or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: The Mackinac - Sierra Club Michigan Chapter

1995-1996 Positions

Issues: Environment
State Office District Name Party Rating
James Agee 100%
Tom Alley 10%
David Anthony 80%
Paul Timothy Baade 90%
Laura Baird 90%
Lyn Bankes 10%
Loren Bennett 0%
Jim Berryman 100%
William Bobier 0%
Beverly Bodem 10%
Mike Bouchard 0%
Robert Lincoln Brackenridge 0%
Elizabeth Brater 100%
Lingg Brewer 100%
William Byl 10%
Dianne Byrum 89%
Douglas Carl 22%
Deborah Cherry 100%
John Cherry, Jr. 100%
Nick Ciaramitaro 100%
Jon Cisky 33%
Joe Conroy 89%
Penny Crissman 10%
Alan Cropsey 0%
Candace Curtis 70%
Jessie Dalman 0%
Kenneth DeBeaussaert 100%
Dan DeGrow 11%
Eileen DeHart 100%
Christopher Dingell 78%
Barbara Dobb 10%
Agnes Marie Dobronski 70%
Mat Dunaskiss 0%
Robert Emerson 80%
Joanne Gregory Emmons 0%
Frank Fitzgerald 0%
John Freeman 90%
Patrick Gagliardi 60%
David Galloway 10%
Harry Gast 0%
R. Robert Geake 0%
Terry Geiger 0%
John Gernaat 0%
Donald Gilmer 0%
Sharon Gire 100%
Michael Goschka 40%
Joel Gougeon 0%
Michael Griffin 50%
David Gubow 100%
Dan Gustafson 0%
Beverly Hammerstrom 40%
MI Commissioner 11 Michael Hanley 100%
Clark Harder 50%
George Zaven Hart 89%
Curtis Hertel 70%
Philip Edward Hoffman 11%
David Michael Honigman 0%
Morris Hood, Jr. 70%
Jack Horton 0%
David Jaye 50%
Jon Jellema 10%
Shirley Johnson 0%
Gregory John Kaza 50%
Thomas Kelly 70%
Don Koivisto 67%
Alvin Kukuk 10%
Edward LaForge 90%
Gerald Law 0%
MI Commissioner 6 Burton Leland 70%
Clyde LeTarte 0%
John Llewellyn 0%
Terry London 10%
Allen Lowe 0%
Lynne Martinez 90%
Thomas Mathieu 60%
Jim McBryde 0%
George McManus, Jr. 0%
Michelle McManus 0%
James Roger McNutt 0%
James Mick Middaugh 0%
Thomas Middleton 0%
Arthur Miller, Jr. 67%
Raymond Murphy 40%
Walter North 11%
Michael Nye 0%
Michael O'Brien 100%
Dennis Olshove 90%
Lynn Owen 20%
Glenn Oxender 0%
MI Commissioner 15 Joseph Palamara 80%
Mary Lou Parks 80%
Charles Perricone 0%
Gregory Pitoniak 50%
Dick Posthumus 0%
Hubert Price, Jr. 100%
Kirk Profit 70%
Michael Prusi 86%
Kim Alan Rhead 0%
Sue Rocca 60%
Mary Schroer 90%
John Schwarz 0%
Dale Shugars 0%
Kenneth Sikkema 0%
Alma Smith 100%
Virgil Clark Smith, Jr. 67%
Henry Edward Stallings II 89%
Glenn Steil, Jr. 0%
Leon Stille 0%
William VanRegenmorter 0%
MI Commissioner 4 Ilona Varga 60%
Edward Vaughn 90%
Jackie Vaughn III 100%
Harold Voorhees 10%
Ted Wallace 80%
Howard Wetters 50%
Deborah Whyman 30%
Karen Willard 100%
Joseph Young, Jr. 78%
MI U.S. House 14 Gary Peters Democratic 67%
MI Commissioner 3 Martha Scott Democratic 90%
MI Commissioner 3 Paul Tesanovich Democratic 80%
MI State Senate 31 Mike Green Republican 0%
MI U.S. House 8 Mike Rogers Republican 0%
MI Attorney General Bill Schuette Republican 0%
MI U.S. House 7 Tim Walberg Republican 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top