or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Radical Middle

2003-2004 Positions

Issues: Liberal
State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 30%
Gary Ackerman 30%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 5%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 25%
Todd Akin 5%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 15%
Rodney Alexander 0%
Wayne Allard 15%
George Allen 5%
Thomas Allen 45%
Rob Andrews 20%
Joe Baca, Sr. 10%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 20%
Brian Baird 35%
Richard Hugh Baker 5%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 35%
J. Gresham Barrett 0%
Roscoe Bartlett 10%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 10%
Charlie Bass 20%
Max Baucus 30%
Evan Bayh 25%
Bob Beauprez 15%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 10%
Bob Bennett 10%
Shelley Berkley 30%
Howard Berman 30%
Marion Berry 25%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 10%
Judy Biggert 25%
Michael Bilirakis 30%
Jeff Bingaman 25%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 0%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 10%
NY U.S. House 1 Tim Bishop Democratic 10%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 10%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 75%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 5%
Sherwood Boehlert 50%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 10%
Kit Bond 15%
Henry Bonilla 5%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 5%
Mary Bono Mack 15%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 5%
Leonard Boswell 30%
Rick Boucher 15%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 30%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 20%
NH State Senate 3 Jeb Bradley Republican 20%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 5%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 5%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 15%
Henry Brown, Jr. 15%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 40%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 30%
Ginny Brown-Waite 20%
Jim Bunning 20%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 5%
Conrad Burns 15%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 20%
Dan Burton 10%
NC U.S. House 1 G.K. Butterfield, Jr. Democratic 0%
Steve Buyer 10%
Robert Byrd 10%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 25%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 20%
Chris Cannon 0%
Eric Cantor 10%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 45%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 10%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 50%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 25%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 20%
Dennis Cardoza 30%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 35%
Julia Carson 20%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 10%
Edward Case 40%
Mike Castle 45%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 5%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 40%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 15%
Ben Chandler III 5%
Chris Chocola 5%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 25%
Hillary Clinton 40%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 20%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 5%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 25%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 5%
Norm Coleman 30%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 50%
Kent Conrad 10%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 25%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 35%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 5%
Jon Corzine 35%
Jerry Costello 15%
Christopher Cox 25%
Larry Craig 5%
Robert Cramer 25%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 5%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 5%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 30%
Barbara Cubin 10%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 5%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 35%
Randall Cunningham 20%
Artur Davis 20%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 30%
James Davis 30%
Jo Ann Davis 15%
Lincoln Davis 10%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 25%
Thomas Davis III 15%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 15%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 10%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 20%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 30%
Bill Delahunt 20%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 30%
Thomas DeLay 10%
James DeMint 15%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 40%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 10%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 5%
Norm Dicks 15%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 15%
Chris Dodd 20%
Elizabeth Dole 10%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 0%
John Doolittle 5%
Byron Dorgan 25%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 15%
David Dreier 25%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 10%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 65%
Vern Ehlers 40%
IL Mayor At-Large Rahm Emanuel Democratic 25%
Jo Ann Emerson 25%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 30%
Philip English 40%
John Ensign 20%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 30%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 60%
Bob Etheridge 25%
Lane Evans 20%
Terry Everett 5%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 50%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 20%
Tom Feeney 5%
Russ Feingold 15%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 35%
Michael Ferguson 15%
Bob Filner 45%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 5%
Mark Foley 25%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 5%
Harold Ford, Jr. 30%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 10%
Barney Frank 50%
AZ U.S. House 8 Trent Franks Republican 10%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 15%
William Frist 5%
Elton Gallegly 20%
NJ U.S. House 5 Scott Garrett Republican 5%
PA U.S. House 6 Jim Gerlach Republican 10%
Jim Gibbons 10%
Wayne Gilchrest 40%
Paul Gillmor 25%
GA U.S. House 11 Phil Gingrey Republican 10%
Charlie Gonzalez 10%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 15%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 15%
Bart Gordon 20%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 5%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 15%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 50%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 10%
Mark Green 15%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 15%
Judd Gregg 15%
AZ U.S. House 3 Raúl Grijalva Democratic 35%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 25%
Gilbert Gutknecht 5%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 25%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 5%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 20%
Jane Harman 15%
Katherine Harris 20%
Melissa Hart 15%
J. Dennis Hastert 0%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 40%
WA U.S. House 4 Doc Hastings Republican 10%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 15%
Robert Hayes 5%
J.D. Hayworth, Jr. 10%
Joel Hefley 5%
TX U.S. House 5 Jeb Hensarling Republican 5%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top