or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Leadership Conference on Civil and Human Rights

1995-1996 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 100%
Howard Berman 100%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 100%
David Edward Bonior 100%
Bill Bradley 100%
Eva Clayton 100%
Cardiss Collins 100%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 100%
William Coyne 100%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 100%
Ronald Dellums 100%
Julian Dixon 100%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 100%
Lane Evans 100%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 100%
Bob Filner 100%
Thomas Foglietta 100%
Barney Frank 100%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 100%
Jesse Jackson, Jr. 100%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 100%
Edward Kennedy, Sr. 100%
Frank Lautenberg 100%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 100%
WA U.S. House 7 Jim McDermott Democratic 100%
Cynthia Ann McKinney 100%
Juanita Millender-McDonald 100%
CA U.S. House 11 George Miller Democratic 100%
Patsy Takemoto Mink 100%
Patrick Moynihan 100%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 100%
John Olver 100%
Major Owens 100%
Donald Payne 100%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 100%
Martin Olav Sabo 100%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 100%
Paul Sarbanes 100%
Pat Schroeder 100%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 100%
Gerry Studds 100%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 100%
Esteban Edward Torres 100%
Ed Towns 100%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 100%
Mel Watt 100%
CA U.S. House 33 Henry Waxman Democratic 100%
Paul Wellstone 100%
Sidney Yates 100%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 95%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett Democratic 95%
Jeff Bingaman 95%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 95%
George Brown, Jr. 95%
Thomas Daschle 95%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 95%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 95%
Sam Gejdenson 95%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 95%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 95%
Earl Hilliard, Jr. 95%
William Jefferson 95%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 95%
Joseph Kennedy II 95%
Patrick Kennedy 95%
John LaFalce 95%
Tom Lantos 95%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 95%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 95%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 95%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 95%
Matthew Martinez 95%
Carrie Meek 95%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 95%
Jim Oberstar 95%
AZ U.S. House 7 Ed Pastor Democratic 95%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 95%
Bruce Vento 95%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 95%
Lynn Woolsey 95%
Albert Wynn 95%
Anthony Beilenson 93%
John Bryant 93%
Barbara-Rose Collins 93%
Cleo Fields 93%
Clay Pell 93%
Charles Rose III 93%
Paul Simon 93%
Gary Ackerman 90%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 90%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 90%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 90%
William Clay, Sr. 90%
Chris Dodd 90%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 90%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 90%
Victor Fazio 90%
Russ Feingold 90%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 90%
Floyd Flake 90%
Daniel Inouye 90%
Bob Kerrey 90%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry Democratic 90%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 90%
Robert Matsui 90%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Barbara Mikulski Democratic 90%
Alan Mollohan 90%
Carol Moseley Braun 90%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 90%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 90%
WV U.S. House 3 Nick Rahall II Democratic 90%
NY U.S. House 13 Charlie Rangel Democratic 90%
Lynn Nancy Rivers 90%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 90%
OH State Senate 28 Thomas Sawyer Democratic 90%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 90%
David Skaggs 90%
Frank Tejeda 90%
Sam Gibbons 86%
Andrew Jacobs, Jr. 86%
ME Councilor At-Large John Baldacci Democratic 85%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 85%
Robert Borski, Jr. 85%
John Breaux 85%
Dale Bumpers 85%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 85%
Kent Conrad 85%
Norm Dicks 85%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 85%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 85%
Wendell Ford 85%
Elizabeth Furse 85%
John Glenn 85%
Henry Gonzalez 85%
Daniel Graham 85%
Tony Hall 85%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 85%
Barbara Bailey Kennelly 85%
Dale Kildee 85%
Gerald Kleczka 85%
MI U.S. House 9 Sandy Levin Democratic 85%
Karen McCarthy 85%
Martin Meehan 85%
John Moakley 85%
Solomon Ortiz, Sr. 85%
Charles Robb 85%
WV U.S. Senate Sr Jay Rockefeller IV Democratic 85%
NY U.S. House 25 Louise Slaughter Democratic 85%
Bart Stupak 85%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 80%
Byron Dorgan 80%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 80%
Maurice Hinchey 80%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 80%
Herb Kohl 80%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Carl Levin Democratic 80%
William Luther 80%
Thomas Manton 80%
Jack Murtha 80%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 80%
Earl Pomeroy 80%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 80%
NV U.S. Senate Sr Harry Reid Democratic 80%
Bill Richardson 80%
Louis Stokes 80%
Jim Chapman 79%
Ronald Coleman 79%
Mark Hatfield 79%
Harry Johnston 79%
Ray Thornton 79%
Pat Williams 79%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 79%
Rob Andrews 75%
Max Baucus 75%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 75%
Robert Byrd 75%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 75%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 75%
Peter Deutsch 75%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 75%
Jonas Frost III 75%
Paul Kanjorski 75%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 75%
Ronald Klink 75%
Joe Lieberman 75%
Paul McHale 75%
VA U.S. House 8 Jim Moran, Jr. Democratic 75%
Pete Stark 75%
Karen Thurman 75%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 75%
Bob Wise, Jr. 75%
Jim Exon 71%
Harold Volkmer 71%
Charles Wilson 71%
Henry Scott Baesler 70%
Rick Boucher 70%
Richard Bryan 70%
Jerry Costello 70%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 70%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top