Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Capitol Resource Institute

2007-2008 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
Samuel Aanestad 93%
Anthony Adams 82%
Elaine Alquist 0%
CA State Senate 38 Joel Anderson Republican 100%
Juan Arambula 18%
Roy Ashburn 100%
CA U.S. House 37 Karen Bass Democratic 6%
CA State Senate 15 Jim Beall, Jr. Democratic 6%
CA Supervisor 4 John Benoit 94%
CA State Senate 8 Tom Berryhill Republican 94%
Sam Blakeslee 82%
CA U.S. House 26 Julia Brownley Democratic 6%
Anna Caballero 6%
Charles Calderon 29%
Ron Calderon 0%
Amina Carter 12%
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo 0%
David Cogdill 100%
CA U.S. House 8 Paul Cook Republican 94%
Ellen Corbett 0%
Lou Correa 33%
Joe Coto 12%
Dave Cox 100%
Mike Davis 18%
Hector De La Torre 6%
CA State Senate 24 Kevin de Leon Democratic 6%
CA U.S. House 10 Jeff Denham Republican 87%
CA U.S. House 11 Mark DeSaulnier Democratic 12%
Charles DeVore 100%
Denise Ducheny 13%
Robert Dutton 100%
Michael Duvall 100%
Bill Emmerson 82%
Mike Eng 6%
Noreen Evans 6%
Mike Feuer 6%
Dean Florez 33%
CA Council Member 7 Felipe Fuentes 6%
CA State Senate 16 Jean Fuller Republican 94%
CA State Senate 1 Ted Gaines Republican 94%
CA State Senate 5 Cathleen Galgiani Democratic 41%
Martin Garrick 94%
CA State Senate 9 Loni Hancock Democratic 12%
Tom Harman 93%
Mary Hayashi 6%
CA State Senate 22 Ed Hernandez Democratic 6%
Dennis Hollingsworth 100%
CA State Senate 29 Robert Huff Republican 82%
CA U.S. House 2 Jared Huffman Democratic 6%
CA Supervisor 1 Kevin Jeffries 94%
Dave Jones 6%
Christine Kehoe 0%
CA Council Member 2 Paul Krekorian 6%
CA State Senate 11 Mark Leno Democratic 6%
CA U.S. House 33 Ted Lieu Democratic 6%
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 0%
Fiona Ma 6%
Abel Maldonado 80%
CA State Senate 32 Tony Mendoza Democratic 6%
Pedro Nava 6%
Gloria Negrete McLeod 7%
Roger Niello 88%
Jenny Oropeza 13%
CA Secretary of State Alex Padilla Democratic 7%
Anthony Portantino, Jr. 6%
CA Council Member 9 Curren Price, Jr. 12%
Gloria Romero 0%
George Runner, Jr. 100%
Ira Ruskin 6%
CA Mayor At-Large Mary Salas 6%
Lori Saldaña 6%
Jim Silva 100%
CA Supervisor 5 Joe Simitian No Party Affiliation 13%
Cameron Smyth 94%
Jose Solorio 12%
Darrell Steinberg 13%
Audra Strickland 100%
Sandré Swanson 12%
CA State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Non-partisan 0%
Alberto Torrico 12%
Van Tran 94%
Mike Villines 100%
CA U.S. House 45 Mimi Walters Republican 100%
Patricia Wiggins 0%
CA State Senate 3 Lois Wolk Democratic 6%
Mark Wyland 93%
Leland Yee 7%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top