or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Parent Teacher Association

2001-2002 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 50%
Gary Ackerman 75%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 50%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 100%
Todd Akin 25%
Wayne Allard 10%
George Allen 30%
Thomas Allen 75%
Rob Andrews 75%
Joe Baca, Sr. 75%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 50%
Brian Baird 75%
Richard Hugh Baker 25%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 75%
Roscoe Bartlett 25%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 25%
Charlie Bass 50%
Max Baucus 100%
Evan Bayh 100%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 75%
Bob Bennett 30%
Shelley Berkley 75%
Howard Berman 75%
Marion Berry 75%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 90%
Judy Biggert 75%
Michael Bilirakis 75%
Jeff Bingaman 100%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 100%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 75%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 50%
Sherwood Boehlert 75%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 50%
Kit Bond 10%
Henry Bonilla 50%
Mary Bono Mack 0%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 100%
Leonard Boswell 75%
Rick Boucher 75%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 90%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 75%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 25%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 75%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 75%
Henry Brown, Jr. 50%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 75%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 0%
Jim Bunning 10%
Conrad Burns 30%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 75%
Dan Burton 25%
Steve Buyer 25%
Robert Byrd 90%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 50%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 25%
Chris Cannon 25%
Eric Cantor 25%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 100%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 75%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 75%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 75%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 75%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 90%
Julia Carson 75%
Mike Castle 75%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 25%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 80%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 50%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 75%
Hillary Clinton 90%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 75%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 25%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 30%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 70%
Kent Conrad 100%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 75%
Jon Corzine 90%
Jerry Costello 75%
Christopher Cox 25%
Larry Craig 10%
Robert Cramer 75%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 30%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 25%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 75%
Barbara Cubin 25%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 25%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 75%
Randall Cunningham 50%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 75%
James Davis 75%
Jo Ann Davis 25%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 75%
Thomas Davis III 50%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 25%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 75%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 75%
Bill Delahunt 75%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 75%
Thomas DeLay 25%
James DeMint 25%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 40%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 50%
Norm Dicks 75%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 75%
Chris Dodd 100%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 75%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 30%
John Doolittle 25%
Byron Dorgan 100%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 75%
David Dreier 50%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 25%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 90%
Chet Edwards 75%
Vern Ehlers 50%
Jo Ann Emerson 75%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 75%
Philip English 75%
John Ensign 40%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 20%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 75%
Bob Etheridge 75%
Lane Evans 75%
Terry Everett 50%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 75%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 75%
Russ Feingold 100%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 90%
Michael Ferguson 75%
Bob Filner 75%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 25%
Mark Foley 25%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 100%
Harold Ford, Jr. 75%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 50%
Barney Frank 50%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 50%
William Frist 20%
Elton Gallegly 50%
Jim Gibbons 75%
Wayne Gilchrest 75%
Paul Gillmor 75%
Charlie Gonzalez 75%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 25%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 25%
Bart Gordon 75%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 0%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 25%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 30%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 75%
Mark Green 50%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 75%
Judd Gregg 10%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 75%
Gilbert Gutknecht 25%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 30%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 50%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 90%
Jane Harman 75%
Melissa Hart 50%
J. Dennis Hastert 0%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 75%
WA U.S. House 4 Doc Hastings Republican 0%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 40%
Robert Hayes 50%
J.D. Hayworth, Jr. 25%
Joel Hefley 25%
Wally Herger, Jr. 25%
Maurice Hinchey 75%
TX U.S. House 15 Rubén Hinojosa, Sr. Democratic 75%
David Lee Hobson 75%
Pete Hoekstra 25%
Thomas Holden 75%
NJ U.S. House 12 Rush Holt, Jr. Democratic 75%
CA U.S. House 17 Mike Honda Democratic 75%
Darlene Hooley 75%
John Nathan Hostettler 50%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 75%
Kenny Hulshof 50%
Duncan Hunter 25%
Kay Hutchison 40%
Henry Hyde 50%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 10%
Daniel Inouye 70%
WA Governor Jay Inslee Democratic 75%
GA U.S. Senate Jr Johnny Isakson Republican 50%
NY U.S. House 3 Steve Israel Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 49 Darrell Issa Republican 50%
Ernest Istook, Jr. 25%
Jesse Jackson, Jr. 75%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 75%
William Jefferson 75%
James Merrill Jeffords 80%
William Lewis Jenkins 50%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 75%
Nancy Johnson 100%
TX U.S. House 3 Sam Johnson Republican 25%
Tim Johnson 75%
SD U.S. Senate Sr Timothy Johnson Democratic 90%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top