Rating Group: Grass Roots

2009 Positions

Issues: Conservative
State Office Name Party Rating
UT State House-1 Ronda Menlove R 59%
UT State House-3 Jack Draxler R 50%
UT State House-5 Curt Webb R 63%
UT State House-8 Gage Froerer R 65%
UT State House-11 Brad Dee R 59%
UT State House-12 Richard Greenwood R 83%
UT State House-13 Paul Ray R 67%
UT State House-14 Curtis Oda R 76%
UT State House-18 Roger Barrus R 63%
UT State House-20 Becky Edwards R 58%
UT State House-22 Susan Duckworth D 28%
UT State House-23 Jennifer Seelig D 33%
UT State House-24 Rebecca Chavez-Houck D 11%
UT State House-28 Brian King D 28%
UT State House-30 Janice Fisher D 50%
UT State House-31 Larry Wiley D 33%
UT State House-35 Mark Wheatley D 21%
UT State House-37 Carol Spackman Moss D 28%
UT State House-38 Eric Hutchings R 59%
UT State House-39 James Dunnigan R 68%
UT State House-40 Lynn Hemingway D 33%
UT State House-42 Jim Bird R 63%
UT State House-44 Tim Cosgrove D 39%
UT State House-46 Marie Poulson D 50%
UT State House-51 Gregory Hughes R 79%
UT State House-53 Melvin Brown R 61%
UT State House-54 Kraig Powell R 58%
UT State House-55 John Mathis R 83%
UT State House-61 Keith Grover R 89%
UT State House-64 Becky Lockhart R 74%
UT State House-65 Francis Gibson R 67%
UT State House-70 Kay McIff R 38%
UT State House-71 Bradley Last R 71%
UT State House-73 Michael Noel R 83%
UT State House-75 Don Ipson R 63%
UT State Senate-1 Luz Robles D 32%
UT State Senate-3 Gene Davis D 33%
UT State Senate-4 Patricia Jones D 43%
UT State Senate-5 Karen Mayne D 55%
UT State Senate-6 Wayne Harper R 69%
UT State Senate-9 Wayne Niederhauser R 68%
UT State Senate-11 Howard Stephenson R 77%
UT State Senate-13 Mark Madsen R 85%
UT State Senate-14 John Valentine R 67%
UT State Senate-15 Margaret Dayton R 86%
UT State Senate-16 Curt Bramble R 65%
UT State Senate-17 Peter Knudson R 62%
UT State Senate-19 Allen Christensen R 67%
UT State Senate-20 Scott Jenkins R 68%
UT State Senate-24 Ralph Okerlund R 59%
UT State Senate-25 Lyle Hillyard R 63%
UT State Senate-26 Kevin Van Tassell R 52%
UT State Senate-27 David Hinkins R 71%
UT State Senate-28 Evan Vickers R 56%
UT State Senate-29 Stephen Urquhart R 64%
UT Auditor John Dougall R 88%
UT Commissioner of Insurance Todd Kiser R 61%
UT Commissioner-At-Large Kerry Gibson R 78%
Doug Aagard 71%
Sheryl Allen 61%
Trisha Beck 53%
Gregory Bell 50%
Ron Bigelow 42%
Jackie Biskupski 17%
Laura Black 26%
D. Chris Buttars 65%
David Clark 60%
Stephen Clark 61%
Brad Daw 74%
Ben Ferry 71%
Julie Fisher 63%
Lorie Fowlke 69%
Craig Frank 71%
Kevin Garn 72%
Brent Goodfellow 42%
James Gowans 17%
Jon Greiner 71%
Neil Hansen 25%
Neal Hendrickson 33%
Christopher Herrod 83%
Kory Holdaway 56%
Fred Hunsaker 58%
Christine Johnson 16%
Sheldon Killpack 70%
Dan Liljenquist 50%
David Litvack 22%
Steven Mascaro 67%
Scott McCoy 27%
Karen Morgan 41%
Michael Morley 94%
Merlynn Newbold 83%
Patrick Painter 76%
Phil Riesen 17%
Ross Romero 27%
Stephen Sandstrom 82%
F. Jay Seegmiller 56%
Dennis Stowell 68%
Kenneth Sumsion 95%
Michael Waddoups 86%
Brent Wallis 63%
Chris Watkins 28%
Ryan Wilcox 78%
Carl Wimmer 94%
Bradley Winn 68%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.