Rating Group: United Electrical Radio and Machine Workers

2002 Positions

Issues: Labor Unions
State Office Name Party Rating
CA U.S. Senate-Sr Dianne Feinstein D 43%
CA U.S. Senate-Jr Barbara Boxer D 86%
CA U.S. House-25 Buck McKeon R 0%
CA U.S. House-28 Adam Schiff D 72%
CA U.S. House-30 Brad Sherman D 86%
CA U.S. House-31 Gary Miller R 0%
CA U.S. House-32 Grace Napolitano D 100%
CA U.S. House-34 Xavier Becerra D 100%
CA U.S. House-39 Ed Royce R 0%
CA U.S. House-40 Lucille Roybal-Allard D 100%
CA U.S. House-42 Ken Calvert R 0%
CA U.S. House-43 Maxine Waters D 100%
CA U.S. House-46 Loretta Sanchez D 100%
CT U.S. House-1 John Larson D 100%
CT U.S. House-3 Rosa DeLauro D 100%
IA U.S. Senate-Sr Chuck Grassley R 0%
IA U.S. Senate-Jr Tom Harkin D 72%
IA U.S. House-3 Tom Latham R 0%
IL U.S. Senate-Sr Dick Durbin D 86%
IL U.S. Senate-Jr Mark Kirk R 14%
IL U.S. House-1 Bobby Rush D 72%
IL U.S. House-4 Luis Gutierrez D 86%
IL U.S. House-7 Danny Davis D 100%
IL U.S. House-9 Jan Schakowsky D 100%
IN U.S. House-1 Pete Visclosky D 100%
MA U.S. Senate-Jr Ed Markey D 86%
MA U.S. House-1 Richard Neal D 100%
MA U.S. House-2 Jim McGovern D 100%
MA U.S. House-6 John Tierney D 100%
MA U.S. House-7 Mike Capuano D 100%
MD U.S. Senate-Sr Barbara Mikulski D 86%
MD U.S. Senate-Jr Ben Cardin D 86%
MD U.S. House-7 Elijah Cummings D 100%
MN U.S. House-4 Betty McCollum DFL 100%
MN Governor Mark Dayton DFL 86%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel R 0%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry D 43%
NC U.S. Senate-Sr Richard Burr R 0%
NC U.S. House-3 Walter Jones, Jr. R 29%
NC U.S. House-4 David Price D 86%
NC U.S. House-6 Howard Coble R 29%
NC U.S. House-7 Mike McIntyre D 72%
NJ U.S. Senate-Sr Bob Menendez D 86%
NJ U.S. House-4 Chris Smith R 29%
NJ U.S. House-9 Bill Pascrell, Jr. D 72%
NJ U.S. House-12 Rush Holt, Jr. D 100%
NY U.S. Senate-Sr Chuck Schumer D 72%
OH U.S. Senate-Sr Sherrod Brown D 100%
OH U.S. House-1 Steve Chabot R 0%
OH U.S. House-9 Marcy Kaptur D 100%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine R 0%
PA U.S. Senate-Jr Pat Toomey R 0%
PA U.S. House-1 Bob Brady D 100%
PA U.S. House-2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. D 100%
PA U.S. House-14 Mike Doyle D 100%
PA Commissioner-At-Large Joseph Hoeffel 72%
SD U.S. Senate-Sr Timothy Johnson D 72%
VA U.S. House-3 Bobby Scott D 86%
VA U.S. House-6 Bob Goodlatte R 0%
VT U.S. Senate-Sr Patrick Leahy D 86%
VT U.S. Senate-Jr Bernie Sanders I 100%
WI U.S. Senate-Jr Tammy Baldwin D 100%
WI U.S. House-1 Paul Ryan R 0%
WI U.S. House-3 Ron Kind D 72%
WI U.S. House-5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. R 0%
WI U.S. House-6 Tom Petri R 14%
WV U.S. Senate-Sr Jay Rockefeller IV D 72%
George Allen 0%
Rob Andrews 72%
Joe Baca, Sr. 86%
Cass Ballenger 0%
Charlie Bass 14%
Evan Bayh 43%
Douglas Bereuter 14%
Howard Berman 86%
Sherwood Boehlert 14%
Mary Bono Mack 14%
Leonard Boswell 72%
Robert Byrd 100%
Julia Carson 100%
Hillary Clinton 72%
Jon Corzine 86%
Christopher Cox 0%
Thomas Daschle 43%
Bill Delahunt 100%
Chris Dodd 72%
Calvin Dooley 43%
David Dreier 0%
John Edwards 72%
Philip English 0%
Bob Etheridge 43%
Lane Evans 100%
Russ Feingold 100%
Michael Ferguson 14%
Peter Fitzgerald 14%
Barney Frank 86%
Paul Gillmor 0%
James Greenwood 14%
Judd Gregg 0%
Melissa Hart 0%
Robert Hayes 29%
David Lee Hobson 0%
Thomas Holden 57%
Amory Houghton, Jr. 29%
Jesse Jackson, Jr. 100%
James Merrill Jeffords 72%
Nancy Johnson 14%
Sue Kelly 0%
Edward Kennedy, Sr. 100%
Gerald Kleczka 100%
Herb Kohl 43%
Dennis Kucinich 100%
Steve LaTourette 43%
James Leach 29%
Jerry Lewis 0%
Joe Lieberman 43%
William Lipinski 57%
Dick Lugar 14%
John McHugh 43%
Michael McNulty 86%
Martin Meehan 57%
Juanita Millender-McDonald 86%
Alan Mollohan 86%
Sue Myrick 0%
Ben Nelson 0%
Robert William Ney 0%
James Nussle 0%
John Olver 100%
Major Owens 100%
Michael Oxley 0%
Donald Payne 100%
John Peterson 0%
Deborah Pryce 0%
Jack Quinn 43%
George Radanovich 0%
James Ramstad 14%
Ralph Regula 29%
Steve Rothman 72%
Martin Olav Sabo 100%
Rick Santorum 0%
Paul Sarbanes 100%
Jim Saxton 0%
Christopher Shays 14%
Robert Ruhl Simmons 43%
Hilda Solis 100%
Mark Souder 0%
Arlen Specter 29%
Ted Strickland 86%
John Sununu 0%
John Sweeney 0%
Charles Taylor 29%
Stephanie Tubbs Jones 100%
George Voinovich 14%
John Warner 14%
Diane Watson 100%
Mel Watt 100%
Gerald Weller 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.