Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Voices for Racial Justice

2007 Positions on Racial Equity

State Office District Name Party Rating
MN State Senate 35 Jim Abeler II Republican C
Ellen Anderson C
MN State House 52B Joseph Atkins Democratic/Farmer/Labor D
Linda Berglin B
Donald Betzold C
MN State House 20B David Bly Democratic/Farmer/Labor C
MN State Senate 44 Terri Bonoff Democratic/Farmer/Labor C
Robin Brown C
Kathy Brynaert D
Mark Buesgens F
Satveer Chaudhary B
MN State House 62A Karen Clark Democratic/Farmer/Labor A
Tarryl Clark D
MN State Senate 64 Richard Cohen Democratic/Farmer/Labor D
MN State House 63A Jim Davnie Democratic/Farmer/Labor B
Chris DeLaForest F
MN State Senate 61 D. Scott Dibble Democratic/Farmer/Labor D
Stephen Dille B
Willie Dominguez B
MN State Senate 4 Kent Eken Democratic/Farmer/Labor C
MN U.S. House 6 Tom Emmer Republican F
MN State House 15A Sondra Erickson Republican F
Sharon Erickson Ropes C
Tim Faust D
Brad Finstad F
Patti Fritz C
Paul Gardner D
MN Commissioner 7 Chris Gerlach Republican F
Mindy Greiling A
MN State House 23A Bob Gunther Republican D
MN State House 31B Tom Hackbarth Republican F
MN State House 22B Rod Hamilton Republican D
MN State House 52A Rick Hansen Democratic/Farmer/Labor C
MN State House 66A Alice Hausman Democratic/Farmer/Labor D
Larry Haws D
Bud Heidgerken C
MN Commissioner 2 Linda Higgins B
MN State House 40B Debra Hilstrom Democratic/Farmer/Labor D
Bill Hilty C
MN State House 61A Frank Hornstein Democratic/Farmer/Labor C
Larry Hosch C
Larry Howes C
Thomas Huntley D
MN State Senate 8 Bill Ingebrigtsen Republican F
MN State House 67B Sheldon Johnson Democratic/Farmer/Labor B
Al Juhnke C
Michael Jungbauer C
MN State House 60B Phyllis Kahn Democratic/Farmer/Labor B
Katherine Knuth D
Paul Koering C
Scott Kranz B
Gary Kubly D
Dan Larson C
Ann Lenczewski D
MN State House 66B John Lesch Democratic/Farmer/Labor C
MN State House 26A Tina Liebling Democratic/Farmer/Labor D
Bernard Lieder D
MN State Senate 34 Warren Limmer Republican F
MN State Senate 11 Tony Lourey Democratic/Farmer/Labor B
Ann Lynch C
MN State House 67A Tim Mahoney Democratic/Farmer/Labor C
MN State House 65B Carlos Mariani Democratic/Farmer/Labor A
MN State Senate 66 John Marty Democratic/Farmer/Labor A
Carol McFarlane D
MN State House 54B Denny McNamara Republican D
Jim Metzen C
Geoff Michel C
Frank Moe B
William Morgan D
Terence Morrow C
Mee Moua A
MN State House 59A Joe Mullery Democratic/Farmer/Labor D
MN State House 64A Erin Murphy Democratic/Farmer/Labor B
Steve Murphy D
MN State House 40A Michael Nelson Democratic/Farmer/Labor D
MN State House 8A Bud Nornes Republican D
MN State House 25B Kim Norton Democratic/Farmer/Labor C
Mark Olson F
Mary Olson C
MN State Senate 47 Julianne Ortman Republican C
Mary Otremba D
Dennis Ozment C
MN State Senate 65 Sandra Pappas Democratic/Farmer/Labor A
Patricia Pariseau F
Michael Paymar C
MN State House 28A Eugene Pelowski, Jr. Democratic/Farmer/Labor D
MN State House 34A Joyce Peppin Republican F
Sandra Peterson D
Lawrence Pogemiller D
Prettner Solon C
MN State Senate 45 Ann Rest Democratic/Farmer/Labor D
Claire Robling D
MN State Senate 23 Julie Rosen Republican C
MN Commissioner 4 Tom Rukavina C
Sandy Rummel C
Maria Ruud D
Brita Sailer C
Kathy Saltzman D
MN State Senate 42 Bev Scalze Democratic/Farmer/Labor D
Linda Scheid C
Anthony Sertich D
Daniel Severson F
MN State Senate 19 Kathy Sheran Democratic/Farmer/Labor D
MN State Senate 54 Katie Sieben Democratic/Farmer/Labor D
MN Secretary of State Steve Simon Democratic/Farmer/Labor C
MN State Senate 2 Rod Skoe Democratic/Farmer/Labor D
Dan Skogen C
MN Mayor At-Large Nora Slawik B
MN State House 50A Linda Slocum Democratic/Farmer/Labor B
MN State Senate 27 Daniel Sparks Democratic/Farmer/Labor C
MN State Senate 1 LeRoy Stumpf Democratic/Farmer/Labor F
Marsha Swails D
Cy Thao D
MN State House 61B Paul Thissen Democratic/Farmer/Labor C
Kathy Tingelstad D
MN State Senate 63 Patricia Torres Ray Democratic/Farmer/Labor B
Ken Tschumper C
Ray Vandeveer D
James Vickerman C
MN State House 63B Jean Wagenius Democratic/Farmer/Labor D
Neva Walker A
John Ward A
Andy Welti D
Betsy Wergin D
Ryan Winkler D
Sandra Wollschlager D
Kurt Zellers F

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top