or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: FreedomWorks

2005 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 12%
Gary Ackerman 6%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 65%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 6%
Todd Akin 82%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 69%
Rodney Alexander 71%
Wayne Allard 81%
George Allen 88%
Thomas Allen 12%
Rob Andrews 12%
Joe Baca, Sr. 29%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 65%
Brian Baird 24%
Richard Hugh Baker 65%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 6%
J. Gresham Barrett 82%
GA U.S. House 12 John Barrow Democratic 41%
Roscoe Bartlett 65%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 82%
Charlie Bass 59%
Max Baucus 13%
Evan Bayh 13%
Melissa Bean 41%
Bob Beauprez 71%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 12%
Bob Bennett 69%
Shelley Berkley 24%
Howard Berman 18%
Marion Berry 35%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 0%
Judy Biggert 65%
Michael Bilirakis 65%
Jeff Bingaman 25%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 71%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 35%
NY U.S. House 1 Tim Bishop Democratic 12%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 76%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 12%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 71%
Sherwood Boehlert 41%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 88%
Kit Bond 69%
Henry Bonilla 71%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 76%
Mary Bono Mack 71%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 76%
Dan Boren 53%
Leonard Boswell 12%
Rick Boucher 29%
LA U.S. House 3 Charles Boustany, Jr. Republican 65%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 0%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 29%
NH State Senate 3 Jeb Bradley Republican 53%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 76%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 6%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 18%
Henry Brown, Jr. 71%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 12%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 81%
Ginny Brown-Waite 53%
Jim Bunning 75%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 76%
Conrad Burns 69%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 88%
Dan Burton 71%
NC U.S. House 1 G.K. Butterfield, Jr. Democratic 18%
Steve Buyer 65%
Robert Byrd 6%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 71%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 71%
Chris Cannon 76%
VA U.S. House 7 Eric Cantor Republican 76%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 25%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 65%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 12%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 12%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 12%
Dennis Cardoza 35%
Russ Carnahan 12%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 25%
Julia Carson 12%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 71%
Edward Case 24%
Mike Castle 59%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 76%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 25%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 75%
Ben Chandler III 24%
Chris Chocola 82%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 29%
MO U.S. House 5 Emanuel Cleaver II Democratic 6%
Hillary Clinton 0%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 18%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 53%
OK U.S. Senate Jr Thomas Coburn Republican 94%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 69%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 76%
Norm Coleman 50%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 31%
TX U.S. House 11 Mike Conaway Republican 76%
Kent Conrad 13%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 18%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 29%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 88%
CA U.S. House 16 Jim Costa Democratic 35%
Jerry Costello 24%
Larry Craig 75%
Robert Cramer 53%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 75%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 71%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 12%
Barbara Cubin 59%
TX U.S. House 28 Henry Cuellar Democratic 59%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 71%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 12%
Artur Davis 29%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 18%
Geoff Davis 71%
James Davis 6%
Jo Ann Davis 65%
Lincoln Davis 47%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 12%
Thomas Davis III 65%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 0%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 65%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 12%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 6%
Bill Delahunt 12%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 12%
Thomas DeLay 71%
James DeMint 94%
PA U.S. House 15 Charlie Dent Republican 71%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 50%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 65%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 71%
Norm Dicks 24%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 12%
Chris Dodd 6%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 12%
Elizabeth Dole 75%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 69%
John Doolittle 59%
Byron Dorgan 0%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 12%
Thelma Drake 76%
David Dreier 71%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 71%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 0%
Chet Edwards 41%
Vern Ehlers 59%
IL Mayor At-Large Rahm Emanuel Democratic 18%
Jo Ann Emerson 65%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 12%
Philip English 76%
John Ensign 81%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 69%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 18%
Bob Etheridge 12%
Lane Evans 6%
Terry Everett 65%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 18%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 12%
Tom Feeney 76%
Russ Feingold 13%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 13%
Michael Ferguson 65%
Bob Filner 18%
PA U.S. House 8 Mike Fitzpatrick Republican 53%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 100%
Mark Foley 59%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 71%
Harold Ford, Jr. 29%
NE U.S. House 1 Jeff Fortenberry Republican 71%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 71%
NC U.S. House 5 Virginia Foxx Republican 71%
Barney Frank 6%
AZ U.S. House 8 Trent Franks Republican 71%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 59%
William Frist 75%
Elton Gallegly 65%
NJ U.S. House 5 Scott Garrett Republican 71%
PA U.S. House 6 Jim Gerlach Republican 59%
Jim Gibbons 65%
Wayne Gilchrest 59%
Paul Gillmor 59%
GA U.S. House 11 Phil Gingrey Republican 71%
TX U.S. House 1 Louie Gohmert Republican 76%
Charlie Gonzalez 18%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 59%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 76%
Bart Gordon 41%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 88%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 71%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 75%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 65%
TX U.S. House 9 Al Green Democratic 12%
Mark Green 71%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 12%
Judd Gregg 75%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top