Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Grass Roots

2008 Positions on Conservative Issues

Issues: Conservative
State Office District Name Party Rating
UT State House 5 Curt Webb Republican 41
UT State House 8 Gage Froerer Republican 62
UT State House 13 Paul Ray Republican 55
UT State House 24 Rebecca Chavez-Houck Democratic 23
UT State House 35 Mark Wheatley Democratic 24
UT State House 38 Eric Hutchings Republican 60
UT State House 39 James Dunnigan Republican 41
UT State House 40 Lynn Hemingway Democratic 27
UT State House 51 Gregory Hughes Republican 67
UT State House 60 Brad Daw Republican 50
UT State House 61 Keith Grover Republican 57
UT State House 71 Bradley Last Republican 57
UT State House 73 Michael Noel Republican 60
UT State Senate 3 Gene Davis Democratic 15
UT State Senate 5 Karen Mayne Democratic 20
UT State Senate 6 Wayne Harper Republican 70
UT State Senate 9 Wayne Niederhauser Republican 50
UT State Senate 11 Howard Stephenson Republican 74
UT State Senate 15 Margaret Dayton Republican 70
UT State Senate 16 Curt Bramble Republican 58
UT State Senate 17 Peter Knudson Republican 47
UT State Senate 19 Allen Christensen Republican 44
UT State Senate 25 Lyle Hillyard Republican 50
UT State Senate 26 Kevin Van Tassell Republican 53
UT Auditor John Dougall Republican 64
UT Chairman of the Tax Commission John Valentine 50
UT Mayor At-Large Ron Bigelow 65
UT Mayor Jackie Biskupski Democratic 26
UT Commissioner At-Large Kerry Gibson Republican 30
Doug Aagard 59
Sheryl Allen 45
Sylvia Andersen 55
Roger Barrus 59
Gregory Bell 56
Jim Bird 43
DeMar Bowman 22
Melvin Brown 30
D. Chris Buttars 55
David Clark 55
Stephen Clark 45
Tim Cosgrove 14
Greg Curtis 50
Brad Dee 60
Mike Dmitrich 45
Glenn Donnelson, Jr. 73
Jack Draxler 50
Carl Duckworth 26
Dan Eastman 55
Ben Ferry 33
Fred Fife III 25
Janice Fisher 19
Julie Fisher 60
Lorie Fowlke 38
Craig Frank 77
Kevin Garn 53
Brent Goodfellow 47
James Gowans 30
Richard Greenwood 50
Jon Greiner 53
Neil Hansen 25
Neal Hendrickson 70
Christopher Herrod 67
John Hickman 56
Kory Holdaway 25
Fred Hunsaker 41
Scott Jenkins 60
Christine Johnson 24
Patricia Jones 20
Sheldon Killpack 55
Brad King 19
Todd Kiser 62
David Litvack 18
Becky Lockhart 60
Mark Madsen 74
Steven Mascaro 32
John Mathis 44
Scott McCoy 30
Rosalind McGee 15
Kay McIff 40
Ronda Menlove 27
Karen Morgan 50
Michael Morley 74
Paul Neuenschwander 52
Merlynn Newbold 53
Curtis Oda 77
Patrick Painter 53
Darin Peterson 61
Phil Riesen 14
Ross Romero 20
Stephen Sandstrom 59
Jennifer Seelig 27
LaWanna Shurtliff 29
Gordon Snow 52
Carol Spackman Moss 18
Dennis Stowell 61
Kenneth Sumsion 65
Aaron Tilton 81
Stephen Urquhart 60
Michael Waddoups 60
Carlene Walker 47
Mark Walker 47
Larry Wiley 18
Carl Wimmer 86
Bradley Winn 47

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top