Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: New Mexico Public Interest Research Group

2001 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
Rod Adair 33%
Ben Altamirano 11%
Manny Aragon 33%
Marsha Ann Carter Atkin 40%
Shirley Bailey 33%
Ray Begaye 56%
Mark Boitano 22%
William Boykin 30%
Donald Bratton 40%
George Duval Buffett 30%
Robert Burpo 22%
NM State Senate 8 Pete Campos Democratic 44%
Joseph Carraro 29%
NM State Senate 31 Joseph Cervantes Democratic 70%
NM State House 18 Gail Chasey Democratic 80%
NM State Senate 6 Carlos Cisneros Democratic 33%
Max Coll 80%
Kandy Cordova 60%
Kent Cravens 22%
Anna Crook 22%
Dianna Duran 33%
Dede Feldman 78%
Joseph Fidel 33%
Daniel Foley 10%
William Fuller 40%
Mary Helen Garcia 60%
Mary Jane Garcia 56%
NM State House 14 Miguel Garcia Democratic 80%
Ron Godbey 50%
NM State House 42 Roberto Gonzales Democratic 56%
Ramsay Gorham 44%
Phil Griego 25%
Pauline Gubbels 33%
NM State House 38 Dianne Hamilton Republican 30%
George Hanosh 20%
John Heaton 60%
Manuel Herrera 56%
Ted Hobbs 20%
Allen Hurt 33%
NM State Senate 27 Stuart Ingle Republican 33%
NM State House 32 Dona Irwin Democratic 60%
Timothy Jennings 44%
Don Kidd 33%
Rhonda Sue King 33%
Steve Komadina 33%
NM State House 27 Lorenzo Larrañaga Republican 40%
NM State Senate 41 Carroll Leavell Republican 25%
Ben Lujan, Sr. 60%
Fred Luna 67%
NM State House 9 Patricia Lundstrom Democratic 70%
Patrick Lyons 25%
NM State House 65 James Madalena, Jr. Democratic 78%
Roman Maes III 43%
Terry Marquardt 30%
NM State Senate 5 Richard Martinez Democratic 33%
NM State House 69 Ken Martinez Democratic 70%
NM State Senate 16 Cisco McSorley Democratic 56%
Rick Miera 60%
Joseph Mohorovic 20%
Brian Moore 30%
Cynthia Nava 38%
NM State House 36 Andy Nuñez Republican 56%
NM State Senate 38 Mary Papen Democratic 33%
Al Park 70%
NM State Senate 20 William Payne Republican 33%
Danice Picraux 89%
NM State Senate 3 John Pinto Democratic 29%
Pauline Ponce 60%
Lidio Rainaldi 33%
Leonard Lee Rawson 33%
Bengie Regensberg 60%
Earlene Roberts 33%
Shannon Robinson 11%
NM State House 41 Debbie Rodella Democratic 70%
NM State Senate 24 Nancy Rodriguez Democratic 56%
Richard Romero 33%
Raymond Ruiz 60%
Judy Vanderstar Russell 50%
Henry Saavedra 60%
NM State House 40 Nick Salazar Democratic 70%
Bernadette Sanchez 44%
NM Lieutenant Governor John Sanchez Republican 30%
NM State Senate 29 Michael Sanchez Democratic 33%
Edward Sandoval 63%
NM State Senate 1 William Sharer Republican 33%
Daniel Silva 44%
NM State Senate 35 John Smith Democratic 33%
Helen Diane Snyder 44%
Joe Stell, Jr. 56%
NM Commissioner At-Large Mimi Stewart 80%
NM State Senate 17 Mimi Stewart Democratic 80%
James Taylor 40%
John Paul Taylor 70%
Thomas Taylor 30%
Joseph Thompson 0%
James Nicholas Tinnin, Jr. 33%
Sandra Townsend 20%
NM State House 49 Don Tripp Republican 22%
Patsy Trujillo 60%
Leonard Tsosie 43%
Mario Urioste 60%
NM State House 48 Luciano Varela Democratic 70%
Gloria Vaughn 20%
Richard Vigil 70%
Jeannette Wallace 40%
Leo Watchman, Jr. 33%
Donald Whitaker 44%
Walter Williams 30%
NM State House 19 Sheryl Williams-Stapleton Democratic 50%
Avon Wilson 40%
NM State Senate 19 Sue Wilson Beffort Republican 44%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top