Rating Group: Lambda Letters Project

2004 HIV/AIDS Policy Score

State Office Name Party Rating
CA U.S. House-1 Doug LaMalfa R 0%
CA U.S. House-4 Tom McClintock R 33%
CA U.S. House-10 Jeff Denham R 0%
CA U.S. House-14 Jackie Speier D 100%
CA U.S. House-23 Kevin McCarthy R 6%
CA U.S. House-27 Judy Chu D 100%
CA U.S. House-35 Gloria Negrete McLeod D 100%
CA U.S. House-45 John Campbell III R 0%
CA U.S. House-47 Alan Lowenthal D 100%
CA U.S. House-51 Juan Vargas D 100%
CA State Assembly-2 Wesley Chesbro D 100%
CA State Senate-3 Lois Wolk D 100%
CA State Senate-6 Darrell Steinberg D 100%
CA State Senate-9 Loni Hancock D 94%
CA State Senate-10 Ellen Corbett D 100%
CA State Senate-11 Mark Leno D 100%
CA State Senate-19 Hannah-Beth Jackson D 100%
CA State Senate-25 Carol Liu D 83%
CA State Senate-27 Fran Pavley D 89%
CA State Senate-30 Ron Calderon D 100%
CA State Senate-34 Lou Correa D 56%
CA State Senate-38 Mark Wyland R 11%
CA Secretary of State Debra Bowen D 78%
CA Supervisor-2 Mark Ridley-Thomas D 100%
CA Supervisor-3 Wilma Chan D 100%
CA Supervisor-3 Todd Spitzer R 22%
CA Supervisor-4 John Benoit 0%
CA Supervisor-5 Bruce McPherson 44%
CA Supervisor-5 Saren Simitian D 100%
CA Council Member-1 Gilbert Cedillo D 94%
CA Council Member-5 Paul Koretz D 83%
CA Council Member-6 David Cogdill R 0%
CA Council Member-At-Large Alan Nakanishi 11%
CA Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson D 100%
Samuel Aanestad 0%
Richard Ackerman 0%
Gregory Aghazarian 0%
Richard Alarcón 100%
Deirdre Alpert 100%
Roy Ashburn 6%
Pat Bates 22%
James Battin 17%
Patty Berg 100%
Rudy Bermúdez 94%
Russell Bogh 0%
James Brulte 0%
John Burton 100%
Joseph Canciamilla 100%
Edward Chavez 94%
Rebecca Cohn 100%
Dave Cox 0%
Lynn Daucher 39%
Manny Diaz 100%
Denise Ducheny 83%
Joseph Dunn 83%
John Anthony Dutra 100%
Robert Dutton 11%
Mervyn Dymally 94%
Martha Escutia 94%
Liz Figueroa 100%
Marco Antonio Firebaugh 94%
Dean Florez 22%
Dario Frommer 100%
Bonnie Garcia 28%
Jackie Goldberg 100%
Tom Harman 0%
Ray Haynes, Jr. 0%
Dennis Hollingsworth 0%
Jerome Horton 94%
Shirley Horton 39%
Guy Houston 22%
Ross Johnson 6%
Betty Karnette 100%
Richard Keene 0%
Christine Kehoe 94%
Sheila Kuehl 100%
John Laird 100%
Jay La Suer 6%
Robert Leslie 0%
Lloyd Levine 100%
Sally Lieber 100%
John Longville 100%
Michael Machado 94%
Ken Maddox 6%
Abel Maldonado 61%
Bob Margett 22%
Barbara Matthews 56%
Bill Maze 11%
Cindy Montañez 89%
William Phillip Morrow 11%
Dennis Lee Mountjoy 0%
Eugene Mullin 83%
Kevin Murray 94%
George Nakano 83%
Joseph Nation 94%
Fabian Núñez 100%
Thomas Oller 0%
Jenny Oropeza 100%
Deborah Ortiz 94%
Robert Pacheco 11%
Nicole Parra 44%
Don Perata 100%
George Plescia 11%
Charles Poochigian 0%
Sarah Reyes 78%
Keith Stuart Richman 50%
Gloria Romero 94%
Sharon Runner 6%
Simón Salinas 100%
Steve Samuelian 11%
Jack Scott 100%
Byron Sher 100%
Nell Soto 100%
Tony Strickland 0%
John Vasconcellos 100%
Edward Vincent 67%
Herb Wesson, Jr. 100%
Patricia Wiggins 100%
Leland Yee 100%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.