Rating Group: Asian Americans for Civil Rights and Equality

2006 Positions on Civil Rights & Equality

State Office Name Party Rating
CA U.S. House-1 Doug LaMalfa R 7%
CA U.S. House-4 Tom McClintock R 7%
CA U.S. House-10 Jeff Denham R 33%
CA U.S. House-14 Jackie Speier D 93%
CA U.S. House-23 Kevin McCarthy R 7%
CA U.S. House-27 Judy Chu D 100%
CA U.S. House-35 Gloria Negrete McLeod D 100%
CA U.S. House-37 Karen Bass D 100%
CA U.S. House-47 Alan Lowenthal D 87%
CA U.S. House-51 Juan Vargas D 100%
CA State Assembly-2 Wesley Chesbro D 100%
CA State Senate-2 Noreen Evans D 100%
CA State Senate-3 Lois Wolk D 100%
CA State Senate-8 Leland Yee D 100%
CA State Senate-9 Loni Hancock D 100%
CA State Senate-11 Mark Leno D 100%
CA State Senate-25 Carol Liu D 100%
CA State Senate-27 Fran Pavley D 100%
CA State Senate-28 Ted Lieu D 100%
CA State Senate-29 Robert Huff R 7%
CA State Senate-30 Ron Calderon D 93%
CA State Senate-37 Mimi Walters R 7%
CA State Senate-38 Mark Wyland R 0%
CA Secretary of State Debra Bowen D 100%
CA Insurance Commissioner Dave Jones D 100%
CA Supervisor-2 Mark Ridley-Thomas D 100%
CA Supervisor-3 Wilma Chan D 100%
CA Supervisor-3 Todd Spitzer R 20%
CA Supervisor-4 John Benoit 7%
CA Supervisor-5 Saren Simitian D 100%
CA Council Member-1 Gilbert Cedillo D 87%
CA Council Member-5 Paul Koretz D 100%
CA Council Member-6 David Cogdill R 7%
CA Council Member-At-Large Joe Baca, Jr. 100%
CA Council Member-At-Large Alan Nakanishi 20%
CA Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson D 100%
Samuel Aanestad 7%
Richard Ackerman 7%
Gregory Aghazarian 20%
Richard Alarcón 100%
Elaine Alquist 100%
Juan Arambula 93%
Roy Ashburn 7%
James Battin 13%
Patty Berg 100%
Rudy Bermúdez 100%
Sam Blakeslee 20%
Russell Bogh 7%
Joseph Canciamilla 87%
Edward Chavez 100%
Rebecca Cohn 93%
Joe Coto 100%
Dave Cox 7%
Lynn Daucher 33%
Hector De La Torre 100%
Charles DeVore 7%
Denise Ducheny 100%
Joseph Dunn 100%
Robert Dutton 13%
Mervyn Dymally 100%
Bill Emmerson 13%
Martha Escutia 93%
Liz Figueroa 100%
Dean Florez 87%
Dario Frommer 93%
Bonnie Garcia 40%
Jackie Goldberg 100%
Tom Harman 15%
Ray Haynes, Jr. 0%
Dennis Hollingsworth 0%
Jerome Horton 100%
Shirley Horton 33%
Guy Houston 7%
Betty Karnette 100%
Richard Keene 7%
Christine Kehoe 100%
Johan Klehs 93%
Sheila Kuehl 100%
John Laird 100%
Jay La Suer 7%
Robert Leslie 7%
Lloyd Levine 100%
Sally Lieber 100%
Michael Machado 87%
Abel Maldonado 40%
Bob Margett 13%
Barbara Matthews 93%
Bill Maze 7%
Carole Migden 80%
Cindy Montañez 100%
William Phillip Morrow 0%
Dennis Lee Mountjoy 0%
Eugene Mullin 100%
Kevin Murray 87%
Joseph Nation 100%
Pedro Nava 100%
Roger Niello 7%
Fabian Núñez 100%
Jenny Oropeza 100%
Deborah Ortiz 87%
Nicole Parra 87%
Don Perata 73%
George Plescia 7%
Charles Poochigian 7%
Keith Stuart Richman 20%
Gloria Romero 100%
George Runner, Jr. 13%
Sharon Runner 7%
Ira Ruskin 100%
Lori Saldaña 100%
Simón Salinas 100%
Jack Scott 93%
Nell Soto 93%
Audra Strickland 7%
Alberto Torrico 93%
Van Tran 27%
Thomas Umberg 93%
Mike Villines 7%
Edward Vincent 100%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.