Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: United Electrical Radio and Machine Workers

1999 Positions

Issues: Labor Unions
State Office District Name Party Rating
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 33%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 67%
CA U.S. House 13 Barbara Lee Democratic 83%
CA U.S. House 25 Buck McKeon Republican 0%
CA U.S. House 32 Grace Napolitano Democratic 67%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 33%
CA U.S. House 39 Ed Royce Republican 17%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 83%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 83%
CA U.S. House 46 Loretta Sanchez Democratic 50%
CT U.S. House 1 John Larson Democratic 33%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 83%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 0%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 33%
IA U.S. House 3 Tom Latham Republican 0%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 50%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 83%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 67%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 67%
IL U.S. House 9 Jan Schakowsky Democratic 83%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 83%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 33%
MA U.S. House 6 John Tierney Democratic 83%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 83%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Barbara Mikulski Democratic 33%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 33%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 50%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 0%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry Democratic 33%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 33%
NC U.S. House 3 Walter Jones, Jr. Republican 50%
NC U.S. House 4 David Price Democratic 67%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 17%
NC U.S. House 7 Mike McIntyre Democratic 50%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 7%
NJ U.S. House 9 Bill Pascrell, Jr. Democratic 83%
NJ U.S. House 12 Rush Holt, Jr. Democratic 83%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 0%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 83%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 17%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 83%
OH State Senate 28 Thomas Sawyer Democratic 50%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 17%
PA U.S. Senate Jr Pat Toomey Republican 17%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 83%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 50%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle Democratic 83%
PA Commissioner At-Large Joseph Hoeffel 50%
SD U.S. Senate Sr Timothy Johnson Democratic 50%
SD U.S. Senate Jr John Thune Republican 17%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 50%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 83%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 100%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 67%
WI U.S. House 1 Paul Ryan Republican 33%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 50%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 17%
WI U.S. House 6 Tom Petri Republican 33%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett Democratic 67%
WV U.S. Senate Sr Jay Rockefeller IV Democratic 33%
Rob Andrews 67%
Cass Ballenger 33%
Charlie Bass 0%
Evan Bayh 50%
Douglas Bereuter 0%
Howard Berman 33%
Rod Blagojevich 67%
Sherwood Boehlert 17%
Robert Borski, Jr. 50%
Leonard Boswell 50%
Robert Byrd 67%
Julia Carson 100%
Eva Clayton 83%
Gary Condit 67%
Christopher Cox 0%
William Coyne 50%
Thomas Daschle 33%
Bill Delahunt 83%
Julian Dixon 50%
Chris Dodd 33%
Calvin Dooley 17%
John Edwards 100%
Bob Ehrlich, Jr. 0%
Philip English 17%
Bob Etheridge 67%
Lane Evans 100%
Russ Feingold 100%
Peter Fitzgerald 33%
Barney Frank 67%
Robert Franks 17%
John Ganske 17%
Sam Gejdenson 50%
Paul Gillmor 0%
Rodney Grams 17%
James Greenwood 0%
Judd Gregg 17%
Tony Hall 50%
Robert Hayes 33%
Jesse Helms 67%
David Lee Hobson 0%
Thomas Holden 67%
Amory Houghton, Jr. 0%
Jesse Jackson, Jr. 83%
James Merrill Jeffords 17%
Nancy Johnson 0%
Sue Kelly 0%
Edward Kennedy, Sr. 33%
Bob Kerrey 50%
Gerald Kleczka 67%
Ronald Klink 83%
Herb Kohl 50%
Dennis Kucinich 100%
John LaFalce 50%
Steve LaTourette 0%
Frank Lautenberg 33%
James Leach 0%
Joe Lieberman 33%
William Lipinski 67%
Dick Lugar 0%
James Maloney 67%
Matthew Martinez 50%
Frank Mascara 100%
Robert Matsui 50%
John McHugh 50%
Michael McNulty 50%
Martin Meehan 50%
Juanita Millender-McDonald 50%
John Moakley 83%
Alan Mollohan 33%
Patrick Moynihan 33%
Sue Myrick 33%
James Nussle 0%
John Olver 50%
Major Owens 50%
Michael Oxley 0%
Donald Payne 50%
John Peterson 0%
John Edward Porter 0%
Jack Quinn 33%
James Ramstad 17%
Ralph Regula 0%
Charles Robb 33%
James Rogan 17%
Steve Rothman 33%
Marge Roukema 0%
Martin Olav Sabo 50%
Rick Santorum 17%
Paul Sarbanes 67%
Christopher Shays 17%
Bob Smith 67%
Mark Souder 50%
Arlen Specter 33%
Ted Strickland 83%
John Sununu 0%
John Sweeney 50%
Charles Taylor 33%
Robert Torricelli 33%
James Traficant, Jr. 83%
Stephanie Tubbs Jones 50%
Bruce Vento 83%
George Voinovich 3%
John Warner 0%
Mel Watt 83%
Gerald Weller 17%
Paul Wellstone 83%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top