or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Leadership Conference on Civil and Human Rights

1997-1998 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
David Edward Bonior 100%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 100%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 100%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 100%
Eva Clayton 100%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 100%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 100%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 100%
Julian Dixon 100%
Byron Dorgan 100%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 100%
Lane Evans 100%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 100%
Jesse Jackson, Jr. 100%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 100%
Edward Kennedy, Sr. 100%
Carolyn Kilpatrick 100%
Ronald Klink 100%
Frank Lautenberg 100%
CA U.S. House 13 Barbara Lee Democratic 100%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Carl Levin Democratic 100%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Barbara Mikulski Democratic 100%
Juanita Millender-McDonald 100%
Major Owens 100%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 100%
Paul Sarbanes 100%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 100%
Ted Strickland 100%
Mel Watt 100%
Paul Wellstone 100%
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 96%
Gary Ackerman 96%
Thomas Allen 96%
ME Councilor At-Large John Baldacci Democratic 96%
William Coyne 96%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 96%
Bill Delahunt 96%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 96%
Sam Gejdenson 96%
Earl Hilliard, Jr. 96%
Paul Kanjorski 96%
MI U.S. House 9 Sandy Levin Democratic 96%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 96%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 96%
Frank Mascara 96%
Robert Matsui 96%
NY U.S. House 4 Carolyn McCarthy Democratic 96%
Cynthia Ann McKinney 96%
Martin Meehan 96%
Carrie Meek 96%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 96%
Patsy Takemoto Mink 96%
Jack Murtha 96%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 96%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 96%
Jim Oberstar 96%
John Olver 96%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 96%
AZ U.S. House 7 Ed Pastor Democratic 96%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 96%
Earl Pomeroy 96%
WV U.S. House 3 Nick Rahall II Democratic 96%
Lynn Nancy Rivers 96%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 96%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 96%
NY U.S. House 25 Louise Slaughter Democratic 96%
Bart Stupak 96%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 96%
Karen Thurman 96%
MA U.S. House 6 John Tierney Democratic 96%
Bruce Vento 96%
Lynn Woolsey 96%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 95%
Kent Conrad 95%
Thomas Daschle 95%
Chris Dodd 95%
Russ Feingold 95%
SD U.S. Senate Sr Timothy Johnson Democratic 95%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry Democratic 95%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 95%
NV U.S. Senate Sr Harry Reid Democratic 95%
NY U.S. House 5 Gregory Meeks Democratic 94%
James Barcia 92%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett Democratic 92%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 92%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 92%
Robert Borski, Jr. 92%
George Brown, Jr. 92%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 92%
Julia Carson 92%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 92%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 92%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 92%
Chet Edwards 92%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 92%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 92%
Bob Filner 92%
Harold Ford, Jr. 92%
Barney Frank 92%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 92%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 92%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 92%
Maurice Hinchey 92%
TX U.S. House 15 Rubén Hinojosa, Sr. Democratic 92%
Thomas Holden 92%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 92%
Dale Kildee 92%
Dennis Kucinich 92%
John LaFalce 92%
Nicholas Lampson 92%
Tom Lantos 92%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 92%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 92%
William Luther 92%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 92%
Matthew Martinez 92%
Karen McCarthy 92%
MA U.S. House 2 Jim McGovern Democratic 92%
Dave Obey 92%
NJ U.S. House 9 Bill Pascrell, Jr. Democratic 92%
Donald Payne 92%
Silvestre Reyes 92%
Ciro Rodriguez 92%
Martin Olav Sabo 92%
OH State Senate 28 Thomas Sawyer Democratic 92%
Norman Sisisky 92%
John Spratt, Jr. 92%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 92%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 92%
CA U.S. House 33 Henry Waxman Democratic 92%
Robert Wexler 92%
Bob Weygand 92%
Bob Wise, Jr. 92%
Jeff Bingaman 90%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 90%
Herb Kohl 90%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 90%
Robert Torricelli 90%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 90%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 88%
Howard Berman 88%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 88%
Rick Boucher 88%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 88%
William Clay, Sr. 88%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 88%
Jerry Costello 88%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 88%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 88%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 88%
Jonas Frost III 88%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 88%
Darlene Hooley 88%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 88%
Patrick Kennedy 88%
Gerald Kleczka 88%
James Maloney 88%
WA U.S. House 7 Jim McDermott Democratic 88%
CA U.S. House 11 George Miller Democratic 88%
David Minge 88%
Alan Mollohan 88%
NC U.S. House 4 David Price Democratic 88%
NY U.S. House 13 Charlie Rangel Democratic 88%
Timothy Roemer 88%
Steve Rothman 88%
CA U.S. House 46 Loretta Sanchez Democratic 88%
Vic Snyder 88%
MI U.S. Senate Jr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 88%
Pete Stark 88%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 88%
Albert Wynn 88%
Joseph Maxwell Cleland 85%
Bob Kerrey 85%
LA U.S. Senate Sr Mary Landrieu Democratic 85%
Charles Robb 85%
WV U.S. Senate Sr Jay Rockefeller IV Democratic 85%
Arlen Specter 85%
Rob Andrews 84%
Rod Blagojevich 84%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 84%
Patsy Ann Danner 84%
James Davis 84%
Norm Dicks 84%
Bob Etheridge 84%
Bart Gordon 84%
Tony Hall 84%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 84%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 84%
Michael McNulty 84%
Solomon Ortiz, Sr. 84%
Max Sandlin, Jr. 84%
CA U.S. House 30 Brad Sherman Democratic 84%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 84%
Ellen Tauscher 84%
Ed Towns 84%
Max Baucus 80%
Leonard Boswell 80%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top