Rating Group: Lambda Letters Project

2004 Minority Rights Policy Score

State Office Name Party Rating
CA U.S. House-1 Doug LaMalfa R 8%
CA U.S. House-4 Tom McClintock R 29%
CA U.S. House-10 Jeff Denham R 6%
CA U.S. House-14 Jackie Speier D 94%
CA U.S. House-23 Kevin McCarthy R 11%
CA U.S. House-27 Judy Chu D 100%
CA U.S. House-35 Gloria Negrete McLeod D 97%
CA U.S. House-45 John Campbell III R 3%
CA U.S. House-47 Alan Lowenthal D 100%
CA U.S. House-51 Juan Vargas D 97%
CA State Assembly-2 Wesley Chesbro D 100%
CA State Senate-3 Lois Wolk D 100%
CA State Senate-6 Darrell Steinberg D 100%
CA State Senate-9 Loni Hancock D 97%
CA State Senate-10 Ellen Corbett D 100%
CA State Senate-11 Mark Leno D 95%
CA State Senate-19 Hannah-Beth Jackson D 100%
CA State Senate-25 Carol Liu D 89%
CA State Senate-27 Fran Pavley D 95%
CA State Senate-30 Ron Calderon D 89%
CA State Senate-34 Lou Correa D 74%
CA State Senate-38 Mark Wyland R 8%
CA Secretary of State Debra Bowen D 88%
CA Supervisor-2 Mark Ridley-Thomas D 97%
CA Supervisor-3 Wilma Chan D 100%
CA Supervisor-3 Todd Spitzer R 18%
CA Supervisor-4 John Benoit 11%
CA Supervisor-5 Bruce McPherson 32%
CA Supervisor-5 Saren Simitian D 100%
CA Council Member-1 Gilbert Cedillo D 88%
CA Council Member-5 Paul Koretz D 79%
CA Council Member-6 David Cogdill R 11%
CA Council Member-At-Large Alan Nakanishi 29%
CA Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson D 100%
Samuel Aanestad 6%
Richard Ackerman 9%
Gregory Aghazarian 8%
Richard Alarcón 100%
Deirdre Alpert 97%
Roy Ashburn 15%
Pat Bates 8%
James Battin 18%
Patty Berg 100%
Rudy Bermúdez 97%
Russell Bogh 5%
James Brulte 6%
John Burton 100%
Joseph Canciamilla 68%
Edward Chavez 95%
Rebecca Cohn 89%
Dave Cox 5%
Lynn Daucher 26%
Manny Diaz 100%
Denise Ducheny 94%
Joseph Dunn 91%
John Anthony Dutra 100%
Robert Dutton 8%
Mervyn Dymally 100%
Martha Escutia 97%
Liz Figueroa 100%
Marco Antonio Firebaugh 97%
Dean Florez 74%
Dario Frommer 89%
Bonnie Garcia 63%
Jackie Goldberg 100%
Tom Harman 21%
Ray Haynes, Jr. 5%
Dennis Hollingsworth 3%
Jerome Horton 95%
Shirley Horton 53%
Guy Houston 13%
Ross Johnson 29%
Betty Karnette 94%
Richard Keene 11%
Christine Kehoe 95%
Sheila Kuehl 97%
John Laird 100%
Jay La Suer 5%
Robert Leslie 13%
Lloyd Levine 100%
Sally Lieber 100%
John Longville 97%
Michael Machado 94%
Ken Maddox 34%
Abel Maldonado 55%
Bob Margett 21%
Barbara Matthews 68%
Bill Maze 18%
Cindy Montañez 97%
William Phillip Morrow 6%
Dennis Lee Mountjoy 5%
Eugene Mullin 92%
Kevin Murray 97%
George Nakano 95%
Joseph Nation 92%
Fabian Núñez 97%
Thomas Oller 24%
Jenny Oropeza 97%
Deborah Ortiz 100%
Robert Pacheco 16%
Nicole Parra 74%
Don Perata 97%
George Plescia 5%
Charles Poochigian 3%
Sarah Reyes 97%
Keith Stuart Richman 50%
Gloria Romero 97%
Sharon Runner 8%
Simón Salinas 100%
Steve Samuelian 8%
Jack Scott 97%
Byron Sher 82%
Nell Soto 100%
Tony Strickland 5%
John Vasconcellos 97%
Edward Vincent 65%
Herb Wesson, Jr. 97%
Patricia Wiggins 100%
Leland Yee 100%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.