Graham 40%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 52%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 65%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 78%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 62%
Mark Green 65%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 21%
James Greenwood 56%
Judd Gregg 78%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top