Search Form
Now choose a category »

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Montana National Federation of Independent Business

2007-2008 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
MT State House 43 Duane Ankney Republican 78%
MT State Senate 27 Elsie Arntzen Republican 78%
MT State Senate 8 Shannon Augare Democratic 33%
Keith Bales 89%
Joe Balyeat 89%
Gregory Barkus 89%
William Beck, Sr. 89%
Arlene Becker 22%
Bob Bergren 44%
Jerry Black 86%
MT State House 10 Mark Blasdel Republican 100%
Roy Brown 89%
John Brueggeman 78%
Edward Butcher 100%
MT State Senate 40 Mary Caferro Democratic 33%
Margarett Campbell 44%
Jill Cohenour 11%
Mike Cooney 33%
Aubyn Curtiss 89%
Sue Dickenson 22%
MT State Senate 26 Robyn Driscoll Democratic 33%
Robert Ebinger, Jr. 44%
John Esp 89%
MT State Senate 28 Jeffrey Essmann Republican 89%
Julie French 44%
Tim Furey 44%
Steven Gallus 33%
Kelly Gebhardt 78%
Kim Gillan 56%
William Glaser 78%
Wanda Grinde 33%
Robin Hamilton 33%
Betsy Hands 11%
Kenneth Hansen 44%
Ray Hawk 100%
Robert Hawks 33%
Gordon Hendrick 78%
Teresa Henry 33%
Dennis Himmelberger 100%
Cynthia Hiner 44%
MT State House 81 Galen Hollenbaugh Democratic 33%
MT State House 13 Pat Ingraham Republican 100%
MT State Senate 5 Verdell Jackson Republican 89%
MT State Senate 32 Larry Jent Democratic 33%
MT State Senate 14 Llewelyn Jones Republican 78%
Mike Jopek 44%
Carol Juneau 33%
Dave Kasten 100%
MT State Senate 41 Christine Kaufmann Democratic 44%
MT State House 58 Krayton Kerns Republican 89%
Harry Klock 89%
Deborah Kottel 44%
Richard Laible 78%
MT Public Service Commission Vice Chair Bob Lake Republican 100%
Jesse Laslovich 33%
MT State Senate 42 Dave Lewis Republican 78%
Gary MacLaren 78%
Dave McAlpin 22%
MT State House 40 Bill McChesney Democratic 56%
Daniel McGee 71%
Tom McGillvray 100%
Walter McNutt 78%
Scott Mendenhall 100%
Mike Milburn 78%
Penny Armstrong Morgan 89%
Lynda Moss 33%
MT State Senate 39 Terry Murphy Republican 89%
Art Noonan 44%
Bill Nooney 78%
MT State House 18 Jesse O'Hara Republican 89%
Gary Perry 89%
MT State Senate 15 Jim Peterson Republican 89%
Kenneth Peterson 44%
MT State Senate 33 Mike Phillips Democratic 33%
MT State House 66 Jennifer Pomnichowski Democratic 44%
Michele Reinhart 33%
MT State Senate 34 Scott Sales Republican 100%
Diane Sands 33%
Trudi Schmidt 33%
MT State Senate 37 Jon Sesso Democratic 44%
Jim Shockley 56%
MT State Senate 4 Jon Sonju Republican 89%
MT State House 96 Carolyn Squires Democratic 33%
Wayne Stahl 67%
Donald Steinbeisser 89%
Ronald Stoker 89%
Robert Story, Jr. 89%
MT State Senate 6 Janna Taylor Republican 100%
Joseph Tropila 33%
MT State Senate 12 Mitch Tropila Democratic 33%
MT State Senate 25 Kendall Van Dyk Democratic 33%
MT Budget Director Dan Villa Democratic 33%
MT State Senate 1 Chas Vincent Republican 89%
MT State Senate 49 David Wanzenried Democratic 33%
Carol Williams 33%
MT State House 63 Franke Wilmer Democratic 33%
Bill Wilson 22%
MT State Senate 16 Jonathan Windy Boy Democratic 44%
Brady Wiseman 22%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top