or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Leadership Conference on Civil and Human Rights

2003-2004 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 94%
Gary Ackerman 100%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 0%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 100%
Todd Akin 0%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 7%
Rodney Alexander 63%
Wayne Allard 4%
George Allen 7%
Thomas Allen 100%
Rob Andrews 94%
Joe Baca, Sr. 95%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 0%
Brian Baird 95%
Richard Hugh Baker 11%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 100%
J. Gresham Barrett 0%
Roscoe Bartlett 11%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 5%
Charlie Bass 32%
Max Baucus 100%
Evan Bayh 89%
Bob Beauprez 11%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 100%
Bob Bennett 7%
Shelley Berkley 89%
Howard Berman 100%
Marion Berry 72%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 93%
Judy Biggert 26%
Michael Bilirakis 11%
Jeff Bingaman 93%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 0%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 83%
NY U.S. House 1 Tim Bishop Democratic 95%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 0%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 94%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 5%
Sherwood Boehlert 25%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 11%
Kit Bond 4%
Henry Bonilla 11%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 5%
Mary Bono Mack 26%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 5%
Leonard Boswell 89%
Rick Boucher 68%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 100%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 74%
NH State Senate 3 Jeb Bradley Republican 11%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 5%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 100%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 94%
Henry Brown, Jr. 11%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 100%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 0%
Ginny Brown-Waite 12%
Jim Bunning 4%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 5%
Conrad Burns 4%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 24%
Dan Burton 0%
NC U.S. House 1 G.K. Butterfield, Jr. Democratic 100%
Steve Buyer 6%
Robert Byrd 96%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 11%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 11%
Chris Cannon 7%
VA U.S. House 7 Eric Cantor Republican 11%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 100%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 26%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 100%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 100%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 100%
Dennis Cardoza 84%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 93%
Julia Carson 93%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 0%
Edward Case 95%
Mike Castle 37%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 11%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 43%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 0%
Ben Chandler III 75%
Chris Chocola 11%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 95%
Hillary Clinton 100%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 94%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 5%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 0%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 11%
Norm Coleman 14%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 32%
Kent Conrad 89%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 100%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 84%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 4%
Jon Corzine 100%
Jerry Costello 84%
Christopher Cox 11%
Larry Craig 0%
Robert Cramer 63%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 0%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 11%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 95%
Barbara Cubin 7%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 0%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 100%
Randall Cunningham 5%
Artur Davis 89%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 100%
James Davis 94%
Jo Ann Davis 11%
Lincoln Davis 68%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 100%
Thomas Davis III 11%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 0%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 100%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 100%
Bill Delahunt 100%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 100%
Thomas DeLay 11%
James DeMint 0%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 7%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 17%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 17%
Norm Dicks 94%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 100%
Chris Dodd 100%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 100%
Elizabeth Dole 7%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 4%
John Doolittle 5%
Byron Dorgan 96%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 100%
David Dreier 16%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 5%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 96%
Chet Edwards 68%
Vern Ehlers 11%
IL Mayor At-Large Rahm Emanuel Democratic 100%
Jo Ann Emerson 22%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 100%
Philip English 37%
John Ensign 4%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 4%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 100%
Bob Etheridge 89%
Lane Evans 100%
Terry Everett 0%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 95%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 100%
Tom Feeney 6%
Russ Feingold 96%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 89%
Michael Ferguson 24%
Bob Filner 100%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 11%
Mark Foley 28%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 11%
Harold Ford, Jr. 83%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 17%
Barney Frank 100%
AZ U.S. House 8 Trent Franks Republican 0%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 21%
William Frist 0%
Elton Gallegly 5%
NJ U.S. House 5 Scott Garrett Republican 0%
PA U.S. House 6 Jim Gerlach Republican 22%
Jim Gibbons 11%
Wayne Gilchrest 26%
Paul Gillmor 16%
GA U.S. House 11 Phil Gingrey Republican 0%
Charlie Gonzalez 95%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 5%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 5%
Bart Gordon 72%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 4%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 6%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 4%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 11%
Mark Green 16%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 95%
Judd Gregg 4%
AZ U.S. House 3 Raúl Grijalva Democratic 100%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 100%
Gilbert Gutknecht 0%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 4%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 16%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 100%
Jane Harman 94%
Katherine Harris 11%
Melissa Hart 11%
J. Dennis Hastert 0%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 100%
WA U.S. House 4 Doc Hastings Republican 11%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 4%
Robert Hayes 5%
J.D. Hayworth, Jr. 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top