or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: The John Birch Society

2007 Conservative Index Score

State Office District Name Party Rating
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 0%
NY U.S. Senate Jr Kirsten Gillibrand Democratic 30%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 60%
OH U.S. House 4 Jim Jordan Republican 70%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 60%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 40%
OH U.S. House 10 Mike Turner Republican 50%
OH U.S. House 12 Pat Tiberi Republican 60%
OH U.S. House 13 Tim Ryan Democratic 30%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 20%
OK U.S. House 3 Frank Lucas Republican 60%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 60%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 89%
OK U.S. Senate Jr Thomas Coburn Republican 100%
OK Governor Mary Fallin Republican 60%
OR U.S. House 2 Greg Walden Republican 30%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 30%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 30%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 0%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 17%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 20%
PA U.S. House 6 Jim Gerlach Republican 30%
PA U.S. House 9 Bill Shuster Republican 60%
PA U.S. House 13 Allyson Schwartz Democratic 20%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 30%
PA U.S. House 15 Charlie Dent Republican 30%
PA U.S. House 16 Joe Pitts Republican 75%
PA U.S. House 18 Tim Murphy Republican 50%
PA U.S. Senate Sr Bob Casey, Jr. Democratic 20%
RI U.S. House 2 Jim Langevin Democratic 30%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 10%
RI U.S. Senate Jr Sheldon Whitehouse Democratic 10%
SC U.S. House 2 Joe Wilson, Sr. Republican 60%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 30%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 56%
SD U.S. Senate Jr John Thune Republican 70%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 89%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 10%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 60%
TN U.S. House 9 Steve Cohen Democratic 20%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 70%
TN U.S. Senate Jr Robert Corker Republican 70%
TX U.S. House 1 Louie Gohmert Republican 60%
TX U.S. House 2 Ted Poe Republican 60%
TX U.S. House 3 Sam Johnson Republican 80%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 60%
TX U.S. House 5 Jeb Hensarling Republican 80%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 50%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 78%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 60%
TX U.S. House 9 Al Green Democratic 30%
TX U.S. House 10 Michael McCaul Republican 60%
TX U.S. House 11 Mike Conaway Republican 70%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 50%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 60%
TX U.S. House 15 Rubén Hinojosa, Sr. Democratic 20%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 30%
TX U.S. House 19 Randy Neugebauer Republican 70%
TX U.S. House 21 Lamar Smith Republican 50%
TX U.S. House 24 Kenny Marchant Republican 44%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 60%
TX U.S. House 28 Henry Cuellar Democratic 0%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 20%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 38%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 70%
TX U.S. House 32 Pete Sessions Republican 70%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 30%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 70%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 67%
UT U.S. House 4 Jim Matheson Democratic 30%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 56%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 30%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 50%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 50%
VA U.S. House 7 Eric Cantor Republican 78%
VA U.S. House 8 Jim Moran, Jr. Democratic 30%
VA U.S. House 10 Frank Wolf Republican 50%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 10%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 20%
VT U.S. House At-Large Peter Welch Democratic 30%
WA U.S. House 2 Rick Larsen Democratic 20%
WA U.S. House 4 Doc Hastings Republican 60%
WA U.S. House 7 Jim McDermott Democratic 30%
WA U.S. House 8 Dave Reichert Republican 30%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 20%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 10%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 0%
WA Governor Jay Inslee Democratic 30%
WI U.S. House 1 Paul Ryan Republican 60%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 20%
WI U.S. House 4 Gwen Moore Democratic 30%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 80%
WI U.S. House 6 Tom Petri Republican 50%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 30%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 40%
WV U.S. House 3 Nick Rahall II Democratic 40%
WV U.S. Senate Sr Jay Rockefeller IV Democratic 30%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 80%
Gary Ackerman 20%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 0%
Todd Akin 70%
Rodney Alexander 50%
Wayne Allard 80%
Thomas Allen 33%
Jason Altmire 10%
Rob Andrews 20%
Michael Arcuri 30%
Joe Baca, Sr. 20%
Brian Baird 22%
J. Gresham Barrett 80%
Roscoe Bartlett 63%
Max Baucus 40%
Evan Bayh 30%
Melissa Bean 20%
Bob Bennett 50%
Shelley Berkley 10%
Howard Berman 10%
Marion Berry 40%
Judy Biggert 30%
Brian Bilbray 50%
Jeff Bingaman 10%
Kit Bond 80%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 50%
Mary Bono Mack 30%
Dan Boren 40%
Leonard Boswell 20%
Rick Boucher 20%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 10%
Nancy Boyda 10%
Henry Brown, Jr. 60%
Ginny Brown-Waite 40%
Jim Bunning 80%
Dan Burton 70%
Steve Buyer 63%
Robert Byrd 30%
Chris Cannon 70%
Dennis Cardoza 10%
Russ Carnahan 30%
Christopher Carney 20%
Mike Castle 30%
Ben Chandler III 20%
Hillary Clinton 10%
Norm Coleman 60%
Kent Conrad 20%
Jerry Costello 40%
Larry Craig 60%
Robert Cramer 20%
Artur Davis 20%
David Davis 60%
Geoff Davis 50%
Lincoln Davis 40%
Thomas Davis III 50%
Bill Delahunt 33%
James DeMint 90%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 40%
Norm Dicks 20%
Chris Dodd 0%
Elizabeth Dole 80%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 70%
John Doolittle 80%
Byron Dorgan 40%
Thelma Drake 60%
David Dreier 50%
Chet Edwards 10%
Vern Ehlers 70%
Brad Ellsworth 40%
Jo Ann Emerson 33%
Philip English 40%
John Ensign 70%
Bob Etheridge 10%
Terry Everett 56%
Tom Feeney 70%
Russ Feingold 10%
Michael Ferguson 40%
Bob Filner 30%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 40%
Barney Frank 30%
Elton Gallegly 60%
Gabrielle Giffords 10%
Wayne Gilchrest 33%
Charlie Gonzalez 20%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 50%
Bart Gordon 20%
Judd Gregg 50%
John Hall 30%
Phil Hare 30%
Jane Harman 20%
Robert Hayes 50%
Wally Herger, Jr. 70%
Stephanie Herseth Sandlin 10%
Baron Hill 20%
Maurice Hinchey 30%
David Lee Hobson 60%
Paul Hodes 20%
Pete Hoekstra 70%
Thomas Holden 10%
Darlene Hooley 30%
Kenny Hulshof 50%
Duncan Hunter 67%
Kay Hutchison 50%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top