Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Americans for Prosperity - Arizona Chapter

2008 Positions on Conservative Issues

State Office District Name Party Rating
AZ U.S. House 9 Kyrsten Sinema Democratic 10
AZ State House 1 Andy Tobin, Sr. Republican 75
AZ State House 7 Albert Hale Democratic 8
AZ State House 12 Eddie Farnsworth Republican 93
AZ State House 18 Bob Robson Republican 77
AZ State House 23 John Kavanagh Republican 89
AZ State House 24 Chad Campbell Democratic 5
AZ State House 30 Debbie McCune Davis Democratic 7
AZ State Senate 3 Olivia Cajero Bedford Democratic 9
AZ State Senate 4 Lynne Pancrazi Democratic 5
AZ State Senate 8 Barbara McGuire Democratic 9
AZ State Senate 9 Steve Farley Democratic 3
AZ State Senate 10 Dave Bradley Democratic 6
AZ State Senate 12 Andy Biggs Republican 96
AZ State Senate 15 Nancy Barto Republican 80
AZ State Senate 17 Steven Yarbrough Republican 84
AZ State Senate 18 John McComish Republican 77
AZ State Senate 21 Rick Murphy Republican 82
AZ State Senate 22 Judy Burges Republican 85
AZ State Senate 23 Michele Reagan Republican 36
AZ State Senate 26 Ed Ableser Democratic 5
AZ State Senate 27 Leah Landrum Taylor Democratic 42
AZ State Senate 28 Adam Driggs Republican 79
AZ State Senate 29 Steve Gallardo Democratic 5
AZ State Senate 30 Robert Meza Democratic 5
AZ Corporation Commission Chairman Bob Stump Republican 82
AZ Corporation Commissioner Robert Burns Republican 88
AZ Mayor Position 4 Jerry Weiers Republican 81
AZ Mayor At-Large Jay Tibshraeny Republican 27
AZ Vice Mayor 2 Jim Waring Republican 81
AZ Supervisor 1 Peter Rios Democratic 6
AZ Superintendent of Public Instruction John Huppenthal Republican 84
Paula Aboud 17
Kirk Adams 79
Amanda Aguirre 7
Carolyn Allen 16
Manny Alvarez 11
Mark Anderson 82
Marsha Arzberger 8
Ray Barnes 80
Timothy Bee 28
Robert Blendu 49
Tom Boone 78
Jack Brown 6
Jennifer Burns 10
Meg Burton Cahill 8
Cloves Campbell, Jr. 12
Tom Chabin 6
Ken Cheuvront 34
Doug Clark 80
Rich Crandall 76
Sam Crump 82
Mark DeSimone 17
Jorge Garcia 13
Martha Garcia 6
Pamela Gorman 56
Ron Gould 96
Chuck Gray 80
Linda Gray 74
Trish Groe 99
Jack Harper 89
Pete Hershberger 10
Karen Johnson 67
Bill Konopnicki 74
Barbara Leff 75
Phil Lopes 6
Linda Lopez 10
David Lujan 3
Lucy Mason 27
Marian Ann McClure 72
Nancy McLain 82
Ben Miranda 6
John Nelson 75
Warde Nichols 81
Tom O'Halleran 11
Jonathan Paton 69
Russell Pearce 89
Charlene Pesquiera 7
Thomas Prezelski, Jr. 5
Rebecca Rios 4
David Schapira 5
Victor Soltero 16
Jackie Thrasher 6
Albert Tom 5
Theresa Ulmer 6
Thayer Verschoor 83
Jim Weiers 80
Nancy Young Wright 6

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top