Rating Group: United Electrical Radio and Machine Workers

2005 Positions

Issues: Labor Unions
State Office Name Party Rating
NA President Barack Obama II D 100%
CA U.S. Senate-Sr Dianne Feinstein D 84%
CA U.S. Senate-Jr Barbara Boxer D 100%
IA U.S. Senate-Sr Chuck Grassley R 0%
IA U.S. Senate-Jr Tom Harkin D 100%
IL U.S. Senate-Sr Dick Durbin D 100%
MA U.S. Senate-Jr Ed Markey D 100%
MD U.S. Senate-Sr Barbara Mikulski D 100%
MD U.S. Senate-Jr Ben Cardin D 67%
NC U.S. Senate-Sr Richard Burr R 0%
NJ U.S. Senate-Sr Bob Menendez D 67%
NY U.S. Senate-Sr Chuck Schumer D 100%
OH U.S. Senate-Sr Sherrod Brown D 100%
SD U.S. Senate-Sr Timothy Johnson D 50%
SD U.S. Senate-Jr John Thune R 17%
VT U.S. Senate-Sr Patrick Leahy D 100%
VT U.S. Senate-Jr Bernie Sanders I 100%
WI U.S. Senate-Jr Tammy Baldwin D 100%
WV U.S. Senate-Sr Jay Rockefeller IV D 100%
CA U.S. House-16 Jim Costa D 50%
CA U.S. House-25 Buck McKeon R 0%
CA U.S. House-28 Adam Schiff D 84%
CA U.S. House-30 Brad Sherman D 100%
CA U.S. House-31 Gary Miller R 0%
CA U.S. House-32 Grace Napolitano D 100%
CA U.S. House-34 Xavier Becerra D 100%
CA U.S. House-39 Ed Royce R 0%
CA U.S. House-40 Lucille Roybal-Allard D 84%
CA U.S. House-42 Ken Calvert R 0%
CA U.S. House-43 Maxine Waters D 100%
CA U.S. House-46 Loretta Sanchez D 67%
CT U.S. House-1 John Larson D 100%
CT U.S. House-3 Rosa DeLauro D 84%
IA U.S. House-3 Tom Latham R 0%
IA U.S. House-4 Steve King R 0%
IL U.S. House-1 Bobby Rush D 100%
IL U.S. House-3 Daniel Lipinski D 84%
IL U.S. House-4 Luis Gutierrez D 84%
IL U.S. House-7 Danny Davis D 100%
IL U.S. House-9 Jan Schakowsky D 100%
IN U.S. House-1 Pete Visclosky D 84%
MA U.S. House-1 Richard Neal D 100%
MA U.S. House-2 Jim McGovern D 100%
MA U.S. House-6 John Tierney D 100%
MA U.S. House-7 Mike Capuano D 100%
MA U.S. House-8 Stephen Lynch D 100%
MD U.S. House-2 Dutch Ruppersberger D 33%
MD U.S. House-7 Elijah Cummings D 100%
MN U.S. House-4 Betty McCollum DFL 100%
NC U.S. House-1 G.K. Butterfield, Jr. D 33%
NC U.S. House-3 Walter Jones, Jr. R 33%
NC U.S. House-4 David Price D 84%
NC U.S. House-5 Virginia Foxx R 17%
NC U.S. House-6 Howard Coble R 33%
NC U.S. House-7 Mike McIntyre D 17%
NC U.S. House-10 Patrick McHenry R 17%
NE U.S. House-1 Jeff Fortenberry R 0%
NJ U.S. House-4 Chris Smith R 17%
NJ U.S. House-9 Bill Pascrell, Jr. D 100%
NJ U.S. House-12 Rush Holt, Jr. D 100%
NY U.S. House-26 Brian Higgins D 50%
OH U.S. House-1 Steve Chabot R 0%
OH U.S. House-9 Marcy Kaptur D 100%
OH U.S. House-10 Mike Turner R 0%
OH U.S. House-13 Tim Ryan D 84%
PA U.S. House-1 Bob Brady D 100%
PA U.S. House-2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. D 100%
PA U.S. House-8 Mike Fitzpatrick R 17%
PA U.S. House-13 Allyson Schwartz D 67%
PA U.S. House-14 Mike Doyle, Jr. D 84%
PA U.S. House-15 Charlie Dent R 0%
PA U.S. House-18 Tim Murphy R 0%
VA U.S. House-3 Bobby Scott D 100%
VA U.S. House-6 Bob Goodlatte R 0%
WI U.S. House-1 Paul Ryan R 0%
WI U.S. House-3 Ron Kind D 67%
WI U.S. House-4 Gwen Moore D 100%
WI U.S. House-5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. R 0%
WI U.S. House-6 Tom Petri R 0%
MN Governor Mark Dayton DFL 100%
NH State Senate-3 Jeb Bradley R 0%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine R 0%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel R 17%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry D 100%
IL Mayor-At-Large Rahm Emanuel D 84%
George Allen 0%
Rob Andrews 33%
Joe Baca, Sr. 67%
Charlie Bass 0%
Evan Bayh 84%
Howard Berman 84%
Sherwood Boehlert 17%
Mary Bono Mack 0%
Leonard Boswell 50%
Robert Byrd 84%
Julia Carson 100%
Hillary Clinton 84%
Norm Coleman 0%
Jo Ann Davis 0%
Bill Delahunt 100%
Chris Dodd 84%
Elizabeth Dole 0%
David Dreier 0%
Philip English 0%
Bob Etheridge 50%
Lane Evans 100%
Russ Feingold 100%
Michael Ferguson 0%
Barney Frank 100%
Paul Gillmor 0%
Judd Gregg 0%
Melissa Hart 0%
Robert Hayes 0%
Stephanie Herseth Sandlin 50%
David Lee Hobson 0%
Thomas Holden 33%
Jesse Jackson, Jr. 100%
James Merrill Jeffords 50%
Nancy Johnson 0%
Sue Kelly 0%
Edward Kennedy, Sr. 100%
Herb Kohl 84%
Dennis Kucinich 100%
John Kuhl, Jr. 17%
Steve LaTourette 17%
Frank Lautenberg 100%
James Leach 33%
Jerry Lewis 0%
Joe Lieberman 67%
Dick Lugar 0%
John McHugh 33%
Michael McNulty 100%
Martin Meehan 100%
Juanita Millender-McDonald 84%
Alan Mollohan 67%
Sue Myrick 0%
Ben Nelson 0%
Robert William Ney 33%
James Nussle 0%
John Olver 100%
Major Owens 100%
Michael Oxley 0%
Donald Payne 100%
John Peterson 0%
Deborah Pryce 0%
George Radanovich 0%
James Ramstad 0%
Ralph Regula 0%
Steve Rothman 84%
Martin Olav Sabo 100%
Rick Santorum 0%
Paul Sarbanes 100%
Jim Saxton 0%
Christopher Shays 17%
Robert Ruhl Simmons 33%
Hilda Solis 84%
Mark Souder 0%
Arlen Specter 33%
Ted Strickland 84%
John Sununu 17%
John Sweeney 0%
Charles Taylor 0%
Stephanie Tubbs Jones 100%
George Voinovich 0%
John Warner 0%
Diane Watson 100%
Mel Watt 100%
Gerald Weller 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.