or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: North Dakota Public Employees Association

2003 Positions

Issues: Labor Unions
State Office District Name Party Rating
Ole Aarsvold 91%
ND State House 26 Bill Amerman Democratic-NPL 100%
ND State Senate 2 John Andrist Republican 27%
ND State House 38 Larry Bellew Republican 40%
ND State House 22 Wesley Belter Republican 60%
Dennis Bercier 100%
Rick Berg 45%
LeRoy Bernstein 50%
ND State House 9 Tracy Boe Democratic-NPL 82%
ND State House 27 Randy Boehning Republican 45%
ND Commissioner At-Large Merle Boucher Democratic-NPL 100%
ND State Senate 39 Bill Bowman Republican 25%
Richard Brown 25%
Thomas Brusegaard 45%
ND State Senate 30 Ron Carlisle Republican 64%
ND State House 41 Al Carlson Republican 45%
ND Public Service Commissioner Randel Christmann Republican 25%
ND State Senate 34 Dwight Cook Republican 42%
Duane Lee DeKrey 50%
ND State House 43 Lois Delmore Democratic-NPL 100%
ND State House 8 Jeff Delzer Republican 45%
ND State Senate 32 Dick Dever Republican 25%
ND State House 23 Bill Devlin Republican 45%
ND State House 32 Mark Dosch Republican 55%
ND State House 39 David Drovdal Republican 45%
Mary Ekstrom 100%
ND State Senate 28 Robert Erbele Republican 27%
Duaine Espegard 25%
Michael Every 100%
April Fairfield 100%
Tom Fischer 25%
ND State Senate 44 Tim Flakoll Republican 27%
Layton Freborg 33%
Rod Froelich 100%
ND State House 4 Glen Froseth Republican 36%
Pat Galvin 36%
ND State House 18 Eliot Glassheim Democratic-NPL 100%
ND State House 41 Bette Grande Republican 40%
ND State Senate 41 Tony Grindberg Republican 27%
Michael Grosz 45%
Pam Gulleson 100%
C.B. Haas 45%
Lyle Hanson 100%
ND State House 46 Kathy Hawken Republican 80%
ND State House 29 Craig Headland Republican 36%
Joel Curtis Heitkamp 100%
Gil Herbel 50%
ND State Senate 17 Ray Holmberg Republican 25%
ND State House 6 Bob Hunskor Democratic-NPL 100%
Ron Iverson 36%
ND State House 15 Dennis Johnson Republican 45%
ND State House 37 Nancy Johnson Republican 60%
ND State House 46 James Kasper Republican 36%
ND State House 47 George Keiser Republican 45%
RaeAnn Kelsch 55%
ND State House 11 Scot Kelsh Democratic-NPL 100%
ND State House 39 Keith Kempenich Republican 36%
James Kerzman 100%
ND State Senate 47 Ralph Kilzer Republican 33%
Joyce Kingsbury 45%
Frank Klein 50%
ND State Senate 14 Jerry Klein Republican 25%
ND State House 40 Matthew Klein Republican 36%
ND State House 47 Larry Klemin Republican 36%
ND State House 13 Kim Koppelman Republican 44%
Aaron Krauter 100%
ND State Senate 40 Karen Krebsbach Republican 25%
ND State House 33 Gary Kreidt Republican 45%
ND State House 28 William Kretschmar Republican 64%
Edroy Kringstad 25%
Joe Kroeber 100%
ND State Senate 22 Gary Lee Republican 25%
ND State Senate 13 Judy Lee Republican 25%
Elroy Lindaas 92%
ND State Senate 1 Stanley Lyson Republican 25%
ND State House 3 Andrew Maragos Republican 82%
ND State House 35 Bob Martinson Republican 64%
ND State Senate 11 Tim Mathern Democratic-NPL 100%
ND State House 32 Lisa Meier Republican 45%
Ralph Metcalf 91%
ND State House 10 David Monson Republican 45%
Phillip Mueller 91%
Duane Mutch 25%
ND State Senate 21 Carolyn Nelson Democratic-NPL 100%
ND State House 14 Jon Nelson Republican 64%
Dave Nething 42%
Eugene Nicholas 50%
Ronald Nichols 83%
Carol Niemeier 91%
Mike Norland 44%
Darrell Nottestad 73%
ND State Senate 6 David O'Connell Democratic-NPL 100%
ND State House 4 Kenton Onstad Democratic-NPL 100%
Vonnie Pietsch 55%
ND State House 29 Chet Pollert Republican 36%
Michael Polovitz 82%
ND State House 34 Todd Porter Republican 45%
Louise Potter 100%
Clara Sue Price 27%
Earl Rennerfeldt 45%
ND State Senate 24 Larry Robinson Democratic-NPL 92%
ND State House 38 Dan Ruby Republican 30%
Sally Sandvig 100%
Arlo Schmidt 100%
Randy Schobinger 33%
Tom Seymour 100%
ND State Senate 35 Margaret Sitte Republican 55%
ND State House 2 Robert Skarphol Republican 40%
Dorvan Solberg 78%
Bob Stenehjem 25%
Ken Svedjan 45%
John Syverson 50%
Harvey Tallackson 91%
Ryan Taylor 92%
Russell Thane 25%
ND State House 44 Blair Thoreson Republican 45%
Elwood Thorpe 90%
Mike Timm 45%
Ben Tollefson 25%
John Traynor 30%
Thomas Trenbeath 27%
Gerald Uglem 45%
Herbert Urlacher 25%
Francis Wald 33%
ND State Senate 37 Rich Wardner Republican 25%
ND State Senate 4 John Warner Democratic-NPL 100%
Amy N Kliniske Warnke 45%
Dave Weiler 55%
ND State House 14 Robin Weisz Republican 44%
ND State House 13 Alon Wieland Republican 50%
Ray Wikenheiser 45%
ND State House 25 Clark Williams Democratic-NPL 100%
Lonny Winrich 100%
Dwight Wrangham 45%
ND State House 21 Steven Zaiser Democratic-NPL 100%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top