or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: The John Birch Society

2011 Positions (Summer-Fall)

State Office District Name Party Rating
Gary Ackerman 10%
Sandy Adams 85%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 20%
Todd Akin 95%
Rodney Alexander 65%
Jason Altmire 35%
Rob Andrews 11%
Steve Austria 70%
Joe Baca, Sr. 17%
Roscoe Bartlett 85%
Charlie Bass 58%
Max Baucus 30%
Rick Berg 75%
Shelley Berkley 15%
Howard Berman 0%
Judy Biggert 53%
Brian Bilbray 50%
Jeff Bingaman 25%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 70%
Mary Bono Mack 63%
Dan Boren 60%
Leonard Boswell 25%
Scott Brown 35%
Ann Marie Buerkle 80%
Dan Burton 85%
Francisco Canseco 75%
Eric Cantor 65%
Dennis Cardoza 26%
Russ Carnahan 15%
Ben Chandler III 20%
Hansen Clarke 25%
Kent Conrad 15%
Jerry Costello 50%
Chip Cravaack 75%
Mark Critz 40%
Geoff Davis 80%
James DeMint 80%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 68%
Norm Dicks 0%
Robert Dold 55%
David Dreier 60%
Jo Ann Emerson 75%
Bob Filner 11%
Barney Frank 20%
Elton Gallegly 70%
Charlie Gonzalez 21%
Frank Guinta 85%
Nan Hayworth 60%
Wally Herger, Jr. 75%
Maurice Hinchey 19%
Kathy Hochul 9%
Thomas Holden 35%
Kay Hutchison 55%
Daniel Inouye 11%
Jesse Jackson, Jr. 21%
Tim Johnson 95%
Dale Kildee 10%
Larry Kissell 20%
Herb Kohl 20%
Dennis Kucinich 30%
Jon Kyl 60%
Jeff Landry 90%
Steve LaTourette 60%
Frank Lautenberg 30%
Jerry Lewis 68%
Joe Lieberman 11%
Dick Lugar 55%
Dan Lungren 65%
Connie Mack IV 95%
Don Manzullo 89%
Thaddeus McCotter 79%
Brad Miller 10%
Sue Myrick 88%
Ben Nelson 35%
John Olver 12%
Ron Paul 100%
Donald Payne 21%
Todd Platts 70%
David Pryor 15%
Ben Quayle 79%
Denny Rehberg 80%
Silvestre Reyes 26%
Laura Richardson 30%
David Rivera 70%
Mike Ross 45%
Steve Rothman 0%
Bobby Schilling 75%
Jean Schmidt 85%
Heath Shuler 28%
Olympia Snowe 60%
Pete Stark 30%
Cliff Stearns 90%
John Sullivan 84%
Betty Sutton 15%
Ed Towns 26%
Bob Turner 67%
Joe Walsh 89%
Mel Watt 15%
Jim Webb, Jr. 21%
Allen West 85%
Lynn Woolsey 30%
Bill Young 72%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 25%
GA U.S. House 12 John Barrow Democratic 35%
CA U.S. House 37 Karen Bass Democratic 10%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 11%
AK U.S. Senate Jr Mark Begich Democratic 20%
CO U.S. Senate Jr Michael Bennet Democratic 20%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 33%
NY U.S. House 1 Tim Bishop Democratic 15%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 10%
CT U.S. Senate Sr Richard Blumenthal Democratic 22%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 20%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 10%
IA U.S. House 1 Bruce Braley Democratic 30%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 11%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 25%
NC U.S. House 1 G.K. Butterfield, Jr. Democratic 15%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 25%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 10%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 28%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 25%
DE U.S. House At-Large John Carney, Jr. Democratic 5%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 20%
IN U.S. House 7 André Carson Democratic 15%
PA U.S. Senate Sr Bob Casey, Jr. Democratic 20%
FL U.S. House 14 Kathy Castor Democratic 11%
CA U.S. House 27 Judy Chu Democratic 15%
RI U.S. House 1 David Cicilline Democratic 25%
NY U.S. House 9 Yvette Clarke Democratic 30%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 20%
MO U.S. House 5 Emanuel Cleaver II Democratic 25%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 5%
TN U.S. House 9 Steve Cohen Democratic 21%
VA U.S. House 11 Gerry Connolly Democratic 15%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 26%
DE U.S. Senate Jr Chris Coons Democratic 25%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 10%
CA U.S. House 16 Jim Costa Democratic 15%
CT U.S. House 2 Joe Courtney Democratic 16%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 11%
TX U.S. House 28 Henry Cuellar Democratic 25%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 15%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 15%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 5%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 30%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 10%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 15%
FL U.S. House 21 Ted Deutch Democratic 6%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 6%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 10%
IN U.S. Senate Jr Joe Donnelly, Sr. Democratic 30%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 20%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 15%
MD U.S. House 4 Donna Edwards Democratic 15%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 20%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 5%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 20%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 10%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 20%
OH U.S. House 11 Marcia Fudge Democratic 21%
CA U.S. House 3 John Garamendi Democratic 11%
NY U.S. Senate Jr Kirsten Gillibrand Democratic 25%
TX U.S. House 9 Al Green Democratic 25%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 16%
AZ U.S. House 3 Raúl Grijalva Democratic 30%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 20%
NC U.S. Senate Jr Kay Hagan Democratic 30%
CA U.S. House 44 Janice Hahn Democratic 25%
HI U.S. House 1 Colleen Hanabusa Democratic 15%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 25%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 25%
NM U.S. Senate Jr Martin Heinrich Democratic 15%
NY U.S. House 26 Brian Higgins Democratic 10%
CT U.S. House 4 Jim Himes Democratic 15%
TX U.S. House 15 Rubén Hinojosa, Sr. Democratic 19%
HI U.S. Senate Jr Mazie Hirono Democratic 16%
NJ U.S. House 12 Rush Holt, Jr. Democratic 20%
CA U.S. House 17 Mike Honda Democratic 20%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 0%
WA Governor Jay Inslee Democratic 10%
NY U.S. House 3 Steve Israel Democratic 10%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 21%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 5%
GA U.S. House 4 Hank Johnson, Jr. Democratic 10%
SD U.S. Senate Sr Timothy Johnson Democratic 15%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 21%
MA U.S. House 9 Bill Keating Democratic 20%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry Democratic 21%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 0%
LA U.S. Senate Sr Mary Landrieu Democratic 20%
RI U.S. House 2 Jim Langevin Democratic 10%
WA U.S. House 2 Rick Larsen Democratic 10%
CT U.S. House 1 John Larson Democratic 20%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 25%
CA U.S. House 13 Barbara Lee Democratic 30%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Carl Levin Democratic 5%
MI U.S. House 9 Sandy Levin Democratic 0%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 28%
IL U.S. House 3 Daniel Lipinski Democratic 20%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top